×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Book of the Dun Cow
     

Book of the Dun Cow

4.4 10
by Walter, Jr. Wangerin Jr.
 

See All Formats & Editions

Winner of the American Book Award, Walter Wangerin's allegorial fantasy concerns a time when the sun turned around the earth and animals could speak, when Chauntecleer the Rooster ruled over a more or less peaceful kingdom. What the animals did not know was that they were the Keeper of Wyrm, monster of Evil long imprisoned beneath the earth. And Wyrm, sub terra,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Book of the Dun Cow 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Having first read 'Book of the Dun Cow' as a high school freshman in 1982 I have found myself rereading it every two to three years. Chauntacleer, John Wesley Weasel, and the other characters are the center of an unforgettable, emotional, adventure that provides good vs.evil,heroism,unconditional love, and extreme courage.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is a great buy for people of all ages. This book is very imaginative and has a great story-line. It's one of the best good verse evil books out there. I've read it three times and wouldn't mind reading it again. Though I havn't read the book of sorrows I'm sure it's just as good or even better than the first.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is one of the best-written books I have ever had the pleasure to read. It contains heroism, joy, deep sorrow, and extraordinary good humor. It is one of the three or four books that I will actively tell people that they have to read. It is truly a marvellous work, and one that continues to grow on the reader. BTW...there is a sequel, The Book of Sorrows... It is also very good, but RARELY has a book been so well titled. If I had a ten-year-old child, I would happily read him The Book of the Dun Cow, but would not let him know that there was a sequel until he turned, oh, 30 or so.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Classic! Heros and monsters. Good vs. evil. Fully recommend! Char build was amazing. Tragic ending. Gripping from start to finish. You won't be disappointed. Don't forget book 2. Book Of Sorrows. Holds true to its title!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is beautiful, unique, and disquieting book, filled with allegory and symbolism. On the face level, it is about a rooster who finds his chicken coop endangered by the dreaded Cockatrice, a half serpent, half rooster. On a deeper level, it contains many religious allegories that are discernable to the experienced reader. This is not really a book for children, though it can be found in children's literature shelves, due to it's high style of writing. The openminded adult will enjoy it a great deal.
HomeSchoolBookReview More than 1 year ago
In a new Afterword, author Walter Wangerin Jr., a Senior Research Professor at Valparaiso University, specifically says that The Book of the Dun Cow, which won the National Book Award, “is not—nor was ever intended to be—an allegory.” It is simply a fantasy of good and evil. The story draws upon Geoffrey Chaucer, the early church fathers, medieval cosmologies, romances like Le Morte D’Arthur, various mythological figures, and Biblical patterns. On the one hand, there is a moderate amount of cursing, along with some profane use of the terms “God” and “Lord” as interjections and a little bit of childish, near-vulgar slang. On the other hand, some reviewers do not care for what they see as “a heavy-handed religious overtone.” Some sources say that Dun Cow should be of interest to all age groups, but probably young adults would be most likely to appreciate its message while not being frightened by the fairly violent and scary parts. A few people may have difficulty with the symbolism. The book does not offer any magical solutions to the problem of good and evil, but it does show that life is filled with both sadness and joy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is deeply moving. Definitely one of the greatest books out there. Walter is a great writer. With his words he makes you laugh, think, and touch your spirit. You'll finish this book with a smile on your face and you'll want to read it all over again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I believe that The Book of the Dun Cow was very well written. I immediately became attatched to most of the characters, and learned to loath the dreaded Cocatrice. It told of the story tale battle of good against evil, and it is told in the most uncharacteristic way - with farm animals. I personally believe that it is not a book for children, seeing as one would need an adult's intelligence to appreciate it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is one terrible book. We read it in 8th grade and it is one of the few books that I truly hated. Basically it is about two farms. In one, a snake/chicken thing named Cockatrice is born and then, after lots of useless parts, he wages war on the nice happy farm. Please, save yourself and do not read it.