×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Blood Sugar 101: What They Don't Tell You About Diabetes
     

Blood Sugar 101: What They Don't Tell You About Diabetes

4.7 18
by Jenny Ruhl
 

See All Formats & Editions

Completely revised and expanded for 2016. Based on the award winning Bloodsugar101.com web site, this book explains what peer-reviewed research published in top medical journals has to say about:

+ What is a normal blood sugar?
+ How does diabetes develop?
+ What really causes diabetes?
+ What blood sugar levels cause complications?
+ Must you

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Blood Sugar 101 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 19 reviews.
CheriFL More than 1 year ago
This book is NOT just for newly diagnosed diabetics. I was diagnosed over 15 years ago. I was "borderline" for so long, I simply ignored it, took my oral meds, and pretended it didn't exist. I won't tell the whole story here, but suffice it to say that I am convinced that if I had not found this book a few months ago, I would no longer be on this earth. I now realize that while my GP was well-meaning, her knowledge of T2 diabetes was limited to her prescription pad. Unfortunately, I believe this is true of most GPs. I learned enough in this book to have an intelligent conversation with an Endocrinologist, and to advocate for myself. My numbers are under control, I feel good, and I'm not taking any of the RXs that caused such horrible side effects. If you are diabetic, especially T2 - BUY THIS BOOK!!!
jm22 More than 1 year ago
I purchased this book after reviewing the information on the author's website. I found the book to be very helpful and easy to read and understand. The most important bit of information that I will take and use from this book is to work on keeping my blood sugars under 140 at all times. I still refer back for the pancake recipe.
NickyT2 More than 1 year ago
I think I've bought 3 or 4 copies of this book now, people keep stealing mine! I'm not surprised; it's an excellent resource, both as a quick reference guide and as a deep-dive into topics such as the levels at which blood glucose does damage, statins, and the various different types of diabetics. I loved Jenny's web site, but this is much easier to read in the bath. Hmmm... maybe if it lived in the bathroom instead of beside my chair in the living room, I'd get to keep a copy...
workingboy More than 1 year ago
No-nonsense and easy to ready. Valuable info put together in a logical format.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book has been life changing for me as a diabetic. I buy a copy for my friends and family who are new diabetics so that they will have the foundation to control their diabetes for life.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was keeping an A1c of 6.9 for 20 years, now I have severe pain in feet and lower legs called peripheral neuropathy. It is starting in my hands too. This book states that ADA is wrong to avoid complications the A1c needs to be 5.5. And tells how to do it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a great book for the newly diagnosed diabetic. The author explains what it is and how it develops, discusses various studies that have been made of the disease and the results, describes medications, glucose meters and numbers, how to change your diet and your lifestyle in order to take control of your life. She lays out a lot of factual information and displels the myth that diabetes necessarily has to be a downward slide into a lot of serious problems or and early death. It is a very positive and encouraging look at what you can do for yourself to live a better quality life as a diabetic.
JKen More than 1 year ago
This book has information I've not read other places and author is speaking from years of experiencing diabetes. She compiled it from website of the same name.
borninDevon More than 1 year ago
Everyone should read this book. Few people understand the dangers of diabetes. This book provides a guide to those persons living with diabetes and also to those who do not know their blood sugar levels. The book teaches us about prevention by eating a healthy diet and exercising regularly. I have recommended this book to my 'pre diabetes' friends as well as to friends that have no idea what their level of blood sugar is. Bravo Jenny Ruhl!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book informed me about my diabetes in a positive , clear way. The author explained many of the myths and misinformation we all hear about diabetes , and especially the good and bad features of the many new drugs and treatments.
AnnFromWV More than 1 year ago
Really a great informative book, It helped me to understand my newly diagnosed type 2 diabetes
bacchusWS More than 1 year ago
...mainly because my experience since 1990 reinforces my belief that unless your personal physician specializes in diabetes and has stayed current on ALL the white papers published by the major medical facilities, he is giving you bad advice. Most physicians simply repeat what the ADA recommends. When visiting their site, it is loaded with commercials for so-called "healthy eating" products. ADA likely takes lots of advertising money from these sponsors so ADA certainly will not advise you to ignore these products, although if you're concerned about diabetes, you certainly should ignore the products. This book is a summary of information gathered by the author who accessed quite a few major medical school websites to review the information these medical schools have published, most of it very current. A major medical school in Australia has also released findings about diabetes that essentially parallels the information released by US major medical schools. My advice to ALL who are concerned about diabetes - and we all should be because diabetes has reached epidemic proportion - should read this book and do your own research using Google as your search engine. What you learn can very well improve your health and make you feel better.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago