×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Born Standing Up: A Comic's Life
  • Alternative view 1 of Born Standing Up: A Comic's Life
  • Alternative view 2 of Born Standing Up: A Comic's Life
     

Born Standing Up: A Comic's Life

4.3 103
by Steve Martin
 

See All Formats & Editions

The riveting, mega-bestselling, beloved and highly acclaimed memoir of a man, a vocation, and an era named one of the ten best nonfiction titles of the year by Time and Entertainment Weekly.

In the mid-seventies, Steve Martin exploded onto the comedy scene. By 1978 he was the biggest concert draw in the history of stand-up. In 1981 he quit forever.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Born Standing Up 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 103 reviews.
Ross_Hearns More than 1 year ago
Steve is a very complex individual, with his past relationship with his Father, his ability to create humor, his writing, his musical ability and art appreciation. This book lets you feel like you are a friend. When in public I'm sure Mr. Martin has to always "be on". The public expects this image. I felt like I got to know the real person away from that image just trying to entertain. I would recommend this book to anyone that wanted to get to know Steve Martin a very fun book to read.
the_protagonist1 More than 1 year ago
One funny book, from a wild and crazy guy! This autobiography covers from his childhood that formed him up until the height of his stand up career. It contains some interesting stories about life on the road when he was well known but not famous. If you are hoping for some info on the Saturday Night Live Years, they are not there but you will feel you don't need it once you reach the end.<br /> <br /> Review by Curt Wiser Author of BOX CUTTER KILLER.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the best book I have read in a long time. I love reading about celebrities that had it rough in the beginning and worked so hard to get where they are now. It is awesome to know that he went from living in a van to being famous. I have always loved him and now I love him alot more. He thought so many times about giving up and having a normal life but he didnt, he went for what he wanted and succeeded. I would recommend this book to everyone!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"HOLY CRAP YOU GUYS ARE HAVING SEX!!!! HERE GRAB MY CONDOM"
Sexy-Space-Cowboy-04 More than 1 year ago
A deeply personal work about a genius written by that particular genius. This beautiful biography reminds everyone how complex a single individual can be... Plus is contains a badass picture of bearded Steve Martin.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I deeply enjoyed this book from beginning to end. I grew up with steve martin as a household name. I laughed during each of his stints on SNL, and every movie i saw him in. To read his memoirs and gain such insight into one of my favorite comedians/actors is...... awesome!
Fodrod More than 1 year ago
A couple years ago I had seen something about this book and became interested. I've always been a fan of Steve Martin and thought it'd be neat to learn about his life. At the time of renting this, I wasn't sure if I'd actually read it or not, because I hadn't voluntarily read a book since elementary school. But I started to read it and immediately got sucked into it. Which led me to read many more autobiographies. Steve Martin is one of the funniest comedians and this book is incredible. He discusses his ups and downs in life, as well as what it took for him to become who he is today. Along the journey of reading, you pick up advice about what you can do in your life to become who you want to be.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An insightful look at a great actor and comedian. This book sheds light on one of the best-loved and most talented comedians of our time. Steve Martin gives fascinating glimpses into his background, career and personal life. He tells his story in a funny, entertaining manner and also shares humorous anecdotes as well as some very emotional memories.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
...is NOT what Steve Martin is writing about. His talents and philosphy evolved, He was dedicated and hard-working for years, honing his routine. And, not all his bits were understood. This is a memoir about his career and NOT an expose on his personal life--if anything, you'll become aware of how private an individual he is. (And, funny (stupid) things his fans did emulating him). If you lived through this period and know Steve's routines you'll enjoy reading this book. He lets you in on how some of his most famous bits came about, what other comics were doing at the time and what made him give up stand-up. I'm a big fan, I remember his appearance on the Smother's Brothers as a young writer (A day without sunshine is like....night); the article in Rolling Stone; his performance in Dallas, Texas. I memorized all the routines on his album and thought of him as cutting edge. This is a reminder of how pervasive his popularity was at the height of his career and how he changed comedy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You have to read it for what it is: the story of how Steve Martin began--and ended--his stand-up career. Amusing!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Steve lists lovers like trophys, mentions exs, nothing truly personal revealed. A fragmented tome.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What a wonderful look into Steve Martin's life. He's always made me laugh and now I feel like I know him so much better.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
western More than 1 year ago
For those that want a serious laugh(and I mean not a gut buster but a hard gut checking laugh) then read this book!!!! You will find a candid (free from resaervation ,disguise,or reservation) then this is the book for you! Remember that the greater part of comedy is truly "Tragedy"! This book will deliver nakedness of soul mostly unsought.( If you think I mean it in the litral sense put your clothes back on he"s not gonna have sex with you!)A fine and candid read. ( No sugar intended!)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Reid1 More than 1 year ago
This is one of the best books I have ever read. Steve Martin is the man!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago