×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Breakfast with Buddha
     

Breakfast with Buddha

4.1 95
by Roland Merullo
 

See All Formats & Editions

Otto Ringling is a straightlaced publishing executive with two kids, a lovely wife, a fine home in a fancy New York suburb, and a nagging suspicion that something's missing. How, then, does he end up traveling through Middle America with a berobed Mongolian monk? Ah. The real question to ask is, Why?

When his sister tricks him into taking her guru on a trip

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Breakfast with Buddha 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 95 reviews.
wakemon More than 1 year ago
First, it's not for everybody. If you are reasonably open minded, it is an enjoyable cross-country trip that explores growing your spiritual awareness. This book is for readers who enjoy meta-fiction and have a life is a journey mind-set. It doesn't push any dogma or belief. It really just recommends you relax, clean up, and open up, while presenting a light quick, easy read. I enjoyed it. It made me think. John
SvenKnine More than 1 year ago
Fun easy read. Loved it. Read it with a book club. Everyone liked it. It is the kind of book that you don't want to put down. From the first page it is entertaining. If you like food, road trips and peace this is the book for you. Sit back and enjoy the ride.
Arrrrrggggh More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed the book so much, I devoured it mindfully, at a slow pace, being such a brief book I steeped myself in the story. I read a lot of non-fiction, so I really enjoyed this little book as it was right up my alley. It is a good book.
KSQ More than 1 year ago
I wasn't sure about this book until after I had read the first 45 to 50 pages. From then on every page was a treat. When I had to put it down and do something else, I found there was a smile on my face and in my heart. It is also very thought provoking. This is a book that I will read again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really good book. Makes you think about choosing good, quieting the anger and all of the superficial things that life throws your way every day. I've felt my mind relax over the past couple of days and find that I am taking deeper breaths and letting the constant roar of my thoughts float by.
DoctorJS More than 1 year ago
The cover picture tells it all. The book is fun and serious at the same time. The message is "Lighten up. Life is too short. Keep things in balance. And most of all, don't take yourself too seriously." A tale of fiction covering the deepest truths. Read it!
Kanzeon More than 1 year ago
I found the book to be delightful - and thought provoking. In a gentle manner, Merullo asks the question "Why so angry?" Why today, in America, people seem to be angry over so many issues and non-issues. What is underneath that we are not addressing and how can we recover. This book is an excellent journey toward personal healing and renewal.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
easy to read yet thought provoking
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was a light hearted, slightly comical story ending with a slight twist. Not the best book I've ever read but still worth reading. I'd recommend it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book left me feeling hopeful that people can & do change in deep ways. Otto is a skeptic, fully human & at times very unkind if not in deed, then in thought. He's like many, if not most, of us. Though his experiences with Volya change his outlook, he remains an average, flawed being, working things out in life. It left me feeling uplifted & thoughtful.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Drewano More than 1 year ago
This was a pretty good book. I was hoping for something a bit more funny when I picked this up, and while I found it amusing it wasn’t as funny as I hoped, but overall I found it to be a nice story which really provides some food for thoughts and some great life lessons. I’m sure I’ll pick up the next two books in the series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An interesting story about a road trip with two unlikely passengers.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
dibbylodd More than 1 year ago
I'm not sure how I heard about this book or why now instead of earlier, but her I am. I very much enjoyed this. Told as if it were an autobiography, we get a very personal feeling for the transformation the main character undergoes. There are no unique spiritual "TRUTHS" revealed, but layer by layer Otto is allowed to look under his various layers and find more of who and what he really is. Quite delightful.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book and am anxiously awaiting Dinner with Buddha. This is a fun and engaging read with an uplifting spiritual component. I laughed out loud reading many of the passages. The journey is compelling and I for one would like to join in the fun.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ColumbiaPM More than 1 year ago
easy to read, some humor and gets you thinking about some of the spiritual issues the story teller is going through. Good for book club discussions. Would read another from this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Terrific book. Completely engaging characters, and I loved the developing relationship. Would absolutely recommend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
interesting read....wouldn't say a great book but I was compelled to keep reading.