×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Book of Night Women
     

The Book of Night Women

4.6 40
by Marlon James
 

See All Formats & Editions

"An undeniable success.” — The New York Times Book Review

A true triumph of voice and storytelling, The Book of Night Women rings with both profound authenticity and a distinctly contemporary energy. It is the story of Lilith, born into slavery on a Jamaican sugar plantation at the end of the eighteenth century. Even at her birth, the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Book of Night Women 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 40 reviews.
jewhl More than 1 year ago
If you are looking for an easy read and mindless entertainment, do not pick up this book. If, however, you are looking for something off-beat, poetic and substantial, this is a book for you. James absolutely delivers in his "The Book of Night Women." The Jamaican dialect is lyrical - and, for anyone unfamiliar with this musical form of the English language - demands attention and concentration. Prosaic, and at the same time poetic, James' novel focuses a microscope on the life of Lilith, a mulatto girl with green eyes born into slavery on a Jamaican sugar plantation at the end of the 18th century. The frequent slave revolts that were an almost perpetual way of life for slave and master provide a backdrop to this tale, as do the ever-present superstitions brought from Africa that permeated life on the plantations. This is a story of despair, sorrow, hope and triumph. Highly recommended!
JKing_01 More than 1 year ago
This is an absolutely thrilling and rewarding piece of literature. For the historian, it is very refreshing to see someone strive to paint a vivid and accurate picture of this section of history for this particular region and subject matter. Of course, some of the information could be debated from a historical standpoint, but little could be outright refuted. In my opinion, some of the language and colorful descriptions almost makes the reader want to turn away from the view. Although I might have suggested a less horrifying approach in many passages, I understand the authors desire and need to slap the reader in the face with the harsh reality of slavery in the Caribbean. I highly recommend this work to the reader that wishes to better understand global race relations, Caribbean history, Black gender relations and modern social concerns as a product of the reality of the Caribbean/American Slave System.
clasique More than 1 year ago
This book is written in the native dialect and tone of the Caribbean island Jamaica. I found the story thrilling and fascinating. The author's use of language and description is all at once unafraid, vivid, enthralling and mystical. This is a world I would like to journey to.
sybil_rising More than 1 year ago
From the first brutal but lyrical paragraph, the world inside this book will grow up around you, ensnaring you. Rich in characters, action, twisting plotlines and setting, it kept me breathless to the end. I will be seeking out more books by this author. Be aware of explicit language and horrifically violent imagery completely appropriate to the subject matter.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
THIS BOOK IS VERY DESCRIPTIVE BOTH IN HISTORICAL AND FICTIONAL SENSE. I LOVE THE CHARACTERS, ESPECIALLY THE MAIN CHARACTER WHERE HER LIFE CHANGES THROUGHOUT BASED ON THE RITUALS THAT WE PASSED ON FROM AFRICAN ANCESTRY TO THE CARIBBEAN. SHE HAD TO MAKE LOTS OF CHOICES WHICH IN SOME WAY AFFECTS EVERYTHING AND EVERYONE AROUND HER NO MATTER WHAT, BUT MANAGE TO SAVE THE PEOPLE THAT DESERVE TO LIVE. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS BOOK.
Diablesse More than 1 year ago
As one previous reviewer said, this is definitely not 'an easy read'. The book is written entirely in the Jamaican dialect, which gives it a lyrical,mystical feel. At times, one does need to re-read a scene so that they could grasp what exactly is being said, however, it doesn't detract from the story at all. This book, while not a frivolous beach read, is not geared solely towards the 'writer's reader' and as such, can be enjoyed by a mainstream reader. The author has given voice to a part of history that is not normally conjured when people think of the Caribbean. At times, the story becomes very graphic and heinous. This doesn't take away from the story in any way, and in fact, gives it an 'authentic' feel. Great story - Highly Recommended!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Recommended to me by a book store employee. I loved this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a great book. I felt as though I had been tranported back in time. The experiences felt all too real. A perfect read for Black History Month and anytime of the year. I would highly recommend this book!.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Although I am an avid reader, especially by and about people of color, I have only recently started reading literature about the Caribbean experience. The Book of Night Women is among the best I have read yet! I have just added Marlon to the list of writers I whose work I will pick up just because his name is on the cover!
DickClark1 More than 1 year ago
Man, this guy can write!  Watch him climb.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read , so different and even hard to take in sometimes, i did enjoy very much
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a great book. I could not put it down. It was not an easy read due to the Jamaican dialect, but that made it even better.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is captivating. Once you start it you will never want to put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is not for the faint of heart. It is one of the most violent books I've ever read. At times I had to look away from some of the images. It was mostly compelling...but I felt it took too long to get to the climax while focusing too much on the violence. Many of the interactions between the women began to wear on my nerves as they seemed to be the same old thing over and over. Although the protagonist voice is strong...at times I found her tiresome and hard to like. The women seem to dislike ach other and barely a kind word passes between them. Honestly, its difficult to root for any of them. That said...the book is an extraordinary piece of historical fiction that deserves to be read. However if the reader is turned off by extreme violence, this may not be the book for you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is my first Marlon James book. AMAZING! The dialect/language takes a bit of getting used to, but by the time I was comfortable with that, I was totally hooked. I finished it last week, have gone on to another book, and am still thinking about this one, it's characters, the social issues.... Can't wait to get another James book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book and felt the kindred spirit of my grandmothers and their struggle. This book is honest, raw and a beautiful expression triumph!
Angie_Lisle More than 1 year ago
I stayed up all night to finish this book - I couldn't put it down. I will definitely check out more of Mr. James work. This story is told in an impressive voice that immediately puts you in a time and place with very little detail needed to get there: Jamaica, turn of the 19th century. The narrative can be a bit tricky at times (try reading out loud if you stumble over the dialect). Mr. James doesn't spare us from gory details. He's in your face so be forewarned - he utilizes language to maximize the shock potential of this horrific period in history. Not only do we see what happens when people are enslaved over skin color, we also see what happens to women who are viewed as possessions and how any man -regardless of skin color- can abuse women who have no formal legal rights. This is a powerful read that stays with you long after you finish the book.
7thinferno More than 1 year ago
This book is unique for me because its one of the first books Ive read in Patois; however it was hard to put this book down and at times I had to close the book because the characters acted unbelievably or wickedly. This book would be a great story for a movie. Its has so many elements action, drama, horror and tragic romance. Id definitely see it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
it was hard for me to set this book down! the plot is addictive. definitely read this book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is not an easy read because it's written in the dialog of slavery in the Jamancan islands. The book starts out slow but once you get into the story it's hard to put down. I personally did not like some of the provacative words used throughout the book to decribe the women. This book gave me a different outlook on the relationship that slaves had amongst each other and in many ways made them seem as cruel as the people that held them in bondage. It's very different from any book about slavery that I've read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago