×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Boys Lie: How Not to Get Played
     

Boys Lie: How Not to Get Played

3.9 51
by Belisa Vranich, Psy.D., Holly Eagleson
 

See All Formats & Editions

Guys Can Be Dogs . . .

So consider this book the ultimate BS detector. In today's hookups without-heart society, this brutally honest guide reveals the most common lies boys tell and the truths behind them so you and your friends can separate the good guys from the bad.

'Everyone else is doing it.' 'I won't show anyone these pictures.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Boys Lie: How Not to Get Played 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 51 reviews.
buffalomom More than 1 year ago
I bought this for my 13 year old step daughter after she had some dealings (just over the phone/texts, thankfully!) with a boy. This book is quite frank and you may want to peruse it before giving it to your child, both to scan for content and to prepare yourself for questions that may arise! I would recommend this to any parent of a young lady who is navigating their teens in this day and age.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Okay.. keep your viginity.your heart will be less broken. Guys and gils are both pervs. So they will talk heck on you and your body(if you had sex with him or her) get what im sayin? Hope this helps!!:)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book expresses and describes the lies many teenage boys tells their girlfriends or FWB's at some point but me and my bestfriend are guilty too. We may be what common girls refer to as "sluts" or "hos" but in our opinion we arent. We love sex, period. Were always safe and make sure guys respect limits we set, as in we decide when and if anything goes beyond first base bevause obvi most guys dont have limits. I admit to having sex with two virgins because they were very hot and so sweet. The one agreed with me that it wasnt anything serious or long term-just a hookup were still friends and ive known him forever hes like my guy bff. The other guy is a completely different story..i told him i wanted to be with him for a really long time and that i loved him just to get laid by a hot blonde surfer boy..it worked but i broke his heary. Now i have definitely had my heartbreaks and even a mentally abusive boyfriend so some guys are just d-bags no doubt but i have broken hearts too as had my bestfriend so girls can be criminals too in the "i love you now take your pants off baby" department, all in all i found this book funny and sometimes helpful though(:
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Books look interesting when they are about sex but they are very inappropriate! I don't like this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you want sex come to nore elementry
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Although guys do sometimes do that to girls, girls do that sometimes to. I have done that before. Im not saying im a slut bc ive only done it twice but i hav told a guy i luv him and want to be with him than right after we had sex i never returned any of his calls or spoken to him. I agree with the guy two posts below me not every guy u see is gonna break ur heart and it can really go both ways.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It really depends on how you feel. Thought I lovrd tyis guy. I mean we haf a wedding date and evrything! Sounds prety stupid when ur only in HS but when u could possibly be prego youd have to get upset about it.
La_Femme_Readers More than 1 year ago
Honestly, I don't read many self-help books. Most of the time, I think I have it all figured out, even with boys. Well, after reading this hysterically funny self-help book, Boys Lie: How Not to Get Played, I realized I don't know squat! Yes, I might be happily engaged, but that doesn't mean I shouldn't be alert for the possible future lies. Belisa and Holly are a match made in writing. They both are absolutely straightforward, real and so damn entertaining. Their points introduced everything from sex, relationships and drugs. In all seriousness, this book might be written with a sarcastic undertone, but all the elements are factual and eye opening. Now, in all fairness, not all guys are jerks, they clearly state, "it is not a manifesto against guys." It's just a book on how to deal with boys who do use sorry excuse lies. I, like most girls, probably came across these lies once or twice in our lives. So, it was truly amusing to see firsthand how not to fall for the trap. Back in the day, I knew a lot of girls who were naive and always said, "oh that will never happen to me." If only I had this book in my possession to prove how frequently these lines were being used. In every chapter, the authors presented a lie, that indicated what the pages were going to be about. I thought the creativity behind the one liners was pure genius. I want to share a few of my favorites (if you're under sixteen, close your eyes) - "It wasn't rape-you seemed into it." / "I could be with someone hotter, but I chose you." / "If you can't have an orgasm with me, than there's something wrong with you." How humorous are those lines? I couldn't stop reading them to my fiancé! Okay I think I expressed how thrilled I was about this book. Overall, the funniest and informative self-help book for OLDER teens and even young adults ever! I don't necessarily think it's for young teens, the sexual content might be too excessive.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thank you!!! Thats what i was thinking
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What happened to mine friends? Im so wonelyX'0 Where'd chu all go? Im so wonely :'(:'(:'(X'0 <p> <p> <p> <p> <p> <p>EXCEPT NOT FOR YOU NICK YOU LOW DOWN ROTTEN WRETCHED HORRIBLE CHEATER OF A FAKE IM SO TICKED WITH YOU. AND YES IF YOU EVER WONDER I DID GIVE UP ON YOU - AND IF I EVER HEAR FROM YOU AGAIN...... LETS JUST HOPE I DONT.<br> NICK ILL HATE CHU TIL THE DAY I...... WELL....... PROBABLY AS LONG AS I REMEMBER. <br> 3rdkid
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Im soo sory for leaving. My nook was completely dead and my little brother tripped over the charger while it was charging and cracked the charger port. I had to send it to New Jersey to be fixed and just got it back today. Please forgive me? I missed all of you, especially 3rdkid. And when I get back everyones mad at me (except MBJ) sorry if I got that wrong bud. I want 3rd kid to know I had no intention of making her feel abanded. Please forgive me?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hey guys did i miss something and who is Nick
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Woah, 3rdkid! Ur lucky she didnt swear there, Nick. Cuz i think thts how she feels about you. You dont wanna kno wht the rest of us think of u!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Yea.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thats great.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
He actually had the nerve to ask for me back after he lied to my face it sucked
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
... Not exactly true! Not all boys are deceitful like the description mentions! Honestly, you jjust have to know the person and their character and stuff.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hey my name is Roxas ive seen some of thw reviews and i would never lie like that to my girlfriend. Trust me ive seen boys abuse other girls and i dont like how they do that. So i hope i came through 2 some of you. If you dont believe me reply 2 me if you dont. I know how it feels for soneone not wanting 2 believe you, alot of people dont believe me. Anyway plz reply to Roxas if you believe or disbelieve me. I wont mind
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
G
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Add me i give advice i listen im a friend :3
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Is this book good? Plz, someone write a reveiw.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I think this book is a great sex educator so lets not be picky
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It wont let me have 2 comments in a row, i put two and only the second one showed up so it doesnt make any sence~ Benjamin
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Onix in cloyster congrats if u get the refrence
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Im here