×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Bread Bible
     

Bread Bible

4.0 29
by Rose Levy Beranbaum
 

See All Formats & Editions

The new baking masterwork from the author of The Cake Bible and The Pie and Pastry Bible.The Bread Bible gives bread bakers 150 of the meticulous, foolproof recipes that are Rose Levy Beranbaum's trademark. Her knowledge of the chemistry of baking, the accessibility of her recipes, and the incomparable taste of her creations make this book invaluable for home cooks

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Bread Bible 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 29 reviews.
MissEileen More than 1 year ago
Who comes up with this stuff? Honestly? It's crazy and fun! I am 43 years old and retired. I have tons of time on my hands and love to cook. So I tried a few recipes out of my "regular" cook books with great success and decided to move forward with "The Bread Bible". I wanted to learn how to make baguettes. I received the book and began to read it, and my eyes started to cross. I realized if I was going to seriously bake bread, I was going to have to learn a lot, and I had a great textbook in my hands to show me the way. The way the book is presented, makes the task just a process to complete, if you are good at following precise directions. The book explains why each process is executed and how to execute it. Rose Levy Beranbaum puts a lot of herself into the book. She explains how recipes came to be. Why she changes them, how trial and error, made the recipe. You can tell she actually came up with every recipe in this book, or made many of the few recipes she gives credit to others for. While I do have a fully stocked gourmet kitchen and pantry, by following the book I found myself making a variety of other purchases. I found my self ordering special flour and yeast from online suppliers, dough rising containers, specialty pans, etc. I did not have to to achieve good results, but found by following Rose's advice in the book, it made a significant difference. And learning why and how the small things did make a difference and noticing what the difference is, is just pure joy. This book is for the accomplished cook that is wanting to take specialty learning to the next step. Oh and some of this bread is really, really good! Enjoy
pittsfordmom More than 1 year ago
About a year ago my husband decided to start making his own bread and rolls. He experimented with different recipes, but never acheived the results he was looking for. When I saw this online I knew it was the perfect gift--I didn't realize what I was getting our family into!! For several days we had all sorts of yeast type things growing all over the kitchen. He was online searching for baking stones and rising baskets. I was a little crazy, but glad that he had something to take his mind off his stressful job for the government. Now it is two months later and he has developed a more calmness about the bread baking. He has make wonderful, crusty loaves at least 3 times a week and they are better than any bakery or restaurant. We don't buy bread anymore. But we do buy a few different kinds of yeast and flour! This is a great gift!!
hobbyOL More than 1 year ago
every recipe is explained in a way it make sense. It got a lot of great information and great recipes of coarse. this book for serious only.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you are a seasoned bread baker or want to become one then this is the only book you need.
lvnturtles More than 1 year ago
This book never fails. I am not an experienced baker, but anytime I want to try a new bread, I use this. It is excellent. I have the paperback version which I purchased from B&N 5 years ago. I practically have the banana bread recipe memorized, but have also tried the dinner rolls, various breads, egg bagels, burger buns, & more all with rousing success. I highly recommend this even if you are "just wondering" if you could / should try it.
pittwedge More than 1 year ago
I had never baked bread before and decided to start. I borrowed this book from the library and after the successful first loaf I knew I needed to own this book. The recipes may seem complicated, but really make you feel comfortable with the process. The only thing better than this book is the bread you'll bake!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is great. Mom got it out of the library in March 2007, and it hasn't been back to the library since. We think it is an essential accesory for people who like to eat what they cook themselves. #1 on Mom's Christmas list. To heck with Wonderbread!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This cookbook's instructions are often trying and confusing. Sometimes you think you are being told to add all ingredients, then find out that isn't the case upon further reading of the instructions. There are too many other good baking books to be annoyed by this one. Also, many of the recipes take days to assemble.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Jennlvs2read More than 1 year ago
I'm reading The Bread Bible and it seems there are all these steps that are not necessary in making bread. Knead it for 5 minutes, stop and let it rest for 20 minutes and then knead it again for 10? This is just an example, but with this method it will take even longer than all day to make! It is a beautiful book and it looks nice on my coffee table.
SeaDogJF More than 1 year ago
Wonderful addition to any cookbook library. Easy to follow instructions.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
DianneIA More than 1 year ago
Was full of ideas and easy to follow instructions...Loved it
Kaylan More than 1 year ago
This is a book that has inspired me, taught me step by step, given me tons of resources and information of things I would need and where to get them as well as inspiration to try new breads beyond what is now my comfort zone, thanks to Rose Levy Beranbaum. I read it a lot in the beginning and took notes. Now, I read it a little every day or so to refine my knowledge and understanding. With each new day of reading, I learn something I didn't know before, and I reinforce or better understand what I previously read. I keep it in arms reach at all times. I am still learning, and her book has a lot to teach! I love it, and I would give it to a beginner, which is what I am and was, or an experienced bread maker because of all the resources she provides as well as first hand knowledge of what has worked best in her bread baking. The book is a comprehensive and thorough coverage of bread and bread making. I started baking bread around Christmas of this past year 2008 and I now have many people who ask to buy my bread! I love to give it as gifts tied with a pretty wired ribbon. There is nothing quite as delicious as a fresh piece of good homemade bread!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago