×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Blind Justice (Sir John Fielding Series #1)
     

Blind Justice (Sir John Fielding Series #1)

4.8 9
by Bruce Alexander
 

See All Formats & Editions

Now in trade paperback, the very first John Fielding historical mystery.

Falsely charged of theft in 1768 London, thirteen-year-old orphaned printer?s apprentice Jeremy Proctor finds his only hope in the legendary Sir John Fielding. Fielding, founder of the Bow Street Runners police force, then recruits young Jeremy in his mission to fight London?s most

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Blind Justice (Sir John Fielding Series #1) 4.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
HairyReader More than 1 year ago
I am not much of a book reviewer. This book starts out with the story of a 13 year old boy who tragically loses his family in the mid 1700s and his journey to London only to be caught by an unscruplous "Thief Taker" and hauled into the court room presided over by the "Blind Beak" Sir John Fielding the magistrate of the Bow Street Court. From there the story of the destitute child and the blind Magistrate begin to take off. This is a great series of books written by Bruce Alexander. I am really sorry to learn that he died just as his 10th book was being published. He didn't live to see the 11th and final book published. I am rationing the books to myself otherwise I would have read all 11 books in less than 2 weeks! Truly enjoyable and so far each book has been better than the last.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I stumbled on this series when I was on vacation. It was perfect! I've read 4 out of 10 books so far and each one was a relaxing read with some mystery and interesting insights into that time of history. I found that I didnt pick up this series because of the the mystery so much, but following the lives of the people involved in the mystery. I think I enjoyed that part the most.
Guest More than 1 year ago
After reading the first book in this series, I rushed out to get the next three volumes. Have read all of them in three days, and being unable to find the fifth, I drove to the next county looking for it. I love historical novels more than mysteries, and this is marvelous! Alexander does a wonderful job of making the reader live in the past. He is skillful at explaining the differences in the past without lapsing into a lecture and at making the reader aware of things that would be startling to them, but which were accepted as matter of course by people living then. The characters are nuanced and continuing characters are a pleasure to know and I long to get back to them. Now I have to find a biography of Fielding, and a history of the Runners ... .
pbg More than 1 year ago
Great historical and suspense novel. I highly recommend it.
Archer50 More than 1 year ago
Sir John Fielding and his young charge spring instantly to life in this first book of a series I very much look forward to enjoying, book after book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you have not yet discovered the Sir John Fielding series by Bruce Alexander, you are in for a real treat! This might be my favorite mystery series of all time!! The writing is beautiful and compelling, capturing the flavor of the 18th century as well as the attention of the modern reader. You are swept away into Covent Garden in 1772 and you don't care if you ever come back to the present. Take my advice and read this book. You will not regret it!!! You will love Sir John. You will be charmed by his young assistant, Jeremy Proctor, and you will meet a cast of characters whose exploits you'll be delighted to follow throughout the next 10 books and sad to bid farewell to when the series ends.
Ronrose More than 1 year ago
This murder mystery is set in London in the 1760's. Life in London at this time could be pretty raw. Crime was rampant and the penalties under the law were very severe. Jeremy Proctor, an orphan newly arrived in London, narrowly avoids a life in prison after being the innocent dupe of a false charge of theft. His benefactor is the magistrate, Sir John Fielding who, though he is blind, sees through the plot against Jeremy. Sir John is the founder of the Bow Street Runners, an early police force in London. He is also a very skilled investigator. Jeremy, taken under Sir John's wing, aides in the investigation of a mysterious, locked room murder. The book is quite entertaining. The scenes of eighteenth London are rich in detail and add greatly to the exciting plot. This is the first in a thrilling series of mysteries set in Georgian England
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago