×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Boggart
     

The Boggart

4.4 17
by Susan Cooper
 

See All Formats & Editions

Centuries old and thousands of miles from home
When Emily and Jess Volnik's family inherits a remote, crumbling Scottish castle, they also inherit the Boggart — an invisible, mischievous spirit who's been playing tricks on residents of Castle Keep for generations. Then the Boggart is trapped in a rolltop desk and inadvertently shipped to the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Boggart 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 17 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Itts a great book with a great meaning
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If u do look close u can see it holding a fish lol
V3NM More than 1 year ago
i read this book as a kid and it was nice to read it again on my nook. i like how on the cover if you look closely you can see the boggart holding a fish
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
It's not the best ever. In the begining it starts out pretty boring, but then you get into it. I gave it three stars because it's OK, but not great. O yea, the scariest thing about the book was on the book I got this girl with crutches and a blonde ponytail ... (i dont have crutches) but the girl's hair and face looked exactly like me ...
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is funny, exciting, and great. It is also very entertaining. A book that once you start it you can't stop reading it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Wonderful story!!!! Old folk legends mixed with nischief mayhem and mystrey, Susan Cooper has done it again!!! = )
Guest More than 1 year ago
A thrilling book, filled with old magic. Emily and Jessup are two people I'll never forget! I highly recomend this book to anyone.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Boggart is my absolute favorite book. Susan Cooper has a true gift with storytelling that goes far beyond a quick children's read. Everything is described with such beauty and emotion, I think it has brought me to tears each of the many times I have read it. Her plot is well realized, and although simple, well connected. She brings in many elements such as Scottland and Macbeth to give the book depth; Shakespere and magic are reccuring themes in her other books. I think this book has many similar qualities to Harry Potter, But is lighter than the Phillip Pullman books. I reccomend this book to all ages, as long as you still believe in magic, even if its only a little. The tapes read by David Rintoul are also highly reccomended; he did an amazing job.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! It has fuuny and somewhat scary parts in it. I really wish Susan Cooper would write another book in the Boggart series.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I think that the book is a great book if you have an imagination. I think that the book would have been better if they would've had another chapter. I think this book has a lot of realistic scenes. This book also has a lot of desision-making such as should Emily tell her parents about the Boggart. I enjoyed this book and I do recommend it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really like the main character (The Boggart). He was a tricky and a fun guy. I liked the way he acted like a little kid.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you like Harry Potter tham you will like this. Its just as magical as Harry Potter. BUY THIS BOOK!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really love this book and should be thanking my teacher for letting me borrow it. If you plan on reading this book you might as well buy the other!!!