×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Bound to Danger (Deadly Ops Series #2)
     

Bound to Danger (Deadly Ops Series #2)

4.3 34
by Katie Reus
 

See All Formats & Editions

At a benefit dinner, community activist Maria Cervantes overhears two men plotting a terrorist attack that could rock Miami to its core. But before she can alert authorities, she’s almost killed in a massive explosion—and wakes up in a hospital with no memory of what happened. As the sole survivor of the attack, she is now a person of interest to the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Bound to Danger (Deadly Ops Series #2) 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 34 reviews.
Tammy-H More than 1 year ago
I liked this book from the beginning.  It took off and never slowed down.  Lots of action and emotion and no silly misunderstandings.  I liked the characters and how they worked through their problems.  I look forward to reading the other books in this entertaining series.  I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
## While I'm a huge fan of Katie's work, this book just didn't do it for me. Cade was a little too indifferent for my liking. He seemed cold and unfeeling most of the time. By the time his character showed some warmth, it was too late for me. And I didn't like that Maria kept throwing herself at him. Every encounter between them was because she persued him so heavily. Mostly though the book was about the terrorist attacks; the romance was definitely secondary. Albeit not wanting to read this one again, I will definitely still buy future books by Ms. Reus.
gigiluvsbooks More than 1 year ago
At a benefit dinner, community activist Maria Cervantes overhears two men plotting a terrorist attack that could rock Miami to its core. But before she can alert authorities, she’s almost killed in a massive explosion—and wakes up in a hospital with no memory of what happened. As the sole survivor of the attack, she is now a person of interest to the NSA—and especially to Agent Cade O’Reilly. Because Maria is the one woman Cade has never been able to forget.   Years ago, they were closer than either was willing to admit—until Cade disappeared when Maria needed him most. Now he’s sticking by her, whether she likes it or not. Because the memories locked inside her mind could hold vital clues to the next attack. Because terrorists want her dead—and because he never wants to let her go again. Review: Another great story from Ms. Reus! I love all her stories, they each tell a compelling story that at its heart is a romance between two likable characters and this story is no exception. This story literally starts out with a bang!  When Maria goes to a charity event and overhears people talking about a terrorist attack.  Afraid, Maria goes to warn someone, when the place of the event explodes.  At this point I just wanted to cry for Maria, she loses her mother and friends in the explosion.  I thought this was particularly well-written, with just the right amount of emotion to make me cry.  As Maria is the only survivor, she is put under protective custody of the NSA and Cade.  Cade and Maria had started to form a relationship years ago, but when her brother was killed, Cade felt guilty and cut off all ties with Maria.  Cade thinks he can keep this a purely professional job, but the more they are together those old feelings come to the surface and will they get in the way of Maria's safety or catching the terrorists? I loved the mystery and suspense of this story, trying to guess who was the terrorist's accomplice kept me questioning all the secondary characters.  I was on the edge of my seat for a lot of the story, as they are running down the terrorists and things are exploding and the gun fights, very action packed.  Of course their is a great romance and a few sexy scenes to keep our romantic sides happy too.  This is the second book in the series, but this can so stand alone. Another excellent story! 4.5Stars
BooksnKisses More than 1 year ago
NUMBER OF HEARTS: 4 REVIEW:  Eight years is a long time to stay away from the one you love. But that is what Cade O’Reilly did and he had his reasons. But when Maira’s name come acrossed the board as needing protection he know that he was the only one that could do it. He will do anything for Maira, except let her go this time. This time he plans to stay, but will Maira want him to after she learns of his secrets?  Bound by Danger is the second book in Katie Reus’ news Deadly Ops series. Bound by Danger is every bit as good as Targeted (bk 1). From page one there is not stop action. And even in the middle of a life and death situation Katie is able to let our hero & heroine have a great love story.  If you have not started this series and you love romance suspense I would suggest picking up a copy of Bound by Danger and Targeted.  Disclaimer:  I received a complimentary copy of the book from NetGalley & PENGUIN GROUP Berkley, NAL / Signet Romance, DAW in exchange for an honest review. This review is my own opinion and not a paid review.
LITERALADDICTION_MLO More than 1 year ago
Our Review, by LITERAL ADDICTION's Vivacious Valkyrie - Marta *Copy gifted in exchange for an honest review This is the second book in Ms Reus' series called Deadly Ops, and is set to be yet another fast paced and action packed book. This series features all American alpha heros who work in the military and for the government protecting their country and it's citizens. Each book works very well as a standalone but characters from previous stories do reappear so it's fun to catch up with all these delicious specimens of manhood . When you pick up a Deadly Ops book you are guaranteed adventure with a capital A ! Not to mention romance to get your heart racing! Maria is at a party when she overhears terrorists plotting to bomb Miami but before she can make sense of what she's heard an explosion rocks the residence and Maria wakes up in hospital with memory loss! She has survived but so many others were not as lucky and the tragedy puts Maria in even more danger . The men who set the explosion realise she knows too much to be allowed to live and are determined to find her. The NSA have to protect Maria but the agent assigned to the task is one who Maria knows only too well! Eight years ago Cade dropped out of Maria's life and she's never quite understood why. Cade had been a friend to her deceased brother but to Maria he was something more or so she thought. Now he's back in her life and there's still unresolved issues between them but Cade seems determined to keep Maria at a distance. As Maria struggles to come to terms with the aftermath of the explosion she's desperate to remember all that she heard but time is running out. The terrorist organisation have a long reach and there's a traitor close to home who puts Maria in the firing line! I do enjoy this authors work and if you are a fan of romantic suspense then this new series is bound to please. As usual Ms Reus gives us a hero to drool over as Cade is just so protective and yummy! The complicated past that the couple share is told in a very interesting way as we are treated to snippets of emails that they exchanged before the death of Maria's brother which is very inciteful and adds depth to the characters history. In some ways it's a story of star crossed lovers as events have kept them apart but sometimes things are just meant to be. In romance timing is everything and it's certainly time for Cade to realise that Maria feels like home to him! As for Maria well she's so much stronger than she realises and a very loyal and brave heroine. Whilst she may not be the most kick ass female in fiction she's no cry baby either and I liked that we see both her vulnerabilities and also her strengths. This is an action packed story, a roller coaster of emotion . If you enjoy a plot that leaves you breathless then prepare to buckle up as it's going to be a bumpy ride! There's so much happening in this book with villains who need to be stopped and yet the author even brings them to life as their motives are explained which stops them being one dimensional. I think to do that takes real talent as so often bad guys in books can just be caricatures but not here. Ms Reus has written a great story filled with romance and her signature heat! Her leading men are always on my wish list and Cade can be my lethal protector anytime!
dlsully75 More than 1 year ago
Another awesome read by Katie Reus! Bound to Danger is the 2nd book in her Deadly Ops series. I absolutely love this series! Cade O'Reilly is your typical alpha male type-which is my favorite. Give me a hot, protective, take charge male any day. I was inlove with Cade from the very beginning. He had met Maria years ago through her brother, Riel. When Riel was killed, Cade cut off all contact with her. But when he sees her name on a list as the only survivor of a terrorist bombing, he will stop at nothing to keep her safe. The book has just the right amount of action, suspense and romance in it to hook you in the very beginning and keep you wanting more all of the way to the end. I would definitely recommend this series to everyone!
ZR1000 More than 1 year ago
Lots of action and suspense in Miami! This is the second book in the Deadly Ops series but can be read as a stand-alone. Maria Cervantes runs a community center, a job that involves mixing with the affluent on occasion to obtain much needed funding. Never would she have dreamed that attending a benefits dinner she would overhear terrorists planning destruction and survive an explosion that took the life of someone she dearly loved. Being the lone survivor she is of interest to the NSA but she doesn’t remember what happened as she is suffering from shock and grief. Cade O’Reilly, an NSA agent, volunteered for the job of questioning Maria when he saw her name as the lone survivor. She is the woman he could never forget, the younger sister of his best friend, and the man who deserted her during a time of need for reasons she never knew. Nothing is going to stop him from protecting her now, as she tries to remember what happened that night before the world erupted, and she doesn’t make it easy for him to do so. This story was filled with non-stop action and suspense. The H and h were strong likable characters. The building of their relationship in the past was illustrated by interspersing emails they sent to each other years ago when Cade was in the service. This gave us insight into where their feelings in the present began from and how much each had come to mean to the other years ago. That the attraction is still there is evident and as much as they fight it they are meant to be together. They do need to work some things out between them and Cade needs to regain Maria’s trust. The author has provided us with villains this time who you can’t help but empathize with, though their ends do NOT justify their means, their motivation is not only revenge but justice. It makes you wonder what you would do in their place. Received a copy from NetGallery for early review.
aprilrenee1976 More than 1 year ago
Title: Bound to Danger Author: Katie Reus Publisher: Penguin Group Published: 08-05-2014 Pages: 352 Genre: Romantic Suspense Overall Rating: Scintillating Reviewed For: NetGalley Reviewer: April S. Maria Cervantes is someone who loves to help people. That is what she always does; helps those in need. Despite being sick, she went to this dinner that was to help raise money for her family’s organization which goes to those less fortunate. While at this dinner, Maria hears something she shouldn’t and races to get help but is too late; an explosion occurs which kills everyone but her.  Maria wakes up in a hospital with no memory of the previous day or so. When she is told she is the sole survivor, the government(NSA) want to know everything she can tell them and doesn’t seem to believe that she “can’t remember… Now Maria is in a race to remember what went down and also trying to stay alive and safe. Agent Cade O’Reilly has history with Maria and the Cervantes family. When Cade and Maria were younger, they had a unique relationship. Cade served in the military with her brother and he was very attracted to Maria. They were very close until something very terrible ripped them apart from each other ‘s lives. Cade then left and went to work for NSA. Cade refuses to think the worst of Maria and works to prove that Maria is innocent of what NSA believes; also he thinks that there is more to the bombing than meets the eye. Also Cade wants a second chance with Maria; he knows he has to explain to Maria why he left her all those years ago the way he did ...plus keep her safe from harm with this new threat. The action in this book is fresh-it is not what you would read somewhere else. The romance is hot. The hero and heroine get the second chance to renew their love with each other. Katie Reus keeps the plot flowing and paints her scenes well. I felt like I was really there with her characters. I highly recommend this book. Cant wait to read more in the Deadly Ops series. My ratings: 4.9 stars **I received this book from Netgalley for my honest review***
grandmareads102 More than 1 year ago
Miami is under siege. A deadly terrorist attack at a palatial mansion has left only one survivor. Maria Cervantes doesn't remember what happened and why she was found outside. When Cade O'Reilly learned what happened, he asked to be assigned to protect her. He was her brother's best friend and has loved her for years. What happens next is a heart stopping adventure written as only Katie Reus can. The chemistry between Maria and Cade is very sensual. Their passion takes a backseat to their determination to track down those responsible for this atrocity. Will they get a second chance to find love together? The suspense is non-stop and has many twists and turns that had me completely hooked. The glamorous setting added to the tense atmosphere as does the powerful dialogue. Jack Stone is familiar from the first Deadly Ops book, Targeted. I love that Katie Reus combines a passionate romance with a tense action filled thriller. The story is so powerful and the plot so possible that I couldn't stop reading Bound To Danger. This book is a keeper. I received a copy of Bound to Danger in exchange for an honest and unscripted review.
PJ16 More than 1 year ago
2nd book in the series and the 2nd book for me with this author. I really enjoyed this book. She has great characters with a great story, suspense, sexual tension, action and a little twist on the plot. I really like this series and can't wait to see Levi's book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love a good suspense and romance novel, this one kept me going the whole way. Cade and Maria had developed a relationship years ago when he was in the military. After Maria's brother died under Cade's watch, the guilt haunted him. When he knew Maria was in danger he immediately came to her aid. You watched their relationship rekindle as he protected her. Interesting story line and good action.
krissysbookshelf More than 1 year ago
There's no way you can go wrong with Katie Reus. Her books and her characters are the best. You feel for Maria and Cade. Their relationship is believable, their journey is one with several complexities that even includes villains you can't help but feel for. The love journey is filled with ups and downs and no matter where you enter in this installment Katie keeps you right up with where they stand. Trilling romance, heat, and suspense~ Katie is a genius that is completely in her element.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
BooksAndSpoons More than 1 year ago
The story took a hold of me from page one, and was so captivating, that I read the book in one sitting. Amazing, heart racing, on the edge of your seat type of constant action! I'm breathless just thinking about it. It is explosive, fast paced, riveting, terrifying - all that you could want a suspense story to be. And the love story between Maria and Cade. Yes, it is HOT and steamy, but at the same time, so beautifully written, it just made me swoon and 'Ahhh' through the book. When Cade's fear for Maria's life was described, I could nearly feel the pain he was feeling at the moment. The images in the story are so vivid, that it felt like I was there, in Miami, chasing the terrorist with Cade's team. Absolutely a keeper for all romantic suspense fans! ~ Five spoons all the way!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ToryMichaels More than 1 year ago
This is yet another fantastic book from Ms. Reus. The woman can write well, be it in contemporary romantic suspense (Bound to Danger) or paranormal (recent dragon-shifter book). Now, about THIS book. Maria is an interesting character. I liked that she was born wealthy but she didn't just sit back on her laurels. She felt the duty to help make the world a better place, what with the community center she was so closely tied to. I really enjoyed that she cared about the people. She also had to deal with so much emotionally over the course of the book (the loss of people she loved in the first terror attack, betrayal by a family friend, and so forth), it's amazing she came through it sane. Cade - gotta love a military man. He's tough and ready to protect. He had his own emotional scars to deal with and it was lovely to see how Ms. Reus gradually showed us the WHY behind his reason for ending his budding relationship with Maria so many years ago. The story - This book constantly kept me guessing. It was driving me batty trying to figure out who had betrayed Maria and her family. I didn't figure it out until it was revealed. The ticking time bomb (metaphorically speaking) of the impending terror plot unfolding definitely made this book flow for me. I even enjoyed the occasional foray into the minds of the terrorists. While I don't condone violence for pretty much anything, I actually respected the reasons behind what they were doing. Ms. Reus definitely used the old adage "Villains are the heroes of their own stories" well in this book. So, for what it's worth, this is a fantastic book and I hope people will take a look at it! Book provided by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
Kayla_Brianne More than 1 year ago
OH MY GOODNESS!!! I loved this book! Once again, Katie Reus completely knocked it out of the park! The chemistry between Cade and Maria was absolutely amazing and this storyline was exciting and full of suspense...and of course steaming romance!  Maria was such a great heroine! She had every reason to curl up in a ball and just cry but she kept fighting and fighting, even when she had nothing left in her to fight! Her strength and grace came across every page and made her such a lovable character. Cade was PERFECTION! Seriously, that's all I can say to perfectly describe him! He is strong and fierce and yet is so haunted by his past that he also has the heartbreaking component present in his mannerisms. He will do anything to protect Maria and I loved reading about the suspenseful events they found themselves in!
Sandy-thereadingcafe More than 1 year ago
4,75 stars BOUND TO DANGER is the second release in Katie Reus’s adult, contemporary Deadly Ops action/suspense series focusing on a group of Special Ops agents. Although it is the second storyline in the series, it can be read as a stand alone without any difficulty. This is community activist Maria Cervantes and NSA agent Cade O’Reilly’s storyline. The premise focuses on a terrorist attack at a local mansion where the rich and famous had gathered. The only survivor is Maria Cervantes and the NSA wants to know why and what she knows. Enter Cade O’Reilly-Maria’s brother’s former commander in Afghanistan-and the man that walked out of Maria’s life eight years earlier. BOUND TO DANGER is a second chance storyline that places Maria in the line of fire when the terrorist cell that perpetrated the explosion set their sights on other targets including Maria. How much does Maria know and how did she survive the explosion?  The relationship between Maria and Cade is a friends to lovers/second chance story. Maria and Cade became email ‘pen pals’ while Cade was stationed in Afghanistan with Maria’s brother Riel. As the lone survivor of a rescue mission that went horribly wrong, Cade has had to deal with the guilt for eight years-and in doing so, walked out of Maria’s life without any explanation as to why.  Now that Maria has been targeted and questioned, Cade’s protective alpha side wants Maria safe so that he can rekindle what was started years before. The secondary characters include the members of the terrorist organization, their intended victims, and the men and women who serve in the NSA. Jack Stone from TARGETED (Deadly Ops #1) joins Cade and the team in Miami which gives the series a sense of cohesion and familiarity. Katie Reus has the amazing ability of pulling the reader onto the front lines of the action and drama. BOUND TO DANGER is a fast paced, intelligent and spirited story of suspense, mystery, intrigue and murder. We watch as two people are pulled closer together by their wants, their needs and their building love.  It is a story of heartbreak and grief; friendship and love; betrayal and revenge.  What goes on behind closed doors will become the catalyst for an organization that wants revenge for acts so revolting, that anyone who stands in their way will become fair game in an international war.
Justpeachy1 More than 1 year ago
Katie Reus brings readers the second book in her romantic suspense, Deadly Ops series, Bound To Danger. A benefit, a humanitarian and terrorist plot to bomb Miami takes the action to new limits in this novel. Living with a former soldier and current Swat team sniper, gives Reus a lot of credibility when it comes writing about this subject. She has her own in-house source and that makes all the difference. The romance is hot, the suspense is riveting. Reus gives readers a face paced, action filled story, that they won't be able to put down for a second! What I liked: I have recently been reading more romantic suspense than I have in the past. I find that I like the fast pace, the extreme circumstances and the passionate characters. When I'm reading a book like this I look for several things. Is there a good balance between the romance and the suspense aspects of the book? Do the scenarios depicted seem authentic or contrived? Are the explanations and actions informative enough for the reader to understand? Do the hero and heroine live up to the story line? There really is a lot to writing about this kind of subject and Katie Reus gives reader all that and more in Bound To Danger. The romantic aspects of the book take a slight backseat to all the suspense, in this particular book, but that's not a bad thing. I think Reus' series is a little lighter on the romance in general given the seriousness of the story lines. Readers get to learn a lot about Maria and Cade and their past relationship, through e-mails they sent to each other when Cade was deployed in Afghanistan. I thought that was a great touch for the digital age we live in. The love scenes are hot and spicy which is what one would expect with two very passionate lead characters. Is is conceivable that terrorist could bomb Miami? Absolutely! Would the NSA take this seriously? Given 911, I would say so. I thought Reus planned each part the action brilliantly. I loved the insight into the leader of the terrorist plot. Reus was able to make him real. She gives the reader a glimpse into his mind and motivations. You can't really sympathize with him, but the reader will definitely understand his actions. When it comes to books about special operations and that sort of thing, there is a certain amount of jargon and wording that most people are not exposed to everyday. One of the little perks that Reus adds to this book is a definition of necessary terms and words at the beginning of each chapter. Who knew that 'wet work' meant a murder involving spilled blood. Sounds like common sense, but not until after you hear the definition. What I didn't like: Most of plot lines were carefully laid out and believable. But there was one thing that was just to coincidental for me. Cade was the lone survivor of an attack in Afghanistan, which left him withe serious survivor guilt. Maria becomes the lone survivor in the terrorist bombing. I suppose that idea fostered some understanding between them, but I don't think it was very likely. Bottom Line: I really like this one. The characters stuck out to me. The romance was there but not overpowering. The suspense was fantastic and there were several little things that made me enjoy it even more, the e-mail flashbacks, the definitions at the beginning of the chapters. It's all in the details. A great addition to the series!
JeyCeeSz More than 1 year ago
Even if it’s part of the Deadly Ops series, this fast paced story can be read as a stand alone with no problem whatsoever, and if you read the previous book, you get a glimpse of Jack and Sophie and a reference to their story. In this book, María Cervantes overhears a terrorist plot that targets Miami while at a benefit dinner. Moments after she runs and before she can tell anyone what she heard, the whole venue explodes into pieces killing everyone inside. She wakes up in the hospital with no memories of even being at the benefit and the news that she is now a person of interest of the NSA, represented by Cade O’Reilly. Cade and Maria are long lost friends, and almost more. Their relationship ended when Cade disappeared, breaking María’s heart.  Now, Cade won’t leave María’s side, whether she likes it or not, and not only because the terrorists want her dead. There are two sides to this story: the action and the romance. The action is entertaining, could be even good; the romance however, deters from the plotline. So much so that I found myself skimming the romance and reading everything else. I enjoyed the resource of past emails to portray their previous relationship and reveal the deepness of their involvement in tads and bits; but the copy I got from Netgalley was poorly formatted and reading the emails was an effort and a little distracting. I hope the published e-book has those problems fixed. If you end up buying this, and the copy you get has the same problems mine does, just check the formatting of the email, if it has different fonts within the same email, just read the last part first, and then the beginning. Like I said, a little annoying. Ms. Reus develops the characters well within boundaries, so their reactions are somewhat correct for the character. However, it seems a little clinical: their reactions end up predictable. The highlight on this subject is the development of one of the antagonist characters. Most of the time, bad guys are just bad and we don’t get to see inside their head; Ms. Reus develops one of the bad guys in a way that we can understand where he comes from, not really sympathize and in no way justify, but understand somehow how he got to where he is. That is what makes the story good in my opinion. My overall opinion is tainted by the fact that I didn’t fall for the romantic or hot scenes, but don’t let it fool you: it’s a fine summer read.
wkonsunshine More than 1 year ago
Now this is how you write a romantic suspense story.  Katie Reus delivers a multilayered, suspenseful story punctuated by her trademark hot romance.   Things I really liked about this book: 1. I enjoyed the multiple perspectives.  Not only do we get the point of view of Maria and Cade, but also the guy with the finger on the trigger of a bomb.  The terrorist is not really sympathetic, but understanding the reasons why he is targeting Miami gives another welcomed layer to the story.  He is not painted as merely an extremist or lunatic, but as a calculating man seeking revenge for what was done to his family.  2. I also liked how the author uses emails to reconstruct the past relationship between the two main characters. I appreciate this technique to show their evolution.  Because they are young adults at the time, the dialogue is innocent and sweet in contrast to the experienced adults they are today.  3. I read enough romantic suspense and special ops books to be familiar with the terminology, but I thought it was very helpful to have definition of terms at the beginning of each chapter. Phrases like "wet work", "soft target", and "collateral damage" are unfortunately a part of common vocabulary today with the tensions around the world, so having it defined in lay terms is very appreciated.  4. I think that many of Katie Reus' books would make fantastic movies.  There are twists and turns, chases and blasts, and intensely romantic moments between characters.  Jerry Bruckheimer are you listening?  Stop making Pirates of the Caribbean movies and pick up a Katie Reus' book for consideration! One thing I didn't like so much: Often in books with an über alpha, the character feels unworthy of love because of their actions in the past.  It is not a unfamiliar theme.  It is a good thing that Cade has broad shoulders because he carries a lot of guilt, especially when he is around or thinking about Maria. The theme and the language becomes a little repetitive.   IN A NUTSHELL: Book two in the Deadly Ops series is a WINNER!  Katie Reus comes back with a novel worth your time investment and may be a little sacrificed sleep. 
Mich_Mc More than 1 year ago
4.5 Stars This is the second book in the Deadly Ops series from Katie and it's true to form - full of action and suspense with deadly, yet hunky heroes and strong and likeable heroines. Cade walked out of Maria's life 8years ago without any real explanation of why, now Maria's life is in danger as she is the lone survivor of a terrorist attack and it's Cade's job to find out what she knows while keeping her safe from harm. I truly enjoy Katie's romantic suspense titles, she has a talent for writing her heroines into danger while building tension and heat between the characters involved. I loved the passion between Cade & Maria, it felt natural and it definitely enhanced an already enjoyable plot. I loved catching up with the characters we met in Targeted (Book 1) an I'm looking forward to seeing where the series goes next! ARC received from publisher in exchange for an honest review.
JoRead More than 1 year ago
Dangerously Great page turner!! I'm just transitioning to the Rom suspense genre and couldn't have come across a better author than Katie Reus to relish in this new-to-me genre. She scored big in my "book" with this story.  Cade and Maria are reunited after a bomb attack kills Maria's mother and causes Maria's life to enter some kind of life and death situation. Cade, a NSA special agent, jumps at the opportunity to help and see Maria Cervantes, and old friend who could've been more than that at one time but decided to break ties with her following her brother's death while they were both deployed in Afghanistan. She never forgot how he just left her to deal with her brother's death when they were such good friends, keeping up the friendship through emails and mailed gifts. The build up of their relationship was created consistently and very believable. Of course we know they would end up together in the end but the tension was always welcomed ;) I always start my reviews with the interaction of the main characters because that is a very important part of the book for me. However, the action packed, adventure, fast-paced, suspense-filled plot that you find from page one will leave you wanting more. The antagonists are not one-dimensional as may be in other stories. Sometimes you can even feel their pain and understand the reason behind their vendettas. Other characters filled out the pages superbly, convincingly and again, very believable. I mean, I'm no expert when it comes to how any governmental agent should act but the way they are presented gives me no reason to think they would react differently given the same circumstances. I feel there is not a moment wasted in meaningless scenes and  it all belong in the book. Totally enjoyable and entertaining read.  *I was given a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review*
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Almost every review of this book received five stars from someone that received a free copy! Why should I believe them when they were basically paid to give a wonderful reiew?? B&N needs to stop this practice and only allow reviews from people that purchase the book. This would also get rid of the 'gamers' and kids that use Nook as their e-mail.