×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

A Blunt Instrument (Inspector Hannasyde Series #4)
     

A Blunt Instrument (Inspector Hannasyde Series #4)

4.1 18
by Georgette Heyer
 

See All Formats & Editions

In addition to romance and historical fiction, Georgette Heyer wrote a dozen classic mysteries. This charming English country-house mystery features a murder victim whose public persona cleverly hid a life of vice and deception. When Ernest Fletcher is found bludgeoned to death in his study, everyone is shocked and mystified: Ernest was well-liked and respected

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Blunt Instrument 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 18 reviews.
Kat-Boha More than 1 year ago
I am a fan of Georgette Heyer and have been collecting her books for some time. I am thrilled Sourcebooks is releasing her mysteries and giving me a chance to expand my Georgette Heyer reading base. I enjoyed "A Blunt Instrument." The story isn't too violent so I can enjoy the mystery without having disturbing images in my head. I enjoy pitting my wits against those of the detective and gleaning the pages for clues to see if I can guess "whodunnit" before the big reveal. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a little romance, a little mystery, and something short enough it can be read all at once.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Being a huge fan of Christie, Sayers, and Holmes, I was pleasantly surprised to discover how enjoyable this author's mystery series was. Initially I was reluctant to read anything by Heyer because of her proliferation with romance novels (not my cup of tea), but she does a first-rate job spinning a who-dun-it. I must admit that after the first chapter I was feeling a bit snobbish about the "simplistic" writing style but it wasn't long before I had to reach for the dictionary. I mistook her "simplistic" writing for an authentic voice and clever narrative; that recognition is what hooked me. . The characters were vividly drawn and the plot's intrique is multi-dimensional. What I mean is I knew who did it 75% of the way through the story but I didn't know why and I didn't know how the other characters' subplots would be resolved. A perfect read for the beach, airplane, rainy day, or whenever you need to kick back and relax.
Roxane_M More than 1 year ago
If Georgette Heyer hadn't written a single one of her delightful Regency novels, she would deserve to be remembered among the great mystery writers of Britain's Golden Age. This one has the traditional accoutrements of the genre: it's a "cozy," and the murder has been committed in a delightfully elaborate manner. Heyer's mysteries--indeed, all her books--are distinguished by two things: Her characters live and breathe on the page as those of very few other authors manage to do. No matter how large or small a character's role may be, each one speaks in his or her own distinctive voice. Detective or suspect, hero or villain, most of these characters are thoroughly likable as well, and it's a pleasure to spend time in their company. Unlike some writers who seem to be smitten with the aristocracy, Heyer is refreshingly devoid of snobbery--the servants and members of the working class are as likely to be admirable and worthy of respect as their "betters." Heyer achieves this feat largely because of her pitch-perfect ear for dialogue. Each character has only to say (or think) a couple of lines before the reader knows exactly where he fits in the social strata of the novel, whether he has a lively, witty mind, and how seriously he takes himself and others. Listening to their conversations makes the reader realize that real wit is indeed in short supply these days, and needs to be brought back into style. I own all of Heyer's books, and re-read them regularly. I'm thrilled to be able to replace my 40-year-old mass markets with these trade paperback reprints. If you're reading Heyer for the first time, I envy you--you're in for a treat.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ttmac More than 1 year ago
There are very few of Georgette Heyer's novels I wouldn't give 5 stars. She wrote the very best Regency romances (as one fan said, "Jane Austen on roller blades), period. I was new to her detective stories, but since I adore her Regency novels, thought I'd give them a try. GREAT! Better even than Agatha Christie, I think, because Christie holds clues from the reader but Heyer doesn't. You just might be able to figure them out. But it's her characters that really make the stories, their quirks and personalities are revealed by dialogue and action, not direct description. I put these on my Nook, climb on the treadmill, and lose track of time. I've read them all now.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Opinn8d More than 1 year ago
I love the Georgette Heyer mysteries. Over the years i've worked my way throuogh every Christie, Marsh, Wolfe, Sayer, etc., etc. and thought I'd run out of old mysteries, and English mysteries in particular. how exciting to discover these little gems. These were written in the times they take place: the twenties and thrities. I occasionally run into a shocking un-PC phrase or word, but move past it with the knowledge that these were the times in which they were written, and it's good to remember how far we've come. For pure English, jazz age, parlor murder mysteries, these will satisfy any mystery buff's appetite. Complete with butlers and handsome Detective Inspectors at no extra charge. Particularly enjoyable with a cup of hot tea on a rainy day.
Cathytaffy More than 1 year ago
This book was "OK" and I would still recommend it for a short plane ride or trip. A mystery buff may also like it, because it is a detailed story of the murder case. But besides the characters being a bit likeable, I just didn't find the book too exciting. I didn't like the writing style much either, and although I'm used to reading the "old Classics", I still expected a bit more. I think this book was good for escaping, so again maybe I'd recommend this book on a short trip or something. I also may give another one of Georgette Heyer's books a chance since she has written so many. I can possibly see another of her reads being exciting.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Which is my lesst favorite.. when you get use to oversalting food you complaine of bland taste. Too grafic and too much violence and sex grafics and potty mouth in present mysteries are over salting i wouldn t admit to dull as that shows what you have been reading actually had an annotated whose body