×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Bottled Up
     

Bottled Up

4.7 65
by Jaye Murray
 

See All Formats & Editions

Pip’s desperate to escape his life—he’s been skipping classes, drinking, getting high. Anything and everything to avoid his smug teachers, his sweet but needy little brother, his difficult home life. Now he’s been busted by Principal Giraldi and given an ultimatum: either he shows up for all his classes and sees a counselor after school, or

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Bottled Up 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 65 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Honestly, I had low expectations for this book based on the writing on the inside jacket; it seemed like a cliched story plot. However, I was very wrong and this book ended up being one of my favorites. The writing is emotional and excellent, and it is just an enjoyable read all around. I now believe Bottled Up deserves more recognition than it received. Every reader should get a hold of this book and would not regret it at the end.
Guest More than 1 year ago
As a teacher of reading in high school, I am constantly searching for reading material that will appeal to my students and motivate them to read. Jaye Murray's first novel, Bottled Up will definitely be one of those books. She is right on target with her main character, Pip, who is struggling with keeping his life sane while dealing with a dysfunctional family. It is obvious that she has been around young people dealing with conflict in their lives. Her descriptons of Pip's interactions with his peers and the adults in his life are genuine. The relationship that Pip has with his younger brother, Mikey, is a key component in Pip's struggle to overcome his anger and figure out what it is he wants out of life. I started reading on a Saturday afternoon and couldn't put it down until I was finished. I look forward to more selections by Ms. Murray.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked it
Ahlickssss More than 1 year ago
Great read. This is the first book I've read in about 2 years. I finished it in 2 days. The story is one that really pulls you in. A MUST read! Great for young adults, too.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Im here. BTW all toms LOVE me but ur the only one who GOT me
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Go to result two. They changed from the last time i checked
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hello.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is a great easy, fast read. The reader can really relate to Pip and you want him find out of the mess that his life is in.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Author of this book is my social worker/teacher in my school Van Nest Middle School in New York.So then one of her students were reading this book and i was just amazed. ''Is that Ms.Murray?!''I asked shocked at my discovery it was.The next thing you know I was reading the book in Recess! I could not out it down.The Principal Carol Ann Gilligan was supporting the right.As I keep my anonymous phase so I do not get into trouble,my classmates are getting more up to date in this book.Last week we met her daughter and I guess that was cool but yes.Keep getting at it Ms.Murray!My English teacher had that book and I thought it was interesting.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Bottled up by Jay Murray was a sick nasty book which means a sweet book. It is about pip and who skips class and goes and smokes weed all thee time and goes to a lot of party's. This book affected me because I have had the same problem this kid had. Pip had to go to a counselor outside of school and he party's a lot which I use too. He has a younger brother that looks up to him as do i and the worst of all I would skip class to but not to go and smoke weed I would do that outside of school like everyday. My opinion has changed about Bottle Up because at first I thought it was going to be a boring and lame book but right away it turned out to be a really good book. The author shows the reader what people can be like in real life. There are some people who don't know what it like to live in a crappy life were your dad is an alcoholic or your mom. And they fight with you every night or every other. Some people have a good home life were there is no drugs or alcohol involved and so some people don't know much about the drug or alcohol life style.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was absolutley fabulous!I got it from my school library yesterday and finished it this morning. This book tells about a boy that is hooked on drugs and his difficult life at home with an alcoholic father, and how that affects his own life.This is a great read and anybody who likes a book that they can't put down. this is definatley the book!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago