×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Blood Winter (Horngate Witches Series #4)
     

Blood Winter (Horngate Witches Series #4)

4.3 15
by Diana Pharaoh Francis
 

See All Formats & Editions

NEW GAME. SAME RULES. SHE FIGHTS. THEY DIE.

Max always does her job, no matter how brutal and bloody. That’s how it’s been ever since she was enslaved by a witch, turned into a supernatural warrior, and assigned to protect the coven of Horngate. But her job just got harder. . . .

Waves of wild magic have returned much of the world to

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Blood Winter 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 15 reviews.
AdrianneM More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed Francis's Path novels and I loved her Crosspointe novels, but I've been putting off reading the Horngate Witches novels because post-apocalyptic and paranormal usually drive me nuts. All I can say is that I have been an utter fool. _Blood Winter_ is Francis at her best. The book keeps the reader jumping, and never lets up. The characters are well drawn and their problems are real. It's long past time for me to go buy the rest of the Horngate Witches novels.
Minanette More than 1 year ago
Loved this book. I enjoy watching the main female character grow and evolve through the series. Lots of action. An addicting series! I highly recommend to Urban Fantasy lovers!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It saddens me that this is the last installment. All I can say is publishers are stupid sometimes. If you self publish I will buy them!
Berls More than 1 year ago
My Initial Reaction… I continue to devour this series, my only disappointment being that there  this was the last book in the series.The story is far from over IMHO and I won’t lie, I’m VERY upset that it’s over! In all seriousness, I think this may be the main reason I can’t give Blood Winter 5 stars – it’s not a satisfactory ending to a series, as much as I loved every minute of it. The Story… In Blood Winter Max, Alexander, Kyle, Tory, and Carrie are preparing to go into town to see how the townsfolk have been dealing with the Change when disaster strikes. An unknown witch has gathered followers around him, making himself into the next Jesus – but his self-proclaimed work as “the right arm of God” is to wipe out the evil among them, namely Witches and those who consort with them. He brings his mission to Horngate’s doorstep – passing through their wards with four “witches” nailed up to burn. Of course Max and her crew resolve that something must be done about the unspeakable horrors he’s perpetrating against the helpless, but the more they work to defeat him the more powerful they realize he is and the more hopeless the situation seems. The Angel’s are still out and the Grimms (and Spike) take off, leaving the Coven ill equipped to fight without losing more of their family. Not to mention their still reeling from the loss of Niko. All the stress threatens to tear Max, Alexander, Tyler, Thor, Giselle, and the entire coven apart. Like the rest of the series, Blood Winter was non-stop action, complete with painful descriptions of every horrible blow Max, Alexander and the rest of the crew took. For me, Blood Winter surpassed the others in the added element of mystery. Who was this preacher-dude and what hope did they have to defeat him? There were so many twists and I really never knew what was going to happen next, keeping me perpetually on my toes. Diana does an amazing job of capturing the feelings of despair that Max and really everyone were feeling and I definitely had a few teary eye moments. And watching this haphazard family come together at such a depressed moment to fight was arm-tingly, goosebumpy at times. Did I mention I loved this book? Concluding Sentiments… A really wonderful read. Diana Pharaoh Francis continues to weave incredibly unique fantasy with heart-wrenching and painful detail. I’ll be keeping my eyes peeled for deals on any other books she’s written for sure! *This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.*
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this series and can't wait to see what happens next. I was a little sad though when Oz and his Sunspears didn't appear in the book please bring them back! Still a great book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago