×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Bone Vault (Alexandra Cooper Series #5)
  • Alternative view 1 of The Bone Vault (Alexandra Cooper Series #5)
  • Alternative view 2 of The Bone Vault (Alexandra Cooper Series #5)
     

The Bone Vault (Alexandra Cooper Series #5)

3.9 25
by Linda Fairstein
 

See All Formats & Editions

In the Metropolitan Museum of Art's exquisite Temple of Dendur, a monument to an ancient world, a very modern debate is raging at a gala dinner: a controversial new exhibit is fiercely opposed by many among the upper echelon of museum donors. Alex Cooper steps into this highly charged ring of power players only to make a much more troubling discovery: a young museum

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Bone Vault (Alexandra Cooper Series #5) 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 25 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Bone Vault is Linda Fairstein once again treating her readers to a great historical, architectural and art romp through 2 great museums in New York all the while revealing a different picture of the world of, the maintenance of and the acquisition of art and antiquities. Without any experience in working in museums, I don't know how to verify her accuracy. However, her writing is very believable. The background of these institutions is more compelling at times than her characters or the plot. A great rainy day read. Her book on the New York Public Library I'd recommend as well for the same reasons.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was very disappointing. It had a very interesting look at the great museums of New York and the extensive information was impressive and thought provoking, the plot, however, was a snoozer. The story was anti-climactic.
harstan More than 1 year ago
At the reception for a controversial show at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Director Pierre Thibodaux speaks with guest attendee Manhattan Assistant District Attorney Alex Cooper. Pierre informs Coop, the head of Sex Crimes Division, that the corpse of a modern day female rather than the mummified remains of an Egyptian princess was found in a sarcophagus during a routine customs inspection. Coop brings in her ¿team¿ of NYPD detectives, Mike Chapman and Mercer Wallace, to investigate the homicide. The threesome quickly learns the identity of the deceased Katrina Gooten, a worker at the Cloisters, Manhattan¿s monastery. The trio digs deeper into the museum, that of the Cloisters, and the Museum of Natural History as the trail takes them on a tour seemingly all over Manhattan in an attempt to find the killer. This police procedural story line is well designed and fun to read especially with the charged sexual relationship that both Coop and Mike react to by competing in cerebral contests that keeps the flesh from any lusty formations. When Linda Fairstein goes into her prosecutor¿s role on sidebars such as ancient funeral rites, the subplot provides well-written interesting information, but also slows down the prime theme. Still Coop is a great character starring in a strong investigative tale that sub-genre fans will welcome as long as the audience avoids betting on Jeopardy. Harriet Klausner
tillypop More than 1 year ago
I still like the regular characters in this series but I was bored with the telling of the history of New York City. Hoping for more mystery, less lecture next time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm now reading the 10th book that Linda Fairstein wrote and I intend to continue the series. I will admit that it took me awhile to get into her first book "Final Jeopardy" and I was about to put it down but I'm glad I didn't. I like the relationships between Alex, Mike and Mercer. I also like to hear about the historical places in New York and all of the little factoids Mike comes up with. Sometimes it's a little unbelievable when Alex is being pursued by the bad guys since she's a DA and not a police officer but the guys always rescue her!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Everytime I read one of Fairstein's novels, I can't wait to turn the page and find out what's happening next. Great plot and good characters make the Bone Vault another marvel. I particularly enjoy the teamwork between Cooper, Chapman and Wallace.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A gripping, believable tale. Sometimes a too like Cornwell, Fairstein takes some chances with her characters, and wins. Alex & Chapman are the best female, male team today.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a fresh story line. I have always loved museums and this book is rich in visualization.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I completely enjoyed this book....the descriptions made me feel as if i were at the museums themselves...excellent author!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"Kicks the Worker Drone over and takes out one of my seords and takes it offline and then it explos" hmm doing it sooner is the best way to take care of it....."walks off"
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
U need help