×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Born of Night (The League: Nemesis Rising Series #1)
     

Born of Night (The League: Nemesis Rising Series #1)

4.4 496
by Sherrilyn Kenyon
 

See All Formats & Editions

In the Ichidian Universe, The League and their ruthless assassins rule all. Expertly trained and highly valued, the League Assassins are the backbone of the government. But not even the League is immune to corruption . . .

Command Assassin Nykyrian Quikiades once turned his back on the League—and has been hunted by them ever since. Though many have

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Born of Night 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 496 reviews.
Opals4Ophelia More than 1 year ago
I am a huge fan of the Dark Hunter novels and so when I saw this on the shelf I thought "hell, it's sherrilyn...can't be bad." But I read the back when I got home and just wasn't feeling it. It sat on my baby bookshelf for about 2 weeks. All I can say is that I was an idiot. At this point in time if someone asked me what I liked more the Leauge or the Hunters...I would lean more toward the League. It's just freaking insane how she does it, the details, the emotions, the plot (Which is great throughout all 3 of the novels...I read the other 2 in a day.) So if your a fan of the her writing do it...and don't let it sit because your afraid a bad series would ruin your favorite author...because this one is fabulous. :)
NettaDC More than 1 year ago
I love this author. I don't think I have read anything from Ms. Kenyon/Ms. McKinley that I did not like. Will always read her material. Loved the book, loved the creative universe that was created. Loved the hero especially when he stated that his bones ached every morning and tired easily. The heroine had a bad attitude at first, but then she started to grow on me. Loved the characters and their supporting parties. Also recommened the Dark-Hunter, Were-Hunter, and Dream Hunter series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kenyon books seem to fall within the category of "can't put down until I finish it". I have been an avid fan for a long time and have purchased every book of hers that I can get my hands on. I tried to purchase this series of books in their original publications but they were out of print. Frankly, I'm glad. Once she had completed her re-write, it was a done deal and all three books were ordered in advance. She was right, the characters came to life stronger than before. It was worth waiting for. The male leads in the first two books shared a history a little too close to Acheron but not enough to blemish the completed story. For anyone who follows the genre, her books are a must read. Wild, bold, troubled and irristible male leads who seem to find females who blend into the perfect mate as well as being as formidable as the men, no matter the circumstances, allow the readers to lose themselves in not only the love but the conflicts. Have read all three in the League series and lust for more. There are too many interesting and needful characters to be left hanging in mid-space. Look forward to the next one.
Stormteddy More than 1 year ago
This was a great book. I was concerned about starting a new Kenyon series but in no time I was hooked. As always Kenyon's writing is visually stimulating her creative writing is capturing. The charactors are charming. I was so glad that I purchased all three books at once and was only sad when there was no fourth for me to move on to. I loved it...
Under_The_Covers_BookBlog More than 1 year ago
~Reviewed by SUZANNE & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog Princess Kiara has once again been kidnapped, only it looks like she may not survive it this time. The last thing she expects is to be saved by the infamous Nemesis, an assassin reputed to be cold and ruthless and the only assassin to have ever quit The League, the corrupt organisation that governs the universe, and continue breathing. Nemesis has vowed to protect the innocent now that the League no longer has him on a leash, but the feelings he has for Kiara are far from innocent and she soothes him in a way his tortured past has never experienced. Until I read Born of Night I have never been a fan of Sherrilyn Kenyon, I find her tendency to inflict torturous pasts on nearly every single character she has ever written a little disturbing and melodramatic. However, for some reason if her poor characters are floating around in space apparently I will enjoy it. I confess I do love a romance sci-fi, all those alien wibbling their bits about, love it! But Born of Night wasn’t my typical corny sci fi romance, it has started to build an interesting universe with characters and races I can’t wait to hear more about and with a ruthless and corrupt organisation, The League, that I can’t wait to see be torn down. As for the romance, it was all sweet and sexy, Nykiarrian and Kiara were a lovely couple, who both needed one another. As typical with a book penned by Sherrilyn Kenyon, both characters had their horrific pasts to contend, especially Nyk, but although I have read that kind of thing before, I still enjoyed reading as love conquered all! As for Nyk, he has made it straight in to my harem, something about that long blonde hair and green eyes rawr *claws air*. This is basically Dark Hunters in Space, but instead of paranormal warriors and gods we have aliens and space ships, now I am not a fan of the former, but I love the latter. I highly recommend giving this book a try even if you don’t normally read sci-fi, if you enjoy romance, especially of the Sherrilyn Kenyon variety, then you will love this.
MissCicero More than 1 year ago
First of all I love this author and yes this was a good book, HOWEVER, now that I've said that I have to say I was a bit disappointed. Nykyrian was strangely like Acheron hmmmm. All the way down to the illagitamate daughter he didn't know about. Which that part annoyed me the most and made me want to put the book down entirely. Now normally its not a big deal to me, but why did she even HAVE to throw that in there? There was no place for it and it wasn't even NEEDED! I thought the whole story flip flopped alot oh i love her but she could never love me and then oh he doesn't love me he left me, but I'll love him forever. The two characters were never on the same page, but both blatantly liked each other with a few minor drawbacks. I don't know maybe it's just me. I loved the concept of the whole world, but I think it could have been a little better. I'll still get the next book in hopes it will be redeeming.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The characters and the story held my attention and I couldn't put the book down. I love Sherrilyn Kenyon's books and this moved to the top of my favorite book list. I can hardly wait for the next book to come out next month.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
couldn't get into it...
Anonymous 14 days ago
Love the characters and their dark pasts. Lots of action. In general a wonderful read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a huge fan of Sherrilyn Kenyon & have read many of her books. I wasn't to sure about this series but I am certainly glad that I gave it a try. I love to read a good sci-fy or shape shifter romance with lots of twist & suspence. This book had it all & more! Now I can't wait to read the next book in this series. I am also very glad that the heroine is almost as tough as the hero. If you enjoy a good space romantic adventure then you will certainly love to read this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Everyone needs to read this book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Intense, moving, action packed, sizzling. Kenyon's description of the heartbreak, horrifying physical & pyschological abuse nykaryion endures from the time he is only eight is heartrending & moves you to tears & anger. Karia who he & his team of assasin/ mercenaries rescues from kidnappers is feisty, witty, spoiled & irresistiably drawn to each other. Kenyon reveals both nykaryion's & kiara's thoughts & emotions which in turn draws you deeply into their characters especially nykaryion. Full of twists & turns with shocking turn of events in their lives til the very end. Can the damaged nykaryion let down his coldness & unemotional aura for kiara? Can kiara let go of her judgemental distain & hatred & what she perceives nykaryion to be & see him as he really is? She definitely deserves the tongue lashing that she receives from syn, after nykaryion saves her from poltical kidnappers time & time again!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have re and reread this book many times. I love the way Ms Kenyon tells a story. The characters come to life as you read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was recommended to my by a friend. While it took a minute for me to get into it did not disappoint. Love the overall story and it was real fun getting to know the characters. I've already purchased the next two books in the series, and I can't wait to get started on them.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the beginning of an excellent series. The mix of romance, action & Sci Fi was intelligently done.
mknick More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A hard time reading other books. I love the people in this series so much. The twists in the first few books are fresh and not done 100s of timesblikebthey are in other books. Nyk and Kiara are my favorite fictional couple, right after me and Nyk.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This series is as good as the Dark-Hunter series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago