×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Blue Remembered Earth (Poseidon's Children Series #1)
     

Blue Remembered Earth (Poseidon's Children Series #1)

4.2 33
by Alastair Reynolds
 

See All Formats & Editions

One hundred and fifty years from now, Africa has become the world’s dominant technological and economic power. Crime, war, disease and poverty have been practically eliminated. The Moon and Mars are settled, and colonies stretch all the way out to the edge of the solar system. And Ocular, the largest scientific instrument in history, is about to make an

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Blue Remembered Earth 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 33 reviews.
NotReallyMe More than 1 year ago
A long wait for only a fair story. Not up to the level of Reynold's previous books. The science, both real and imagined are mostly believable and entertaining. The "pan" concept is over the top. Wishful thinking maybe? This is obviously part of a new series. Unfortunately I'm torn between the hope that the next chapter is better, or the hope that he abandons it for a new theme.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book has some of the author's classic storytelling elements but just doesn't measure up to his more creative works. I found it interesting but not terribly clever or surprising. If you are a loyal follower of AR, it is still worth the read.
thaloonWL More than 1 year ago
Like all of his books, Reynolds keeps you interested and develops great stories. I highly recommend this one.
Jw0 More than 1 year ago
Excellent! The best scifi novel that I have read in the past year. The near future technology that Reynolds extrapolates from current tech and research had me wanting to live in his world. I will be eagerly Waiting for the sequel.
DavGrn More than 1 year ago
Just finished this and thought it was a good read.
delfera More than 1 year ago
His best yet. Still intelligent and provoking, but with a fun plot. Reynolds reaches his best synthesis of character development, action and speculation in this thoughtful and enjoyable read.
Luv2Nuk More than 1 year ago
Reading the book was like being a participant on this fantistical journey. Can't wait for the next installment!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
While AR has a mastery of the written word, I felt that this novel didn't shine as his past endeavors have. The characters are remarkably shallow, maintaining an almost immature and childish bent throughout the story. There was a decent amount of hard "sci", but a distinct lack of substantial "fi". My overall review is an "eh" for effort.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really want to read what happens next
jth90c More than 1 year ago
I'm writing this review of the BN spam email generator, not the book. I'd read a laundry list if it were written by Alastair Reynolds - which is why I pre-ordered this book. But if Barnes and Nobel wants to send me an email asking me to review my purchase, and if I haven't read the book (since it won't show up on my nook until June 5th) then they must want me to review their automatic email system that evidently wants folks to comment on their purchases to generate phony reviews on their website. Listen, BN. I like my nook, I like being able to read books on it, and I don't feel the need to chat up my latest purchase just so you can have more filler for your website. I certainly don't need more email from you - you couldn't target my reading taste if you actually knew me, so don't even try. I'll buy books I want to read, and you and the authors will benefit. Now - how about those Dodgers?
jblangworthy More than 1 year ago
A very engrossing read about life in the 22nd century without engaging any critical notion about what's possible or my sense of disbelief. Action begins slowly, ramps up to a sustained climax and a satisfying denouement. I will be reading more by Allistair Reynolds.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago