×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Blood Work (Terry McCaleb Series #1)
     

Blood Work (Terry McCaleb Series #1)

4.1 175
by Michael Connelly
 

See All Formats & Editions

A retired FBI agent investigates the death of heart transplant donor.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Blood Work 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 175 reviews.
McCarthy92 More than 1 year ago
There are two things that I feel about Michael Connelly (1) he's my favorite mystery writer and (2) it's impossible for me to pick a favorite of his (I have been reading his books in chronological order and I just finished Blood Work, obviously). However, it's safe to say that Blood Work, so far, is my least favorite of Connelly's novels. Not that it was bad, because on a suspense and mystery level, my interests were always piqued. However, I found the character of McCaleb to be too much like Harry Bosch, even though Bosch is more developed because there are so much more books about him. Despite this one problem that I have about the book, I would recommend this book to all of those who love Connelly and mystery itself.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you've seen the Clint Eastwood movie, the book is different. Early on it reads so similar to the movie (in fact often line for line), but it goes off in another direction with a different ending. I loved both the book and the movie. If you like Connelly, don't pass this one by.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this book. Caught my attention from page one and hated to see it end. I found myself actually wanting to know the characters. If you like mystery, you should definitely read this.
Samuel Rhoads More than 1 year ago
It was fun and worth the money and time, but I kept remembering the movie and expected the book to end the same way.
marilyn1 More than 1 year ago
Love all of Michael Connelly - This book was no exception
blueberryNY More than 1 year ago
Read this after having read some of the Harry Bosch novels. Connelly has the ability to create different heroes with distinct personalities and maintain that distinction as he weaves them in and out of successive stories. The intersection of the characters' lives in various books adds interest and credibility to the series. Enjoyed this and am looking forward to more. So far, have never been disappointed with any of Connelly's books. I'd also recommend the Jack Reacher series by Lee Child.
LyndaLou-27 More than 1 year ago
You're cautious about jumping on any new book, but when you open a Michael Connelly story, you hold on tight, take a deep breath, and forget to exhale until the ride is finished! I only have his first two books to find and read, I'm already rereading most of the others while I wait for the local library to get to me on a very long wait list for the 9th Dragon! If I had a job I would buy every one of his books and keep as prized possessions. In a personal life that is sometimes sadly overwhelming, his books keep me going, and going. BLOODWORK is gripping!
Wish-i-was-Wish More than 1 year ago
Saw the movie first and then read the book. Movie wasn't close to the book's full intent. Must have made the author a bit gun shy of allowing another of his works hit the big screen, although they did a much better job with The Lincoln Lawyer than I would have expected. Please Michael, protect Heironymus for all you are worth!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I can't believe how much I enjoyed this book. I was riveted to it from start to finish. I finished it in only two sittings because I couldn't stop turning the pages. You are constantly trying to guess whodunit, but when you reach the end...I won't spoil anything for you, but let me tell you this one-word, UNBELIEVABLE! This book is one heck of a ride.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Michael Connelly delivers a riveting story of vengeance in BLOOD WORK. Connelly successfully puts the reader into the mind of the main protagonist, ex-FBI agent and profiler Terrell McCaleb, as McCaleb goes methodically through his investigative paces to uncover clues to solve three brutal cold-blooded murders by a souless, evil killer. Though slowed by his recent heart transplant surgery, McCaleb turns relentless in his quest to hunt down a murderer that he considers the embodiment of evil. McCaleb understandably re-enters crimefighting with some initial trepidations, despite his connection to one of the victims, but caution gives way to accelerating action when he discovers that he also has a macabre link to the villian. If you found vicarious satisfaction in John "Lilly" Lelankevitch's merciless crime-fighting spree in the novel, EVIL, BE GONE, then you'll also get caught up in Connelly's BLOOD WORK!---Robert John Estko, the author of EVIL, BE GONE
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Connelly's books are genuinely good. As with all of his books (and some other authors) the first half is establishing the character. The second half is taut and captivating. This one followed the same suit. It took me several weeks to go through the first half. It is not as quick as patterson or cornwell. But it gradually built steam until it reached a crescendo. The ending was very good. Did not see it coming, at least the "first" ending. The conclusion was a bit predictable. Loved the premise of the flawed protagonist. A former FBI agent who had his heart replacement surgery via a donated from a woman who was tragically killed in a store hold up. He is guilted by the victim's sister in to looking in to her murder. After just having his surgery months before he is guilted in to accepting. Along the way we find the typical characters: the arrogant and uncooperative police, The bulldozing FBI., The sympathetic insider, the potential love interest and the side kick for comic relief. So far read three of his introductions for his characters, Terry McCaleb the FBI agent, Harry Bosch, the cop and Mickey Haller the defense attorney (who gets a nod in this book). I liked the Mickey Haller initial outing better. But I like this author enough to continue. His books that introduce his characters can be long winded but it allows for character development. So as they grow we see the growth and see them maturing fleshing them out. His characters are a bit grittier than Patterson's. They do not read as quickly as Patterson's. But they are just as enjoyable. Looking forward to the second books for each character. -JReed2430
TEXASBOOKREADER More than 1 year ago
I really liked this thriller (wasnt scarey} just kept ya guessing and my husband told me this was made into a movie and Clint Eastwood was Terry McCaleb (in which I havent seen the movie) but it so fits a Clint Eastwood charactor. I cant wait to read the next one in this series.and see the movie.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved 'Blood Work' - my first introduction to Terry McCaleb after spending the last year or so following the adventures of Connelly's other main man, Harry Borsch. But I need to warn anyone thinking of seeing the movie version. The liberties that Clint Eastwood took with this great story were totally inexcusable and downright painful to watch. On second thought, since misery does love company, go see it!!! You will not believe which of Connelly's characters the screenwriter decided to make the killer - I'm still annoyed thinking about it.
Anonymous 28 days ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
l
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Harry Bosch rules. Terry McCaleb is not a very interesting character.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
good writer, characters
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love all Michael Connelly's work. This book is no exception. He always leaves me wanting more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love all of Michael Connelly's books!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I truly enjoyed Blood Work by Michael Connelly. Cool twists and turns in the plot. Interesting. Highly recommended.
sissy61942 More than 1 year ago
I had a hard time putting this book down. So happy that Michael Connelly had started another character who puts you right into the suspense and mystery that Terry McCaleb has to get involved with. I highly recommend it and hope there are more Terry McCaleb books to come.
Fudd More than 1 year ago
Michael Connelly writes a very interesting story. I don't read much, but can't put the book down. My wife read the book first and now I mention different things and she can relate.