×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Bon Appetit Desserts: The Cookbook for All Things Sweet and Wonderful
  • Alternative view 1 of Bon Appetit Desserts: The Cookbook for All Things Sweet and Wonderful
  • Alternative view 2 of Bon Appetit Desserts: The Cookbook for All Things Sweet and Wonderful
  • Alternative view 3 of Bon Appetit Desserts: The Cookbook for All Things Sweet and Wonderful
  • Alternative view 4 of Bon Appetit Desserts: The Cookbook for All Things Sweet and Wonderful
  • Alternative view 5 of Bon Appetit Desserts: The Cookbook for All Things Sweet and Wonderful
  • Alternative view 6 of Bon Appetit Desserts: The Cookbook for All Things Sweet and Wonderful
  • Alternative view 7 of Bon Appetit Desserts: The Cookbook for All Things Sweet and Wonderful
  • Alternative view 8 of Bon Appetit Desserts: The Cookbook for All Things Sweet and Wonderful
<Previous >Next
     

Bon Appetit Desserts: The Cookbook for All Things Sweet and Wonderful

3.5 15
by Barbara Fairchild
 

See All Formats & Editions

THE dessert book from THE best food magazine.

  For more than 50 years, Bon Appetit magazine has been seducing readers with to-die-for desserts. From quick homestyle cookies to unforgettable special-occasion finales such as spiced chocolate torte wrapped in chocolate ribbons, Bon Appetit showcases meticulously tested recipes that turn out

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Bon Appetit Desserts 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 15 reviews.
Posy More than 1 year ago
Just purchased this ebook, and it looks lovely other than the fact that some of the measurements are listed as question marks. Like '? cups milk' and '? teaspoons salt'. I'm a little confused as to why this is the case, as it is obviously important to have this information in a cookbook.
Kthoede More than 1 year ago
How do you make a recipe with an ingredient quantity missing? Instead is has a ?. The very first recipe I chose listed sugar as "?". I chose a few other chapters and ran into the same thing every few recipes! What a disapointment. I contacted B&N customer service and they refunded me the money, but I really would rather the book got fixed! I really loved the idea of having all these recipes on my ipad. I still want this as an ibook version, but how to know when it will be fixed? Don't buy it!!!!
CharlesGThompson More than 1 year ago
Bon App&#233;tit Desserts is a whole book, a huge book actually (680 pages), devoted solely to desserts. Every dessert you've ever heard of, every dessert you could ever want or need to make. All in one book. My kind of book. The book was edited by recently resigned Bon App&#233;tit Editor-in-Chief, Barbara Fairchild. In her introduction she writes about how while growing up her family had dessert after every dinner, something sweet was included in her lunch, and how her mother always served a sweet of some kind whenever company dropped by. I like that. To me it reveals the sentiment behind this book. Desserts and sweets as part of the eating process. The 600 recipes in the book are culled from Bon App&#233;tit's extensive archives; never-before-published recipes are also included. Well-known cooks, bakers, and pastry chefs (like Dorie Greenspan, Sherry Yard, and Susan Feniger), and Bon App&#233;tit staff and writers also contributed to the book. If that's not enough the book also has the Bon App&#233;tit pedigree. It's truly a reference-cookbook -- the first three chapters are 'The Desserts Pantry'; 'Equipment: The Basics'; 'Techniques: The Basics,' at the back of the book are 'Online & Mail-Order Sources,' and 'Metric Conversions & Equivalents.' Everything needed to make desserts with skill and aplomb. The rest of the book is all about the recipes. It has, in addition to the standard and expected American-style desserts, many of the classics: fools, crepes, Linzertortes, napoleons, cannolis, cr&#232;me br&#251;l&#233;es, &#233;clairs, panna cottas, tiramis&#249;s, pavolovas and more. I was thrilled to see a recipe for b&#251;che de No&#235;l! Short and to-the-point head notes are followed by well-organized recipes. A whisk rating system showing the level of difficulty (1 to 4 whisks) is included with each recipe. An easy reference 'Index of Whisk Ratings' at the back of the book allows for quick decisions on which recipe to try. Food photographer, Con Poulo's fifty gorgeous photos are sprinkled unobtrusively throughout. Recipe testing on a book of this size could take months but of the recipes I was able to try all worked beautifully. I can't recommend it highly enough. It should be part of every cook's library especially those who love to make desserts.
sara_barnes More than 1 year ago
I've tried several of the desserts in this book for my nook, and loved it. What I have not loved at all is how difficult it has been to get the free subscription to the magazine. There are no directions to be found anywhere, and no one seems to know how to redeem this offer. In the overview, the first sentence promises a subscription. I've been on the phone with Barnes and Noble for longer than I can count, and have also tried contacting both Bon Appetit and the publisher. What a hassle! If you'd like the cookbook, it's worth it! But don't have your heart set on the magazine as well.
Books_And_Chocolate More than 1 year ago
How fun to have a very large (689 pages) and beautiful cookbook devoted entirely to desserts by one of the premier food magazines, Bon Appetit. There are over 600 recipes in this book, most reprinted from the magazine archives but also some new ones. The photos are gorgeous and inspire me to want to head to the kitchen to create something wonderful. This is one of those cookbooks that anyone can use no matter what level of cooking experience because the recipes are well-written with plenty of explanation and diagrams. Also included are chapters on what kinds of foods to keep on hand in the pantry, equipment basics, and techniques explained. Every kind of dessert is covered: cakes and cupcakes; pies, tarts, and pastries; custards and puddings, fruit desserts, frozen desserts, cookies, bars and brownies, candy, and even a chapter devoted to cheesecake. I like that most of the recipes use regular ingredients that are easily found in any grocery store. The traditional recipes for things like classic chocolate chip cookies, apple pie, and chocolate cake can be found alongside unique offerings such as Mai Tai Sorbet, Cherry Creme Brulee, Hazelnut Macaroon and Strawberry Tart, Hazelnut Praline Cheesecake, and Lemon Raspberry Cupcakes. Whether needing a dessert for a casual pot-luck dinner or something elegant for a bridal shower or a tea, I can find it all in this one book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved everything in it...........so mouth watering...hard to keep from eating it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Frisbeesage More than 1 year ago
Bon Apetit Desserts is a big, huge, beautiful book packed with recipes for every type of dessert you could ever want to make. More than 600 recipes are included, most from the archives of the magazines, but a few new ones as well. With that many recipes all in one place you will find every kind of cake, pie, pudding, tart, cookie, candy and cheesecake. Here are a few of the ones I tried out: Chocolate -Peanut Butter Cake with Cream Cheese and Butterfinger Frosting Wow! This is an over-the-top indulgent, special occasion cake. I made the cake 1 day ahead, then filled and frosted it the next day. It was everything I wanted, rich, pretty, and absolutely delicious. Cranberry-Lime Tart This pretty tart is the perfect ending to a Thanksgiving dinner. The cranberry and lime give it a nice, light flavor and the white chocolate cream sweetens it up a bit. It does require some planning ahead, so be sure to read the recipe carefully. Lime Snowball Cookies These are one of my all-time favorite cookies. They look just like regular snowball cookies, so the hit of lime comes as a surprise. You can make them with any kind of citrus. They always end up on my cookie trays because they are so unique and easy to make. Pumpkin Cheesecake Crumble Squares These were another big Thanksgiving dinner hit. They are four layers but really pretty quick and easy to put together. I loved everything about these bars, the crispy pecan crust, the sweet pumpkin filling, and the tangy topping. I will make these over and over! I love this cookbook! Unlike many compilations that have mostly standard recipes with a few interesting ones thrown in, this book is packed with creative, unusual desserts and lots of beautiful photos. I have some many marked to try - Fig and Rum Squares, Chocolate Stout Cake, Pear-Cardamom Pie with Almond Crust, and Mexican Chocolate Cherry Rounds.