×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Blown Away
     

Blown Away

3.9 24
by Shane Gericke
 

See All Formats & Editions

"Shane Gericke writes with the clear eye of hard-nosed reporter and the sweet soul of an artist. The power of Blown Away is visceral and unforgettable - you won't want to miss this one." - Gayle Lynds

Shane Gericke's debut novel, Blown Away, became an immediate national bestseller that won the coveted Best First Mystery award from RT Book Reviews. Its central

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Blown Away 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 24 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The book held my interest the entire time. I thought the characters were believable and the pace fast enough to keep me from stopping until I finished. I would highly recommend it!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I'm only fourteen and got this book from my uncle while I was away in California. I was so entranced that I didn't stop reading to eat or even go to the restroom, haha. I loved how the author put so much detail in the killings and the plot was so twisted. I was left guessing so many times during the novel with the relationships between Emily and Maurice and who the killer was. I also thought that the author did a great job showing the differences between the killer, and Emily's family life and why the killer wanted to hurt Emily so badly. This book was so brilliant that I reccommend it to everyone.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Usually I'm quite wordy in my reviews. However, in the case of Blown Away, I can be succinct. This book is bad. Almost every last element in this book must have been taken from some kind of mystery book supply house: the plot, the sub-plot, and the characters. Only the dialog was original and it was so stilted and phony, one wished that had been copied from somewhere else. One further note: the various characters used the term 'unsub' so many times, I began to laughingly count how often per page. This may have been the author's first book, but the plot and characters have been used a thousand times - to make far better books.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I mostly read science fiction, but thought I'd try 'crossing over' to a thriller for a change, so I bought 'Blown Away'. I'm glad I picked this book, as I feel it gave me a realistic view into the lives of the police who work hard to protect us. I don't have a lot of time to read lately, but the story line kept me up late a few nights as I couldn't wait to see what would happen next. Speaking of what happens next, I can't wait for the sequel to see how Emily handles her next case!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Blown Away blew me away! I couldn't put it down. From the thrilling opening to the taut finish, this is a book that will make you want to read a sequel (I hope there will be one!) One of the best new thrillers around.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was awesome. I was hesitant at first as I didn't know the author, but since it is written by a home-town boy and is set in my home town, I thought what the heck. Now, I can't wait for his next one to come out!!!!
harstan More than 1 year ago
In Naperville, an affluent suburb of Chicago, while jogging, rookie police officer Emily Thompson thinks nothing of seeing the headless bodies of a goose and two ducks. Later that same day she is at the scene of a dead woman in a rented car possessing a card with Emily¿s name on it. Emily and her superiors believe the woman committed suicide. When she returns home, the heads of the goose and two ducks are in her mailbox, her business cards in their mouths. ---- Her bosses take it as a threat and warn Emily to be careful. That night she visits the library where a naked teen has an envelope for her, a birthday card telling her that her real presents are in the library. A dead man is found in one of the chairs making it obvious a serial killer is on the prowl with the ultimate objective being killing Emily on her birthday which is just a few days away. The culprit is someone who knows Emily but she has no idea who hates her so unless she can figure out who it is, she will die because this is a brilliant murderer who never gives up. ---- Nobody reading BLOWN AWAY would believe this is Shane Gericke¿s debut novel because it is better than most police procedurals written today. There are plenty of action and chase scenes but it the amazing character development that makes this book worthy of an award nomination. Readers get to know the men and women in blue and what they face every day on the job. This is the ultimate chilling cat and mouse game in which the more the audience learns about the UNSUB, the more they want to see him locked away (preferably in a coffin). ---- Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fasr paced but easy to figure out whodunit. Gives some insight into the killers thoughts on killing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Queenbeck More than 1 year ago
*288 pages* has you guessing who's behind the murders until the end. held my interest and was hard to put down. i will definitely be looking for more from this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was hooked on this book from page one!! I have bought the sequel Torn Apart and can't wait to read it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Terrific ending. Great plot & characters!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found the book hard to get "into" until I sorted out the characters - which is difficult on the Nook as you can't easily flip back and forth. I did enjoy the intense action scenes and the realistic interaction between the characters, although I thought the long, drawn out plot by the serial killer was too incredible to believe. And I did not appreciate the scenes of graphic torture by the bad guy -creeped me out.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can not wait to read more from this author! Coild not put the book down once i started it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great suspense thriller..cannot wait to read more by this author...sometimes predictable, but not in a dissappointing way...great read. Right up there with some of the greats.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. I found it well written and easy to become immersed in. The only part that seemed off was the relationship between the main character and her love interest. They went from nice to meet you to in love in a few days. The writing in that part seemed forced. Other then that a well written and engaging book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book will grab you & you won't be able to put it down. It's very thrilling with lots of twist & turns!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked this book a great deal.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was just too hard to read. All over the place...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago