×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Bliss
     

Bliss

3.8 94
by Lauren Myracle
 

See All Formats & Editions

New York Times bestselling author Lauren Myracle offers a spine-tingling, unforgettable story of friendship gone very, very wrong.

 

Lauren Myracle brings her keen understanding of teen dynamics to a hypnotic horror story of twisted friendship.

 

When Bliss’s hippie parents leave the commune and dump her at the home of

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Bliss 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 93 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I will be brief, this was a fascinating book, there was definitely a lot of suspense as well as a few plot twists I wasn't expecting. I was a great read, except for its conclusion. The way the book ends make me feel as if there must be a sequel in the works, either that or there has got to be a chapter missing. It ended very strangely, cruelly, abruptly, and without resolving any conflicts or giving anything positive to `the good guys', leaving me confused and wondering if there was something big I had missed. Maybe there's some deep philosophical theme I was too obtuse to notice. Long story short, this is a wonderful novel dampened by a frayed, painful, barely-there ending that left me wishing Bliss had never come to town in the first place. If there is indeed a sequel, I'll be the first to edit my review. Overall, good writing, interesting read.
SophieRichardson More than 1 year ago
I found myself interested in this book when I saw how the author incorporated quotes from the time period. The style is interesting, and the story is indeed thrilling. I simply adored how she used the Charles Manson murder trials in the novel. I had trouble putting it down, even when I really wanted to. While it was a good book with a different story, I found the ending somewhat dissapointing. Still, if you enjoy highly strange and beyond creepy stories, this book is definitly worth the read.
Kitty_Falcon More than 1 year ago
I purchased this book simply because I thought it looked interesting. The cover was intriguing and I only skimmed the summary. I'm very glad that I had the chance to read it. It's very rare, especially for teenagers, to become engrossed in a book that takes place in another time, a time they weren't even a thought in their parents' heads. I found myself pulled into the late 1960's and actually went online afterward to read up on some facts that the book brought up. I actually used my free time to research HISTORY!!!!! I really enjoyed reading this and I look forward to the Ms. Myracle's next book!
Lexi_p More than 1 year ago
This book is very different from any book that I have ever read before. Its emotional, mysteries, thrilling, suspenseful, and it even has romance. This book keeps you thinking the whole way through. Also there are some very unexspecting events. Its not your average every day life. Bliss, didn't know what she was in for coming to her new school. Then the ending is very shocking, I recommend reading it to find out.
E-Max More than 1 year ago
This is the book I am currently reading and so far.... its awesome! It really makes you think about how hard life can be for shy teenagers. Bliss is an eye opening novel that leaves you hanging by your feet.
kassie-p More than 1 year ago
Bliss by Lauren Myracle is a great, suspenseful novel. Bliss Inthemorningdew is quite a unique and kind person. She befriends Sandy, who seems like a good person, but really can have an evil side. I almost cried when Sarah Lynn Lancaster died. I couldn't put the book down. It made me want to keep reading on and on. Mitchell is the perfect guy for Bliss. This book is great for teens. It is suspenseful, entertaining, and emotional. It has the whole package.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is truly awesome. Its thrilling and a bit horrific. If you like this book then you MUST read "rhymes with witches" its a creepy carry on for this book! LOVED IT x10000000
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book and fell in love. I did not want to put it down from page one to the last period i was wraped up in the story
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutely love lauren myricle, and the book was pretty good until the very end. The ending ruined the whole book for me, everything was left unresolved and my god was it extremely cruel to end it that way
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one of the best books I have ever read I really reccomend it for ppeople who like scary things. You can also jusst read it to read it not to scare yourself. Overall,REALLY GOOD BOOK!!!!
Lainie_J_M More than 1 year ago
I've read this book about 3 or 4 times now, and I have to say, I really love it. I don't normally read thrillers (I'm more of a fantasy/sci-fi junkie), but I read "Rhymes with Witches" back in about 8th grade and I had to get my hands on this one afterwards.h The most decisive part of this book, seems to be the realistic ending mixed with Bliss's shift from being innocently optimistic to an existential adult. The scariest part, at least to me, was how Sandy was written. Everyone has known a girl like that and the book plays on the fear that maybe it's a good thing that she's alone. I recommend this book to anyone who is open to an unhappy ending.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
horrorbookgirl More than 1 year ago
This was the greatest book ever! It is very rare to find a book as good as this. The main person, bliss,is one of the most sweetest sounding person in the world! The other important person, sandy, is the most evilest person in the book(aside from liliana) there were many twists and turns in this book.If you enjoy horror, and telling your mom to check under your bed at night, this is the book FOR you.If you get scared very easily,and pee your pants at the very first exciting thing, then this book is NOT for you.WARNING IF YOU CRY WHEN DEPRESSING THINGS HAPPEN DO NOT READ THIS BOOK! But, for my part this book is one of my top ten. Enjoy this book and have a nice day. .P.S. try my recommendation
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MissPrint More than 1 year ago
When her parents decide they can no longer live in Nixon's US, Bliss is shipped off to Atlanta to live with her grandmother while her parents flee to Canada in Bliss (2008) by Lauren Myracle. The year is 1969 and after spending most of her life living on a commune, or wherever else her parents decided to hang their hats, Bliss is ill-prepared for conventional life in a big city. Bliss isn't too worried when she starts at the prestigious Crestview High School though because she's spent a lot of time watching TV. Surely The Andy Griffith Show will tell her everything she needs to know about life in the "civilized" world of non-hippies, right? Unfortunately, the answer is no. Real life in Atlanta is nothing life fake life in Mayberry. The slang is different, unspoken rules make no sense, and the de facto racism is painful to watch--even as a bystander. Then there's the mysterious voice Bliss hears whenever she walks by Hamilton Hall. Is it a ghost? Can anyone else hear it? And, most troubling of all, why does the voice seem to be dripping blood with its every inflection? Bliss tries to set these troubling thoughts aside as she focuses on making new friends. But the closer Bliss gets to her new classmates the more entangled she becomes in both the politics ofCrestview and a more sinister campaign centered around the sinister voice from long ago. Bliss is a prequel to Myracle's earlier novel Rhymes With Witches which, I am told, ties back to the events related here. It is also one of the suspected reasons behind the rather open-ended conclusion of Bliss. (It was one of those "That's it?" moments.) Right until the ending Bliss was fraught with tension. The title on the cover is written in blood over a seemingly innocent picture made sinister through the contrast. The interior design of the book is equally fright-inducing. Chapters are separated with white-on-black text quotations from a variety of sources including The Andy Griffith Show and transcripts from the Charles Manson trials used to set the backdrop for the story. Excerpts from a mysterious journal whose pages are covered with blood up the sinister factor even more. This is an interesting book in that it can appeal to a lot of people. There's a bit of history, a bit of the supernatural, a little romance, some suspense, and even some mystery and horror. If that appeals, or if you just want to see how a book can drip blood, Bliss might be worth a gander.
iluvvideo More than 1 year ago
A quick read, this supernatural thriller never really caught my complete interest. Written by Lauren Myracle, author of several other YA novels, this story seemed leaving something to be desired in character development as well as plot. I enjoyed the read but left feeling...Huh?...what happened to? etc. Young Bliss, fresh off the commune, goes to live with her grandmother in Atlanta, when her parents decide to avoid the draft during the Vietnam War. Feeling totally out of her element, she tries to strike up friendships among the students at exclusive Crestview Academy. Snubbed by those assigned to show her around, she finds Sandy,who after helping a fellow student who fell down the stairs, seems like the kind of person she'd want for a friend. Set in the late 1960's using both the Charles Manson killing and subsequent trial AND the Andy Griffith Show (Mayberry?) as touchstones throughout was interesting, not to mention the mysterious diary entries that help keep you guessing. Mysterious voices, darkened hallways, relics of a prior gruesome accident and other similar plot twists lead the reader to a climax that I did find surprising, but the journey felt incomplete. The many parts all fit together quite neatly but left me with many unanswered questions. Not bad overall, but I'd definitely recommend it to younger teens with an interest in horror.
Tonna101 More than 1 year ago
This was a very interesting book. It took me only 3 days to finish. This probably tells you it must have been so good, I couldn't stop reading it. Most of the action didn't happen till the end of the book. Other costumers would say it was scary and that they threw it away after they read it. The book is not that scary! The only thing wrong about it is the ending. It happens to have the worst ending ever. Other than that, a good book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one of my favorite books of all time.This book is very long but is a fast read.Definetly a must read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hollow_Night More than 1 year ago
When I got this book, I wasn't sure about it. But when I read the whole thing, I loved it! Some parts were kinda... gross and demented. But I thought it had a good plot. I wish there really was a sequel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago