×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Blackveil (Green Rider Series #4)
     

Blackveil (Green Rider Series #4)

4.3 291
by Kristen Britain
 

See All Formats & Editions

Magic, danger, and adventure abound for messenger Karigan G'ladheon in author Kristen Britain's New York Times-bestselling Green Rider fantasy series • "First-rate fantasy." —Library Journal 

Over a millennium ago, Mornhavon the Black, heir to the Arcosian Empire, crossed the great sea hoping to conquer

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Blackveil (Green Rider Series #4) 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 290 reviews.
Phoenix_mom More than 1 year ago
The only minor complaint I had about this book -- and it is very, very minor, considering -- is that I started this series in 2001 when one books was out with the understanding it was a trilogy. In 2003, I read book two. Four years later, in 2007, the 3rd book came out, and as awesome as it was, I was so relieved the series was only a trilogy, because 4 years between books in a series is a long friggin wait! So you can imagine my disappointment and dismay when I realized it was changed to a longer series, but everyone said it would be wrapped up in Book 4, so I dug in as a faithful fan and waited eagerly. Surely Book 4 couldn't take that long to write; apparently Book 3 had just been too long, so she split it half (so I heard) -- so I expected it any day. Five years later, in 2011, the 4th book is released. And it ends on a cliffhanger. Now, I'm not unhappy that there will be more of Karigan and Zachary and everyone. But the plots and threadlines developed here -- I'm seeing at *least* another two books to wrap everything up, likely more -- and I can't help but feel disappointed. Not at the books -- at the long wait ahead. I mean, 4-5 years between books? That means Book 5 in maybe, what, 2016 or 2017? Book 6 in 2021- 2023?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was a bit let down by this book. The jumping around made some the the newer characters are hard to follow. and the ending left more questions than answers. Also knowing that we wont learn what happens for three to four years is difficult.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book was great, as all in this series have been; however, i am extremely frustrated about how it ended in such a cliffhanger when i know it will be four more years until the next book. It really makes me feel like i just wasted my time and money on something i am going to forget by the time the next book comes out. I really wish i waited. Book was great, but frustration with the author and publisher made for the low score.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The story line is excellent, as with the prior three. But - be ready - the book ends in a snap with no conclusion, as though the author was told to stop on that page and go no further. At least with the others you were left with enough of a pause at the end of the story that it made sense. This one just stops, leaving the characters in limbo until...one day...Book 5 appears.
907reader More than 1 year ago
It's good just not as good as the others in the series. She is also adding more story lines and this series dosen't look like there is an end in sight and with 3 years between books a little frustrating.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is an emotional roller coaster. Its heart breaking, joyous, and as you read you remain hopeful for the future. Its hard on the read at times but this is a book about war and a threat so great it has lasted through the ages. This book takes an emotional toll on you as you read the trials and ends of the charactets. Ultimatly I feel its worth it, to be so involved with the characters... this is my harry potter.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was good. I was a bit disappointed with how wimpy karigan was. She really was acting like a spoiled little miss in this book. She goes from a responsible green rider to a little girl who pouts a lot. She is supposed to be a hero, but how can she be a hero when she acts like a child? And she always jumps at her own shadow it seems. I will read the next one, if it ever comes out, just to finish the story, as it ended so abruptly.
Dustin Pyfrom More than 1 year ago
Great book cant wait for the next one!
harstan More than 1 year ago
On the surface Sacoridia seems like a powerful country ruled by the just benign King Zachary. However, appearances can be deceiving because there is danger from within and without. To the north in the lands not occupied by Sacoridian troops, descendants of Arcosia led by Mornhavon the Black invade as a first step in preparation for their war on Sacoridia. They now call themselves Second Empire. The D'Yer wall has been breached, enabling the evil denizens from primordial Blackveil Forest to enter Sacoridian. Before the Long War Blackveil was once known as Argenthyne, home to the immortal Eletians who now live in Eletia. Besides kingdom headaches, Zachary and Green Rider messenger Karigan G'ladheon love each other, but know they have no future as he must marry his betrothed Lady Estora out of duty to his county. Six Eletians want to return to the Blackveil to see their former home. Zachary wants six Sacoridians to accompany them; Karigan is one of the chosen. The Eletians are on the same mission that Second Empire is on; it will be a disaster if their leader Grandmother prevails. Meanwhile the King is poisoned and a conspiracy begins by someone close the throne. The latest Kariagan epic fantasy (see Green Rider, First Rider's Call, and The High King's Tomb) is a terrific entry loaded with subplots that provide the reader with both the big picture of the world of Kristin Britain and the small scale happenings that impact the larger scope. The key to this grand epic is the movement back and forth between the Second Empire threat, the Eletians, the danger to the Sacoridians in Blackveil and to the king is done smoothly although few of the subplots are completed. With a strong diverse cast (a trademark of Ms. Britain), fans will welcome the return to Sacoridia as the focus is on evil oozing Blackveil. Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This fourth book in the Green Rider Series is still written with the skill that Kristen Britain has claimed as her own, and the characters are ones we're all familiar with now. The story is moving forward, the only sort of downfall is that everything we've been waiting for since the first book, we're still waiting for, and it's become a little monotonous as far there's no thrill of a plotline conclusion to use as an updraft to keep the excitement going until the full story is done. I can't wait for the next book, but I'm slightly disappointed with this one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great characters, loved the story
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have been following this serres from the bigging and I wish I stoped after the first book back in 2001. This is the last book I will ever bay of the green riders. The book was a good read I did find that I jumped around and have yet to finish the ether story lines. The hero was human, and stays that whay from the first book to the end of the 4th. I will NEVER get the next book and have come to mack up my own ending that I can live with. The time it tacks in beetween the books is just to much and I do have a life. I did learn never to pick up a book that is not a complet seres. Now I only get books where the story is done. SO THANKS FOR TACKING THE FUN OUT OF READING! Kristen Britain books just tacks the fun out of reading and completting a story. I find that when I'm done with one of her books I just fill afull, and yet I do injoy the story that she gave me. Its the what that just gets me and drives me mad. The first 2 books had the same fell the third changes alittol. The 4th is nothing like the first book. The stiol changes, its as if the books are not from the same person. Overall this book is a good book on its on till you get to the end. its as if it is only part of the book, and u have to what for the next chapter to get out. So if u enjoy a hanger then get this book if not then you may want to pass.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
shortcircuit More than 1 year ago
waiting for book 5, hope it as good as 4
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It's an interesting read until the end. Unlike her last 3 books, this one has no real ending. She spent too much time developing secondary characters and then leaving most of their stories hanging.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago