×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Breadwinner (Breadwinner Series #1)
     

The Breadwinner (Breadwinner Series #1)

4.3 117
by Deborah Ellis
 

See All Formats & Editions

The first book in Deborah Ellis’s riveting Breadwinner series is an award-winning novel about loyalty, survival, families, and friendship under extraordinary circumstances during the Taliban’s rule in Afghanistan. Eleven-year-old Parvana lives with her family in one room of a bombed-out apartment building in Kabul, Afghanistan’s capital

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Breadwinner (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition) 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 117 reviews.
veronica kenny More than 1 year ago
I loved it. Read it when I was in fourth grade and it still mesmerizes me. And I'm in the seventh grade. Beautiful. Makes you think past the things you hear.
ArMason More than 1 year ago
The Breadwinner by Deborah Ellis is the story of a young girl who by nothing more than an accident of birth was born into a time period of war in constrictive Afghanistan society. This girl who did her best to Live and care for her family the only way she could, by pretending to be a boy. I have read many books with similar story lines especially realistic historical fiction about other wars in other time periods that deal with a young girl dressing as a boy to survive. What makes The Breadwinner stand out to me is that this is the first book I have come across personally that deals with the struggles of a family in Afghanistan, let alone being right after the Taliban took control of the nation. This book has a unique way of showing from a first person perspective the lives of women in this society and how the Taliban was able to exploit already tight social norms, to create the world Parvana story takes place. In my opinion this book would be most beneficial to be read to children ages ten to twelve. My reasoning for this is that the main character Parvana is eleven years old and while I agree that this book has the potential to greatly impact any age group because children ten, eleven, and twelve are so close to the age of Parvana they can most closely relate to imagining what they would do in her situation and this will hopefully open their eyes a little wider to the fact that there is a whole world out there beyond their own ways of life. I will have this book in my classroom in the future. Ideally this book will be part of a unit in either a 6th or 7th grade classroom as a reading group book or for 5th grade I would read this book aloud to the class. This book would be part of a unit either dealing with diversity or war. I would makes sure to tell parents about the books in the unit before beginning this unit about either diversity or war. I truly think that The Breadwinner by Deborah Ellis is a worthy book to have in the classroom and would encourage others to read this book. I will suggest to other teachers that they should consider adding The Breadwinner to their classroom libraries and curriculum.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Have to get super good
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am sorry to say this book is soooo boring dont read it. It stinks like a rotton egg!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Its ok... It was boring.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was horrible it bored me to death
LaneyDC More than 1 year ago
When you become a teen u start to turn a little selfish and lose sight in what is real. It showed u that ur life is mot as horrivle d that u didint havrto go through ejat poor parvana did. She had her days but always jad her head held high
Anonymous 7 months ago
Such a great book based on the real world !!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I had to read this book for my school over the summer. I have to admit. Its is one of the top ten I love to read. But it is VERY gruesome(excuse my spelling) :p
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cool book makeing you want to read more each time you open it up
Alison_CHMS_14 More than 1 year ago
     Very Descriptive   I thought Mud City by Deborah Ellis was great! Deborah Ellis used very descriptive words in the writing of this book. I liked how she describes what Shauzia is doing  because when you read the book you feel what Shauzia is going through throughout the story. For example, when Shauzia was on the streets of Peshwar trying to make money, a man gives her money but then frames her of thieft and the police men take her away. I felt bad for her because when she got to the jail they took all her money that she made. Deborah Ellis also uses descriptive words when the characters are talking to each other. For example, when Shauzia goes into the jail and the boys that were there describe what it was like in the jail for the long time they had been in for. Overall, it was a good, descriptive book that I think everyone would enjoy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am on chapter two but so far it is good. We got it from our 6th grade teacher mrs. Weinrich at north pines middle school.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book! My 6th grader has been raised with an appreciation for others and a healthy dose of the way the world works. It's sad that other kids her age were raised with bubble wrap and kept from the truth of the evils of the world. All children do not live in pretty houses with perfect clothes and happiness. There is bad in this world and children have a right to know about it. I find it somewhat disturbing that a child whose family is from Afghanistan thinks this book is a lie. It means their parents have not been honest with them, and that is a travesty. Regardless of our like or dislike of the truth, we owe it to our children to let them know it. We are raising the future leaders of our world. We need to stop sending them out of the nest ignorant and unprepared. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Even tho im on the chapter 8 (i have to read for school) i recommend this book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My rating is 0 This book is boring to me
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
plz tellme if ill like it or not
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
this is the worst book i've ever read!!! it was so slow moving and offensive! even if stupid people are running the country that has nothing to do with muslum! there was so much violence in just one part that i think it could have been made into a horror movie! this author needs some education on muslum!i mean if you want to read something terrible, read this! two thumbs down!
kat23ma More than 1 year ago
excellent for school age children learning about Afghanistan