×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Breaking Beautiful
     

Breaking Beautiful

4.3 52
by Jennifer Shaw Wolf
 

See All Formats & Editions

Allie lost everything the night her boyfriend, Trip, died in a horrible car accident-including her memory of the event. She doesn't remember driving on the cliff road. She doesn't recall jumping from the truck just before Trip lost control. As their small town mourns his death, Allie is afraid to remember because doing so means delving into what she's kept hidden

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Breaking Beautiful 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 52 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A quick read that takes you through all emotions. You feel Allie's fear and embarrassement as an abused teenage girl trying to protect herself and those around her.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Couldnt put it down, cant wait to read more from this author
ImaginaryReads More than 1 year ago
Jennifer Shaw Wolf has debuted with a heartbreakingly beautiful novel about love, death, and forgiveness. At first, it seems as though Allie just lost the perfect relationship. Allie and Trip were the perfect couple, and she was the golden girl who caught the heart of the local hottie as soon as she moved into town. Allie's despair appears to arise out of her heartache over losing Trip. However, mysteries and questions arise when Allie begins trying to live again and demons from her past come back to haunt her. Allie is a bit of a weak heroine. Blake and her twin brother Andrew are forever looking after her, and her inability to stand up for herself puts the two boys through a number of difficult decisions. Even Andrew's girlfriend Caitlyn, a girl filled with vitality and a wild sense for fashion, has to step in for Allie at times to give her the push to stand up for herself. Nevertheless, I appreciate Allie as a character because all girls have a little bit of Allie in them--the desire to be loved, yet feeling unworthy of love; the desire to stand up for herself, yet lacking the confidence; and the desire to give back to loved ones, yet worrying that she'll hurt them instead. There are different kinds of heroines in the world, and Allie expresses the characteristics of a girl who wants to love and be loved. She has made bad decisions in her lives, placing the ones who truly care about her in jeopardy. In the process, she has hurt, she has been hurt, and she has found love in the process: in romance, in family, and in friendship. Allie is surrounded by a cast of wonderful characters and a family that loves her, and she is threatened by some despicable villains. I am confused as to the intentions of the new detective in town, but overall he appears to be the kind of guy who gets his job done. Breaking Beautiful is the kind of book that you want to love, filled as it is with characters you want to cheer for, characters that you want to scold, and, yes, even characters that you want to hate.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wonder ful.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A great first novel!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Story was very slow in development, dragged on and on. No surprises as I guessed all of the "mystery" early on. Would not recommend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
very good understanding
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wonderfully written and really addressed the sensitive topic of domestic violence in teenagers, which is a topic people don't like to discuss or believe happens. Great book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When I purchased this book, I never expected it to be one of the best books I have read in a long time. Such a beautiful story line with characters you can relate too.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great story but i almost put it down a number of times because the drama and angst were so intense and went on and on. I think it is time thst female characters were smarter!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So sad but soooooo good
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I feel this is a book teens will really enjoy. It has strong characters, a great plot, and an issue that is more commonly dealt with today. However, it also kept me interested and guessing some things until the end.