×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Blue Diary
     

Blue Diary

3.7 30
by Alice Hoffman
 

See All Formats & Editions

From the New York Times best-selling author of The Dovekeepers, a New York Times Bestseller and Notable Book.

The courage to face the unthinkable is at the core of this magnificent new novel. How do we manage to confront the truths in our lives and find forgiveness in the most unforgiving of circumstances? How do we love truly and

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Blue Diary 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 30 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
It was my first book of Ms Hoffman, the description of flowers and fields i must admit got a bit on my nerves and also too many situations left as if forgotten by the author. how about what happened to charlotte? is it that natural that a wife is left with 3 kids with no feelings at all, {barney's wife} and what about the blue diary what did it hold so special to name a book after it ?? Apple trees where much more mentioned than the blue diary :)
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am an avid reader and LOVE to find new authors. After reading Hoffman's book Here on Earth, I thought I found a new favorite, BUT this book was terrible!!! It is very rare that I really dislike a book this much, but I found it to be very boring! How many tree/flower references can one author make?!?? YIKES!!! Not a fan!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great story - Well written
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great story
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dr-SandraFortune More than 1 year ago
Alice Hoffman's prose is so gorgeous it reads like poetry. This book delivers a great story, too. When Ethan's past finally catches up with him, his wife is left to pick up the pieces of her life. I'm a huge Hoffman fan, and this book is one of her best.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
evesdrop More than 1 year ago
paying $12.99 for the Nook Book version of this, I wish I could get my money back...there were so many grammar and punctuation errors, word omissions and other typos that it made it very difficult to read this novel. Too bad because it wasn't really a bad book, but with the price that the ebooks are, it wasn't worth the money!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SayCheeze More than 1 year ago
A truly well written story that can't help but make you think "what if?" What would you do if you made a mistake (a terrible mistake) and tried to start over only to have the past catch up. What would you do if you married someone who turned out to be someone you didn't know. Alice Hoffman knows how to weave words in such a way that they envelope you within the pages of the book and keep you there long after the last page is read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
VikkiReader More than 1 year ago
This is one Alice Hoffman book I recommend without a doubt. It was one of her absolute best However, it does steer slightly from her usual. It does have a scary, morbid side but it was GREAT!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this book fairly quickly. It was a fast and easy read. Hoffman did a good job of keeping the relation of the title in suspense until a good way through the book. I will admit that at times, the descriptions could become long, and the change between character voices was not easily identified. However, for my first Hoffman read, I thought it was okay.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was disappointed. I thought the discriptions of the countryside and flowers repetetive. The characters were not that well balanced and I thought the emotional relationship between the son, mother, and father not well developed. It seemed like a sophisticated soap opera.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book leaves you wanting more, but doesn't leave too many questions unanswered. I think that the reader is left to come to their own conclusions, which is good. I don't want to be force-fed endings or to have a book come to such a conclusive ending that I don't have something to think about after I'm finished. What would be the point? I love the description of the scenery and the flowers. It allows me to visualize. This book creates controversy and makes you wonder what you would do in the character's shoes. There is no right or wrong answers, just emotions. I love the character development, even Jorie's best friend has a struggle and a purpose in the plot.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The book is something that i think about even after i finished reading it. A book that effects me like that doesn't come around everyday. It was great, I would have liked to known what was written in the diary more though.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! The characters, the writing, the descriptions - what a great, captivating story. Most books I give away after reading, but this one is a keeper.
Guest More than 1 year ago
There are two antagonists in this story. Ethan Ford, the man whose homicidal past forms the main plot of the story, has spent years trying to atone for the brutal rape and murder of a young girl by living a perfect life as a pillar of the community in a small New England town. But the more frightening antagonist was Kat, the disturbed 12-year-old neighbor who turns Ethan Ford in to the police and continues to try to "set the world right" through questionably rationalized actions, all part of her misguided attempt to spare another family from the pain she felt when her own father committed suicide. Where Ethan's violence was outward and physical, Kat's violence is internal, and even more twisted and hidden than Ethan's. I ended the story feeling more afraid of this girl than I was of the murderer; as violent as his past had been, he had not carried out his crimes under the spell of the perceived righteousness of his actions, making the 12-year-old zealot the most frightening character of all. This unexpected duality is Alice Hoffman's strongest achievement in Blue Diary.
Guest More than 1 year ago
ALTHOUGH THE AUTHOR WRITES AS IF SHE IS ACTUALLY TELLING YOU ABOUT HER CHARACTERS, I FINISHED THE BOOK WANTING MORE. I STILL DIDNT UNDERSTAND CERTAIN THINGS AS TO WHY JORIE LEFT ETHAN AS WELL AS I WANTED TO KNOW WHAT WAS WRITTEN IN THE BLUE DIARY. I WANTED TO KNOW MORE ABOUT WHAT HAPPENED TO THE CHARACTERS.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have read Practical magic and so thought i would give this book a try and i have to say i loved it. The way at first the characters seem so perfect, so in love only to discover a darker side to the husband........ I found the book gripping and captivating and i quite liked the way that Hoffman describes the scenes with such detail throughout the book, i think you need to look to deeper to really find yourself in the heart of the book but once you get there you really can feel the emotion in the characters and the author. All in all highly recommended and if you are looking for a book that will 'pull you in' read this!!!!!!!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read Blue Diary in 2 days because I couldn't put it down. It was spellbinding and the more pages I tuned the more I liked it. The author makes great refrences to nature and that plays a big part in the book.