×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Bodily Harm (David Sloane Series #3)
     

Bodily Harm (David Sloane Series #3)

3.8 20
by Robert Dugoni
 

See All Formats & Editions

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR ROBERT DUGONI RETURNS WITH HIS MOST EXHILARATING THRILLER TO DATE, A PULSE-POUNDING STORY OF CORPORATE GREED, ESPIONAGE, AND THE LENGTHS ONE MAN IS WILLING TO GO FOR JUSTICE.

Bodily Harm opens with a big win for David Sloane and his new partner, Tom Pendergrass, in a malpractice case centered on the death of a

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Bodily Harm (David Sloane Series #3) 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 20 reviews.
Kataman1 More than 1 year ago
Having read the first two Sloane books in the series, I was a little disappointed with this one. Sloane wins a case for malpractice causing the death of a boy. At the conclusion of the case a strange man (Horgan) approaches Sloane saying that he, and not the doctor, was actually responsible for the boy's death. Sloane pays it no mind but after he becomes intrigued and realizes that maybe the doctor was not responsible for the boy's death after all. While this is going on a toy manufacturer (Kendall Toys) is struggling financially and fighting to prevent a hostile takeover. The heads of the company are banking on a new toy called Metamorphisis to be the "it" toy of the holiday season. Somehow this toy may have serious dangerous defects. As Sloane starts his investigation of Horgan's claims, he finds it may be tied to the Metamorphisis toy that Kendall is touting. This unleashes a baddie that comes after Sloane. Sloane now paired with his buddy Jenkins, have to pull out all the stops to prevent the bad guy's plans and learn the truth about the children deaths. The book mostly moves at a snail's pace and the tense moments do not measure up to the previous two Sloane books. I do give it three stars for some of the courtroom moments though. Hopefully the author will gain momentum on the next Sloane entry.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent!!!
DGGass More than 1 year ago
Compelling. If I had only one word to describe “Bodily Harm” by Robert Dugoni, it would be that word…compelling. Before I go on, let me take a brief detour here. I have always been a huge fan of Agatha Christie and her murder mysteries. The Queen of Crime had a wonderful way with leading her readers through her stories with just enough information to convince you everyone was guilty and kept you enthralled until the very end, if only to find out just who the murderer really was. When I finished “Bodily Harm“, I closed Mr. Dugoni’s book with the same satisfaction that I’ve had with Dame Christie’s novels – and more. I found “Bodily Harm” an exciting read filled with intrigue and suspense; complete with corporate espionage, government corruption and – of course – murder. Dugoni deftly incorporated “breadcrumbs” into plausible scenarios and relevant sub-plots that left this reader guessing till the end who was truly behind it all. He developed his characters in a way that I became wrapped up in them and shed tears of empathy when I finished. I thoroughly enjoyed this novel and am looking forward to visiting with David Sloane again through the author’s other works.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
book_fanWA More than 1 year ago
This is a difficult review to write without giving away too much detail. While this book had just as much edge of your seat suspense as the first two, I was disappointed when a family member died (I won't say who as that would ruin the story). Having said that,it is still a good read and I'll look forward to the 4th in the series.
sg47 More than 1 year ago
I have found an action, fast moving read that keeps you at the edge of your seat, something you look for when reading a mystery, and often twisting plots that keeps you guessing
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
KenCady More than 1 year ago
It's a modest effort to draw attention to problems with corporate America- in this case toy makers, and the lack of standards and honesty in even this child pleasing world of toys.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
grumpydan More than 1 year ago
David Sloane is high-profile lawyer who just won a malpractice case against a doctor on the death of a young boy. Then, someone comes up to him and tells him he was responsible for the death. At first, David ignores him, but then he goes looking for this Kyle Horgan, an independent toy designer. Nowhere to be found, David starts investigating his claims, and soon thereafter bodies start piling up. Who is killing these people; where is Kyle Morgan and what is so special about this toy he invented. Robert Dugoni has written an intense mystery that had me not wanting to put the book down. This is a powerful story of greed and justice that just blew me away. Loved it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Got caught up in this book from word one. Continuing problems with consumer goods manufactured overseas make for a realistic and timely topic. The dangers of noncompliant products that endanger children add additional tensions to the plot. Lawyer David Sloane is an interesting and still evolving character, as are former FBI agent Jenkins and Detective Molia. The subplot here is as riveting as the main story, and Dugoni continues to hone his style. Looking forward to reading more about Sloane, Jenkins and Molia. Keep 'em coming!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
harstan More than 1 year ago
Seattle attorney David Sloane is on the verge of winning a wrongful death lawsuit against respected pediatrician Dr. Peter Douvalidis when a curve ball upsets his perfect case. Toy designer Kyle Horgan confesses he is culpable in the young child's death. His position suddenly shaky becomes even more precarious when a second child dies almost identical to how his clients' offspring died. Dr. Douvalidis had nothing to do with the second pediatric death. Before he can question Horgan, the toymaker vanishes. Former CIA assassin Anthony Stenopolis seeking revenge stalks Sloane, whose reputation as never losing a case is teetering,.Before it is too late, Sloane seeks out Stenopolis. The third Sloane legal thriller (see Jury Master and Wrongful Death) is an enjoyable tale that is superb when the focus is on the unraveling case, but loses some steam in ironically the more action-packed cat and mouse search for the hero's stalking assassin. Still fast-paced regardless of which subplot takes center stage, readers will appreciate Robert Dugoni's latest suspense filled novel. Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another good story,,,,,,stay tuned you will be hooked
kristinadavis More than 1 year ago
Providence Journal review says it all - - Robert Dugoni does so many things well in his terrific Bodily Harm that it's hard to know where to start. Blending the best of Scott Turow and John Grisham with a hefty measure of the cutting-edge Michael Crichton thrillers Disclosure and Airframe, Dugoni¼s latest is a smooth, cross-genre hybrid that works on every level. David Sloane, the Rambo of lawyers, is struggling to balance his mega-successful professional career with his not nearly as successful personal life. Fresh off another courtroom triumph, Sloane is about to dedicate himself more to his wife Tina and stepson Jake, when his world explodes in a maelstrom of violence and corporate shenanigans. His surgeon told Sloane he was lucky to be alive. Jenkins knew Sloane didn't feel that way. With his life literally coming apart, Sloane sets his sights on an evil toy manufacturer with strong ties to a high-tech Chinese assembly line that may or not be responsible for the deaths of several young children. Little, it turns out, is what both he and us thought it be originally. Good thing Sloane has partner, ex-CIA operative Charles Jenkins, on his side in a struggle for both revenge and redemption. In that respect, Bodily Harm most resembles Word of Honor, still Nelson DeMille's masterwork. No Turow or Grisham tale ever had this kind of depth, color and breathless plotting, and the result brands Dugoni as the undisputed king of the legal thriller." by Jon Land