×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Born Of Fire
     

Born Of Fire

3.4 19
by Heather McCorkle
 

See All Formats & Editions

The story of the night Aiden was born has never been told, until now. Fleeing the Hunters, Kevan and Shannon O'Reilly find their way to Spruce Knoll Colorado, assuming they'll be safe in America. Their unborn son is special, even for a druid, or a channeler as the American's like to call their kind. But why the Hunters, people who are sworn to keep their kind safe,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Born Of Fire 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 19 reviews.
Artistadonna More than 1 year ago
Another fantastic book written by the amazing author Heather McCorkle. If you want to be taken into a magical world then read this book. Her writing voice is amazing. I recommend thi book along with her books. by the way I love the cover!
Sarah_UK1 More than 1 year ago
(I won a copy of this book! Thanks to Giselle at Xpresso reads, and Heather McCorkal!) This book is a short story split into two halves. The first half tells the story of Shannon and Kevan, a pair of warrior druids from Ireland. Shannon is heavily pregnant, and Kevan is worried that someone wants to harm the baby, as there is a prophecy surrounding him. Shannon and Kevan pack their car and try to leave before they are found, but are chased and run off the road, and then killed, as Shannon is giving birth to the baby – Aidan. The second half of the story is set 16 years later, and gives an insight into Aidan’s life following his parent’s death. Aidan’s life is anything but ideal, as he suffers at the hands of his adoptive father. This short story is just a little taste of Aidan’s story, which is continued in ‘The secret of spruce knoll’. The opening story about his parent’s death is intense and moving, and makes you want to know more about Aidan and the prophecy surrounding him. I don’t usually like short stories, but I think that this is probably a nice start and worth reading if you are interested in the series. 7 out of 10. (Book length: 411 Kindle Locations)
Christine_Fonseca More than 1 year ago
I read this short before finishing the Secret of Spruce Knoll, the novel that started the Channeler series. And all I can say is WOW! I am so thrilled about the story. And I can't wait to jump into the series. The characters are intriguing, the plot fast moving. Great start. Can't wait for more.
Brooke-The-Cover-Contessa More than 1 year ago
I picked up this little beauty for free and I'm SO glad I did! Blurb from Goodreads: The story of the night Aiden was born has never been told, until now. Fleeing the Hunters, Kevan and Shannon O'Reilly find their way to Spruce Knoll Colorado, assuming they'll be safe in America. Their unborn son is special, even for a druid, or a channeler as the American's like to call their kind. But why the Hunters, people who are sworn to keep their kind safe, are after them is a mystery. All they know is that if they don't outrun them they'll be killed. Trouble has followed them to Spruce Knoll and just when it seems it may be too late, they discover the true reason why. I just finished To Ride a Puca last week and loved it. So I thought I would throw myself into this novella last night to get a taste of what the other Channeler novels are like and, WOW, I am so glad I did. I loved this short look into the channelers! It totally made me want to pick up the next one in the series. There was just not enough to this novella and it has me biting at the bit to see what happens next! The cover to this little beauty is AMAZING! I knew the story of the knot from Puca, so when I picked this up, I completely understood why it would be on the cover. I am still interested to know what exactly the knot signifies. The introduction of Adien and his birth was great. Although, I am sure had I not read To Ride A Puca, I would not have understood so well what was happening as far as their powers were concerned. I am in love with the fantasy theme of these books! Thanks for peaking my interest even more, Ms. McCorkle! Your writing is awesome and I can't wait to find out more about Aiden!!! 5 out of 5 Stars
SpellBoundReviews More than 1 year ago
3.5 stars This is the prequel to the Channeler series. It is the story of the events surrounding Aiden's birth. Born of Fire is very short and is intended only as an introduction into the series, not as a stand-alone novella at all.  It is just long enough to pique a reader's interest and leaves you hanging at the end, wondering what the hell happens next? For readers looking for a stand-alone story, move on because this will only piss you off.  For readers looking to discover a new series, this is a beginning; the pre-events; a small peek; a minute taste. If that's the case, you should definitely check it out!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazing author. I read the full book before this one and this made a whole lot of sense out of the whole scenario. But my mind is blown, this is AMAZING!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved the first chapter. The second was good too but ended at the brisk of my interest. Good quick read though!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
How short is it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I wish she had made it a lot longer though from wat i read out of this book it was decent but i wont be reading the other books tht she has put out. Sorry guys i jist wish it was a little longer.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A good start for an amazing adventure..
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Picked up as future read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is not a story. Merely an introduction. Writing skill is minimal. 99 cents is way more than it is worth.