×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Brave New Girl
     

Brave New Girl

4.3 36
by Louisa Luna
 

See All Formats & Editions

A fourteen-year-old trying to find her way in the world, Doreen is as much an outcast at school as she is at home. Marginalized by her peers, misunderstood by her parents, and mourning the loss of her older brother who disappeared when she was just a child, Doreen finds solace in her fierce love of music and in her best friend, Ted.
But when her older sister

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Brave New Girl 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 36 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was very disapointing. I thought it would be good because the people on this site seemed to enjoy it, but it was just weird. There was a cuss word in every other sentence and there really wasn't a plot. I couldn't even bring myself to finish it. I wouldn't recommend this book, but if you still want to read it, check it out from the library. There's no point in wasting your money.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Brave New Girl Louisa Luna Doreen¿s family doesn¿t understand her her dads domineering, her moms a fluttering mess, and her ¿perfect¿ sister primps and preens while endlessly criticizing Doreen¿s flannel shirts and lack of fashion sense. To add to this the kids at school thinks she is a social reject, since she is somewhat of a tomboy and her only friend is another outcast, Ted. The only thing that keeps Doreen going is the thought that she might one day see her brother again. Her dad kicked him out of the house at the age of 4, making Doreen¿s memories vague at best. When she finds a postcard from Henry to her parents, it gave her more hope that he is still alive and that they might one day meet as she wanted. As Doreen endlessly struggles day in and day out, she encounters her sister¿s boyfriend, Mathew. Over time he makes her feel accepted although this was only a trick to have his way with her. After Doreen¿s crisis her whole world came crashing down, which made her dysfunctional and troubled family realize that that they had to forge a stronger more forgiving unit. I would strongly suggest this book for any teenager who feels like they have obstacles in their life. Although this book may have some harsh language, it is used to emphasize a point and without it you would not have gotten the feeling expressed in the writing I would say this story is for young adults and is very strongly recommended.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was a great read, and I'm glad that I read it, though it did remind me of another book called The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky. Brave New Girl is about a girl trying to find her way in her complicated life while she deals with troubling teen problems.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Its based on a girl, 14 to be exact, living a teenage life. At the beginning, things were simple and easy, but as time goes on things get more intense, stranger, and intoxicated than ever before. But as the struggle goes on, she learnes more and more about herself, her family and her friends. Oh, and alot of drama, lots and lots of drama.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I give this book three stars because it is a good book and worth reading. Doreen is a well developed character however, I find some of her experiences a little over dramatic in comparison to real life. This book is a good short read with a kind of mixed message but still worth the time. It did remind me sort of like The Perks Of Being A Wallflower by Stephen Chbolsky. This book however, lacked the same knowledge and inspiration of The Perks... I still give it three stars and thats rather good on my scale so you should read it too.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I stayed up until 4 in the morning reading this book; I really couldn't put it down. The author did an excellent job at portraying the life of a teen, with none of that fake-sounding stuff you find in most young adult novels. I hope Luna writes more books like this in the future.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book! Though it was confusing at some points, it is sharply written and reminded me of thoughts that went through my head when I was Doreens age. I would recommed this book to many people.
Guest More than 1 year ago
All these series sort of books are awesome for teens. They seem so real and you don't want to put them down!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Thank god I didn't spend my own money on this and it was given to from a friend...I honestly tried to read this book, but I just couldn't get past the first 20 pages...I didn't like the concept, I didn't like some of the things said, and I hated that the dialogue wasn't put in quotes. It confused me so much I didn't know when someone was talking or thinking! I want to enjoy the books I read, not have to make sure I don't miss the next line someone says. This book overall was very poorly done and too bad to be true! I'm glad that some people liked it, because I sure didn't.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this book and it was pretty good but not awesome. The character takes you back to a time when being a young girl ment so many things and you thought that the world sucked...it was raw and that's the best thing about it
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was the best book I've read in a long time. It really takes you into the mind of a not so typical teenager whose life is changing dramatically. I recommend this book to any teenage girl.
Guest More than 1 year ago
For Jesse, who said this book could have been written by a 13 year old, excellent observation. It could have been, and I think that's where we find its appeal. What an incredible journey this girl has in the book. The reader is taken through a rainbow of emotions, some that every teenager will at one time experience and others that are unique to her and her situation (you'll see what I mean when you read the story). I may have to agree that this book wasn't as good as "The Perks of Being a Wallflower", but Louisa Luna definitely wrote something worth reading. Enjoy!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the best book i ever read.It was so good it only took me less than a day to read it, i reccommend this book to EVERYONE! just read it ! OK!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is Ms. Luna's debut novel, and what an excellent way to begin your writing career! The narrator is a sarcastic, sullen fourteen year old we can all relate to. It's a brilliant sort of "coming of age" novel that has a painful, poignant end. I very much look forward to more books from this author.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was OK at best. It was not good literature at all - I feel like this was something that a 13-year-old could have written. Obviously, the author remembers what it's like to be an adolescent girl, but remembering's not enough. The writer has to be able to write about it in a compelling way; this book wasn't compelling, it was boring & way too slow. It only became interesting at the end but the plot was so predictable that it didn't really hold my interest. The only reason I didn't put this book down & pick up something of substance is because my friend's book is being optioned by MTV & he wanted me to read the books in its line. This book was no "perks of being a wallflower", I can tell you that. The main character was whiny & bratty & she complained about everyone, which got really tiring. If this was supposed to be a critique of modern youth culture, it was inaccurate & disappointing.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was so great. I red it in a few hours. I read it over the phone to my friend and she wouldnt let me get of the phone with her she loved it so much. The things that happen in this book you can totally relate and it leaves you shocked at some things. It was really funny too. I wish I had a friend like Ted. This is a great book. I loved it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
this book put me in the hospital from laughing so hard and it was a good book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is the most amazing book i have ever read. It is so like the real world there is today. And the fact they never came straight out and told you some of the stuff, it made you think. I give it 2 thumbs up, and would tell anyone to read this book, especially a teenage girl.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was a great book. I would deffinatly recommend to any person. Although a lil confusing at times but in teh end very good.
Guest More than 1 year ago
bave new girl is one of the best books i have ever read it is one om my fav. book i saw it on mtv and it sounded really good. so i had to read it and i couldnt put it down it is a grate book and i can relate to some of the stuff doreen goes through on the book book
Guest More than 1 year ago
i died laughing thru this whooooooole book. wonderful.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Louise Luna did an excellent job with writing 'Brave New Girl'. The characters, the situations, and the concepts really seem to fit in with what teens go through today. The funny thing is that after I read the book, I spotted a grungy looking girl with her best guy friend hanging out and just doing the typical slacking off. And those two reminded me of Doreen and Ted so much, that now I wonder if it was written for them. It's still an awesome book, though! Can't wait to read mor
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was a modern, realistic coming of age novel. Doreen is comical, angry girl dealing with alienation. I've read better books, but this is ok. Worth a read
Guest More than 1 year ago
Doreen has become one of my most favorite characters of all time. She is simple and complicated all at once. I would love to be best friends with her. She isn't trendy or all punk either. She is just who she is, which makes her Doreen and makes her stand out. Pick this book up, you'll always remember this terrific piece of fiction and how you didn't want to put it down!!!!!!!