×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Bomb: The Race to Build--and Steal--the World's Most Dangerous Weapon
     

Bomb: The Race to Build--and Steal--the World's Most Dangerous Weapon

4.5 45
by Steve Sheinkin, Roy Roy Samuelson (Read by)
 

See All Formats & Editions

In December of 1938, a chemist in a German laboratory made a shocking discovery: When placed next to radioactive material, a Uranium atom split in two. That simple discovery launched a scientific race that spanned 3 continents. In Great Britain and the United States, Soviet spies worked their way into the scientific community; in Norway, a commando force slipped

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Bomb: The Race to Build--and Steal--the World's Most Dangerous Weapon 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 45 reviews.
Swimmer15 More than 1 year ago
very good and never dull
Bucky75 More than 1 year ago
I'm a chemist. I learned things that I did not know about the building of the bomb. The book kept me engaged. I'm sure that anyone of any age would enjoy reading this book. For an adult it's a fast read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Quick read, but fascinating from cover to cover. Remains factual without getting too overworked or boring. I am very glad to have read it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the best Young Adult non-fiction books I've ever read. This book reads like a thriller adventure novel and what's astounding is it's true!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am WWII buff to so good. Wish it was longer
moomintroll More than 1 year ago
I purchased this ebook for my husband who is a WWII buff. He enjoyed it very much. Although I didn't read it, my husband told me everything anyway. He gives it 4 stars.
RN More than 1 year ago
The author explains a very complicated subject (the creation of the atomic bomb and our relationship with Russia during WWII) in a very understandable way. This book should be required reading in school.
Anonymous 5 months ago
In Bomb: The Race to Build and Steal the World’s most Dangerous Weapon, by Steve Sheinkin, Robert Oppenheimer and Klaus Fuchs. Robert Oppenheimer is a flail and powerless man who used to get tormented when he was young do to his lack of interest in sports and other things normal boys his age liked. “Hoping to toughen him up their stick-skinny fourteen-year-old, Robert’s parents sent him to a sports summer camp. But he was an awful athlete and simply refused to participate.Then the other campers found out he wrote home every day, and that he liked poetry and looking for minerals. That’s when they started calling him “Cutie”...Robert never fought back. He never even responded. This made his tormentors even angrier”(Sheinkin 9). Although he was very weak, Robert was an excellent physicist and contributed greatly to the research of the atomic bomb. Klaus Fuchs was a German born physicist. He was likable, but a little difficult to get to know by other scientists. “A gifted physicist, Fuchs was well liked by his fellow scientists, though they found him difficult to get to know. He was always inside, hunched over his desk, he spoke very little, and never about politics”(Sheinkin 61). I really liked how the author managed to make the book factual, and not boring at the same time. One plot in the book that was very important was when a German scientist named Otto Hahn discovered fission in uranium atoms, which led to the race to build the atomic bomb. Another important plot in the book was when the atomic bomb project was moved into into Los Alamos, New Mexico. This location is where Oppenheimer and other scientists did research on the atomic bomb. One last important plot in the book was when they dropped the Little Boy (code name of the atomic bomb) on the Japanese city of Hiroshima. The explosion killed 40,000 people and was one of the first ever atomic bombs to be used in history. I recommend this book to people who enjoy history because it contains many events that took place during World War II.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You guys are nasty as fu<_>ck. Sh<_>it like this puts the F.U. in your future
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Does someone need me here? Is this Finrir? Whu up dude!! If this is you bruh
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sits on the couch alone
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well written, reveals all aspects of the making of the bomb!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not since James Michener have I enjoyed a historic novel more. My only comment is that I would have preferred that it be one thousand pages. I was most impressed with the volume of recently declassified documents that Steve cited for his stories. Steve also introduced his characters out the personal papers and memoirs of those characters, excellent. Jeff Bailey, author of The Defect.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Heaven
bookreader2002 More than 1 year ago
First off I loved this book. This is the first book I have read about World War ll and I have been reading more about the topic.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So flippin awesome.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
c
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What did you want us for?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As much as I hated this author last year for his book that was somehow chosen to be one of the renowned in OBOB, this book seems a lot better. I haven't actually read it, but all of the samples seem pretty durned good.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read Bomb along with my child for a school nonfiction book report. I highly recommend to middle school and adult readers.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago