×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Bob Moore: No Hero
     

Bob Moore: No Hero

4.1 109
by Tom Andry
 

See All Formats & Editions

Super powered humans started appearing 30 years ago. Now, they are everywhere. Bob Moore, Private Eye, dares to investigate those who could incinerate him with a thought. When he is called to help a super from his past, however, he'll be pushed to his limit. When supers and the police think there is no crime, can he get to the truth? Will he want to for the man

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Bob Moore: No Hero 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 98 reviews.
Willi_B More than 1 year ago
Please by the love of sweet baby buddha would Tom Andry write more Bob Moore novels! This was fantastic. I would pay for future installments.
Mizukage_Iruka More than 1 year ago
I'll be honest, I wasn't expecting much out of this book, being that my experiences with some of the free books hasn't been great, but I was more than pleasantly surprised by this gem. The title character, Bob Moore, is everything I expect in a PI, crabby, snarky and all too prone to fall back into his vice, drinking too much. He lives and works in a world of "Supers" (Superpowered beings) and had even been married to one. When one of the greatest of the "Supers," Doc Arts, a major medical hero, insists that some of his patients have gone missing, despite the lack of evidence turned up by the police and the bastion of Supers, he hires a reluctant Moore to look into the case. What Moore finds is... nothing, at first. But careless words speak volumes and suddenly, everything goes downhill fast. I confess to having my suspicions confirmed over the identity of the mysterious villain, but there were plenty of twists to keep me engaged and the ending surprised me with a darker note, but all in all, a terrific novella. I eagerly look forward to other works by Mr. Andry, and do hope he might write more in this world, one which is well thought-out and carefully crafted.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Like an adult version of the disney movie the incrediables
DrSlider More than 1 year ago
I wasn't sure what to expect, but this was a nice, tight, well crafted story with an interesting premise. The light attitude makes this most defintely a fun read. Bob Moore is sort of a Dirk Gently meets the Stainless Steel Rat kind of guy. Read this, and then send the author some money! :)
ClintGJ More than 1 year ago
The story shows what would happen if superheroes were real and how people would deal with the day to day issues. I enjoyed the ending it was not expected at all. I hope Tom Andry writes some more Bob Moore novels.
Dkartzinel More than 1 year ago
Really, quite fun. Definitely way better than I expected for a free book. Two semi-complaints: 1. It's too short. -This is really a compliment, because it means I want more! I enjoyed the characters, and I think there's a lot more he can do. Can't wait to see what happens next in this series. -if you go in thinking of this as sort of a prequel novella, I think you'll have the right idea about it. 2. I did predict the ending. -no, I won't tell you what it was. This is a semi-complaint because it's rare for me to be surprised by an ending in a novel. I'll definitely be reading more of his books in the future!
John D'Amico More than 1 year ago
Is there another story on the way....?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One great take on superheros. I want to read more of these tales. Very entertaining.
gamesguy1 More than 1 year ago
Well done, surprisingly, for a free read - I was not sure what to expect, but the story seemed to get better as it gathered steam and packed a finish I didn't see coming at all, innovative and imaginative. Definitely superior to more than a few books I've paid good money for. Will be happily paying for the sequel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If your a fan of " old style" PI's this buds for you
N_M_K More than 1 year ago
Would love to read more of Bob Moore!! Excellent novel!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I reccomend this book.
Jonnothing More than 1 year ago
Well written & enjoyable.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good read! Fast paced and hard to put down, but thought provoking. Bob's resourcefulness in dealing with those who have a great deal more power than he reminds me of Jim Butcher's character Tavi.
Lee Gray More than 1 year ago
I started this book with no expectations but was pleasantly surprised. For a short book, it has well developed characters and a fun, well developed world. I look forward to more from the author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An interesting taste test, but I wanted more. I probably could have finished up a lot sooner if I had known how close to the end I was the last time I put the book down. It's a short book and it feels shorter still. It doesn't do much background world building. It covers a little bit of the changes to law enforcement and politics that the existence of numerous superheroes could possibly cause, but it doesn't do much to explain how super powered individuals came into existence. It also feels a little bit like a cheat that the ordinary main character has access to super tech, given how much he seems to dislike the super powered community in general. I'm curious to see if the series ever takes the time to flesh things out a little more, so I'm going to give it some more time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The only disappointment with this book was that it was over so quickly. Great recreational reading, the action never quits and the characters become more than your acquantances in a short time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really enjoyed this story. Edgy humor and 1940's feel to a futuristic tale of a private-eye on a soul wrenching investigation.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you like stupid, so-called thrilling stuff - this might be for you. It helps if you are less than fifteen years old...but not much.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A little choppy but interesting story
Anonymous More than 1 year ago