The Last Boyfriend by J. S. Cooper, Paperback | Barnes & Noble
The Last Boyfriend

The Last Boyfriend

3.2 105
by J. S. Cooper
     
 
Lucky Morgan has had her share of heartbreak. She is devastated when her boyfriend dumps her after sleeping with him and she vows to herself that she won't be used again. She decides that the next guy she dates and sleeps with, will be her one true love.

Zane Beaumont is the mysterious and snooty guy that comes into her diner every Friday night with a different girl

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

The Last Boyfriend 3.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 105 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thanks to the reviewer that revealed that this book is not complete. I and many of my friends are boycotting these books. Shame on the gready authors.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Who is this guy on the cover? Let's hire him to play Christian Grey in the movie. Talk about hot!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved story, but it was 115 pages. Why not finish the story? And i would give my pinkie toe for a book that did not involve lip biting....we get it 50 Shades set the bar....but every time i see..."i bit my lip"...I want to shake the author and tell them to come up with their own stuff.....All and all a good read, but felt like I was robbed and have to wait for the next book to get the ending.
Natasha1977 More than 1 year ago
I was lucky enough to get a ARC. I love this book, so funny and sexy. I love the chemistry between Lucky and Zane, it's so hot. Zane is my new book boyfriend.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I couldnt put this book down it is simply amazing!
romancebookworm More than 1 year ago
I was a beta reader and received an ARC in exchange for my honest review. I have to admit that in the beginning I was thinking that Zane was a crazy stalker serial killer or something but when you delve into the book and learn about the man, you find yourself falling helplessly in love. Lucky is a lot more trusting then she should have been. She took chances that most sane women wouldn't but if you don't take chances you don't reap great rewards. I knew that there was something about Brayden, I just couldn't put my finger on it. J.S. Cooper has a way of weaving words into powerful pictures that you long to hold onto. I was amazed that she was able to draw me in with the first two chapters and leave me, literally, begging for more. I have read her other works and she just keeps getting better and better. :)
busymama49 More than 1 year ago
Lucky is looking for her Last Boyfriend, her forever guy. What is Zane looking for? Through the roller coaster web of emotions for Zane, Lucky is caught turning away from everything she has worked for. I LOVE the emotional triangle that develops when Braydon steps in and pursues Lucky. This book is a quick enjoyable read. I cannot wait for the sequel ... The Last Husband. Pulling for you Lucky!
Malinda_E More than 1 year ago
I could absolutely not put this book down. J. S. Cooper completely draws you in with her beautiful characters that just leaving wanting more and more. Lucky watches as Zane parades a different girl in every week, but still feels this strong connection with him. You will not be sorry with this book, or any of the books from J.S. Cooper. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book and would say that it is one of the best books i have read this year
cdlacombe2 More than 1 year ago
The Last Boyfriend This book was so amazing. Zane and Lucky kept me on my chair throughout the whole book. They both had issues to work through before their relationship could develop. Lucky could only admit in her head that she was in love and Zane couldn't admit it all. They kept me laughing at some of their back and forth banter. And when they opened up about their past heartaches, I was actually crying. When they actually started having sex, well let me say it was "hot". And then of course there was Brayden thrown into the picture and you don't find out the whole story with him until the end of the story. When Zane finally says these words to Lucky, I was crying: "Everything that I am and everything that I want to be, from this moment on is because of you." I am so looking forward to the next book in this series, The Last Husband!! I was given an ARC copy of this book for an honest review, and I honestly LOVED it. Please read. You will not be disappointed!! *****5stars to you JS Cooper!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a story,not a book. The characters have no depth, the dialogue is cheesy and there isn't even an ending. I want my money and the hour it took to read it returned.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is such an amazing book. It keeps you reeled in and not wanting to put it down. You must read it. There will be a second book and I can't wait to get my hands on it :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved everything about this book.  I also love that the author studied the History part of it that is amazing.  I am super in love with the characters and I really like how it comes together. I was given an ARC copy of this book for an honest review and I really do like it and I cannot wait for "The Last Husband."  
CRISSYM More than 1 year ago
Lucky has watched Zane bring a different girl into the restaurant where she works every Friday night. She secretly wishes she was the girl on his arm and in his bed. Zane comes to Luckys’ rescue one night and she wonders if this night will make her dream come true. One could hope right? Lucky is offered a job from Zane to be his assistant; it’s not really what she wants from Zane but it’s a dream job for Lucky. Zane has secrets but he lets Lucky know up front he’s not looking for a girlfriend, relationship or even love. He has a past that has been rough and learns the hard why that loving always leads to having your heart broken. Can Lucky break through Zane walls and make him realize that their more to life than going through a different women? “The Last Boyfriend” was a great read. I read the book in one day because I could not put it down. You will love both Lucky and Zane one minute and hate both of them the next. This book will make you smile then make you mad and will end in a surprise you didn’t see coming. I can’t wait to read the next book in the series. I recommend this book to anyone looking for a light and funny romantic read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lucky Morgan is a college student who works at a diner in Miami. She meets a customer called Zane. He is very attractive, rich and Lucky is intrigued by him because of their obvious sexual chemistry. However, Lucky doesn't want to date Zane because she doesn't think he is the sort of guy who wants to get married. Zane has a lot of secrets and you never really know if he is a good guy or a bad guy. There is another guy called Braydon and he seems like he is really cool and should be with Lucky.  Let me tell you that I loved this book. I want to meet a hunk like Zane. I love alpha males and would date one any day of the week.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can't wait for Book 2...I was so torn w/ what guy " Zane or Braydon" I thought was best for Lucky until the end...some of the book was a little unreal & immature, but still an original type of story & the love scenes were nice too!!!!
nelah More than 1 year ago
I loved this book!! I loved Zane and Lucky and was happy that they got their happy ending!! Looking forward to the sequel to read more of this book!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
There is poor grammar throughout the entire book, There was no real development of the characters. This book should be free.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I did not want this book to end. Js Cooper has a way with words that makes you fall in love with the characters. Let me tell you, I loved Zane. Lucky was very lucky. This was a fun romance!
c_dibble More than 1 year ago
I am honored to have been selected to be a beta reader for this book. Lucky is just that. Lucky. I loved this book and impatiently await the next. The relationship between lucky, Zane , and Brayden is enough to drive you insane. I wanted Lucky to choose correctly but couldn't decide until the end who that would be. This book definitely does not disappoint and is no where close to predictable. I don't want to say to much so that I ruin it for everyone else. I think this is a definite TBR book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Do not waste your money on this book. It's a cute premise, despite being cliche, but it comes far from delivering. I have to wonder if all of the 5 star reviews aren't the authors friends. I'd hate to think that the standards for a decent book have fallen so low. There were quite a number of things with this book that took it from lazy afternoon read to "Oh my God I spent money on this?!" The characters were extremely one-dimensional. The heroine, Lucky, was supposed to be this intriguing girl unlike all the others, but she was extremely boring, contradictory and naive. Not only did she set rules for herself in dating, she broke them without almost a second thought. She takes a job with Zane, the hero, without even looking into his background or learning anything about the job. And in order to take this job she has to withdraw from her classes her senior year of college. What college student in their right mind does this? None! Even if the project he hired her for helped her area of study, it would have been more believable if she had worked something out with her professors to get credit for the project and her leave of absence. Not only does she decide spur of the moment to withdraw from her classes and leave her job for this guy she barely knows, she's constantly going back and forth between Zane and Braydon, the secondary love interest. One moment Braydon is crazy and something's off about him and the next he "could be the guy for her" and she feels totally at home with him. How can you get such mixed signals from a character that's so underdeveloped? Braydon came off as ridiculous and I couldn't even believe Lucky would still have contact with him after their first date. She did earn some respect from me when she thought he was wackadoodle on their date and became annoyed with him. The problem was she didn't stick to her own instincts and instead it was like she brushed everything aside two seconds later. Zane's not much better with his ridiculous mood swings that randomly come out of nowhere. While the tortured soul bit would have worked for me, he goes from one mood to the next without much of a catalyst. He's also adamant about not getting involved with Lucky and yet pursues her as if that's exactly what he wants. He was just way too contradictory in his words and actions; very confusing character! And the fact that Lucky put up with that made me view her as extremely weak. She just let him cause her more and more confusion as the book went on. I wanted to smack her and tell her to find out where her brains went, if she even had any in the first place. To top if off there really wasn't any steam or connection between Zane and Lucky. This is probably due to the fact that they were so poorly developed. Any romance between such flat characters would have been really hard to believe in any story. Zane's miraculous confessions at the end of the book were also very disingenuous. Again, they came out of nowhere and you didn't get a sense that anything happened to cause such a dramatic change in him. Save yourself the money and the time. This book reads like it was written on a whim and in a day, with no thought to character development, consistency or believability. While I understand that it's not always necessary to have everything be believable in a book, at least make it so it's not so blatant.
sunshine2010ND More than 1 year ago
I was Lucky enough to get to be a beta reader as long as I gave an honest review so without further ado... Lucky is a girl whom has lost a great deal in her life but has rose above it and came up with a plan to find her Last Boyfriend! She is a strong,smart,funny and sometime stubborn woman who is in college and supports herself. She works as a waitress and watches Zane parade a bunch of women through the diner every friday! She goes to a party one night and meets Braydon whom is a sexy hollywood actor and seems down to earth and likes her. Zane very sexy kinda crazy man seems to be torn between wanting Lucky and not crossing the line and don't like Braydon taking to her. Braydon good looking and funny Hollywood star likes Lucky also.He is funny and erratic. I loved reading this book.It kept me wanting to read to find out what happens from one minute to the next and wondering where this triangle of people and parade of women will lead you. Bottom line is does she find her Last Boyfriend? A must read very fun and entertaining! If you have read books from J.S. Cooper before you will love this too she is growing as a writer book by book!
PoconoMom3 More than 1 year ago
I really found this book to be an original and it was a very enjoyable read. It's a little difficult to say what it is about, but essentially there is a 22 year old woman named Lucky. She is a student and works as a waitress at a diner to make her ends meet. While working there, she meets a rich, hot & sexy guy named Zane. Lucky is not interested in dating to have her heart broken again, so she has set rules for herself so that the next guy she dates will be the last guy she dates. Zane is a total playboy, also not interested in love or commitment. Ok, so when I say it like that, maybe it doesn't sound too original, but this is where it starts to get interesting. Lucky starts working for Zane and during that process is introduced to his world and starts learning more about Zane and why he is so broken. It is really a sweet story of 2 people finding out about themselves and how to love another person. I kept thinking that I figured out where it was going, only to be led in another direction. There are several other characters involved in the story (Braydon, Angelique, Noah) and there is going to be another book which will tie up many of the loose ends. Even though there are loose ends, there is a satisfying ending to this book, so don't let that stop you from reading it now!
EvadingReality More than 1 year ago
The storyline is mediocre and reads like it was developed by a 12 year old girl. I couldn't get past the 2nd chapter.
musesinspire More than 1 year ago
I really didn't find much about this book that I liked. The dude was an a**hole and I felt, personally, that his motivation for his actions weren't really justified. The characters felt a little flat to me and and the dialogue kind of forced. I wouldn't say this is the WORST book I've ever read, but it definitely isn't one I'd rec to a friend or read again.