×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Blessings
     

Blessings

4.7 18
by Sheneska Jackson
 

See All Formats & Editions

There is no place quite like the local beauty salon, and Sheneska Jackson deftly uses this intimate setting as a backdrop for four women and their concerns about men, motherhood, and parenting. Patricia, the owner of Blessings, has come to terms with her infertility only to discover that her attempt to adopt a child brings its own pains and disappointments. Zuma,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Blessings 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 18 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I thought the book related to whats going on with women in general. I didn't really like the first chapter but the rest of the book was wonderful.
Guest More than 1 year ago
this book was very good and it is worth reading every page the characters felt so real that plot was good all the characters went threw a struggle and the book kept u satisfied
Guest More than 1 year ago
My friend and I share books, and this is one of the books that she gave to me to read. I must say, it was slow in the beginning, but it had some very funny moments! It made me laugh and cry. The ending was a total shock. This is a definate must read!
Guest More than 1 year ago
THIS BOOK WAS A JOY TO READ. I COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN. THE CHARACTERS HELD MY ATTENTION, AND THE PLOT WAS SO INTERESTING THAT I HAD TO JUST KEEP READING TO FIND OUT WHAT HAPPEN NEXT. I WAS ABLE TO CONNECT WITH THIS BOOK AND ESPECIALLY WITH THE CHARACTER SANDY. YOU NEVER NOW WHAT LIFE HAS INSTORED FOR YOU. BUT IF YOU HAVE A WONDERFUL HUSBAND AND GREAT FRIENDS YOU ARE SURE TO WEATHER ANY STORM. I ENCOURAGE EVERYONE TO READ THIS BOOK. YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED. I CAN'T WAIT TO READ HER OTHER BOOKS. DARLENE GINN-HARGROVE.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was truly one I enjoyed, I would love to read her following books to come. I encourage everyone to read this.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I couldn't tear myself away from this book. When i read the plot i thought oh no another Waiting to Exhale but Ms. Jackson has her own unique style which includes flair and sass. I could connect to each chapter and found my self nodding my head as i read things that were so true about us black women i would recommend this book to men and women.
Guest More than 1 year ago
'Blessings' by Sheneska Jackson is most certainly a blessing to read! This enchanting story is based around four women who work at a hair salon in Los Angeles. Pat, the store's owner discovers she is infertile and with the help of her husband, Mark, starts a long and hard journey to adopting a child. Faye, a biracial, widowed, mother of two tries to come to terms with her daughter's wild, reckless ways and a son who will never know his father. Zuma is a hip young woman who's past has come back to haunt her and makes her decide to become pregnant. Finally, there's Sandy, an ex-stripper also called White Chocolate, who's number one passion in life is mistreating her kids. The characters in this story are sympathetic and believable. The plot is also fast-paced and well-planned. There are no boring places in the book so it will certainly keep your attention. If you're reading this review, you've got to get yourself a copy. It is not to be missed! Theresa Harbinger
Guest More than 1 year ago
I also enjoyed reading this book...I could relate to each character...It was very well written..thumbs up to Ms. Jackson
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love this book! It made me laugh, cry and just gave a whole mixture of emotions. I recommend it to anyone who loves a good book. Because it is definitely that.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I finished reading BLESSINGS, and feel that is was a powerhouse in the fashion of any soap opera on television today. The characters interacted like they were real, the dialogue was like what I hear from my sister and her friends, and the book proved that what one may consider a blessing may be a burden to others. Bravo!
Guest More than 1 year ago
All of it could be related to, including the end when she got the baby. Especially if you've ever gone to an African American hair salon. It was so realistic throughout that I had to read it twice.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Blessings was an excellent book I tell everyone I come in contact with to read it. I cried so hard after reading it!! because it was so powerful.
Guest More than 1 year ago
ONCE AGAIN I MUST SAY THAT MS. JACKSON HAS CAPTURD MY ATTENTION. I CAN'T WAIT TO READ HER NEXT NOVEL. CONTINUE TO BE THE BEST, BECAUSE SHENESKA INSPIRES ME TO BE MY BEST.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Blessings is one of my all-time favorites and it's a book that I'm always telling my friends (and even strangers in the black bookstores) to read when someone wants to read a 'good' book. I loved reading this book and sharing in the lives of Pat, Faye, Zuma, and Sandy. For me, this book had me feeling the full range of 'happy' to 'angry' depending on the circumstances, but, from the beginning to the end, this book really touched my heart. At least one character is practically guaranteed to make you 'hate' her by the end of the book but it's a great book that makes you FEEL something, in my opinion. An excellent book that is very highly recommended!
Guest More than 1 year ago
All i have to say for this book is four words: GREAT! FINE! EXCELLENT! PERFECT! if you read the book you'll get my drift... KUDOS TO SHENESKA AGAIN!!!!!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Sheneska Jackson's lastest novel, Blessings, was brillant. It was one of the best books I have read all year. She did a wonderful job of making the readers understand the plights of the characters and still kept the novel interesting. She relays an experience that all black women must go through if they get their hair done. WAITING. Funny, fiesty, and sad at the that time. I'm still in shock from the ending!! Two thumbs up for Blessings!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
All I can say is I am glad the store took my money back for the return. I was thoroughly disappointed. No where near Caught Up or Lil' Mamma. Too much unnecessary weighty and useless bickering and bantering by the author as it relates to the characters. Almost half of the first chapter was spent on OJ (What???) I was gone then......