×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Breaking Point (Joe Pickett Series #13)
     

Breaking Point (Joe Pickett Series #13)

4.5 79
by C. J. Box
 

See All Formats & Editions

Joe Pickett always liked Butch Roberson—a hardworking local business-owner whose daughter is friends with his own. Little does he know that when Butch says he is heading into the mountains to scout elk, he is actually going on the run.

Two EPA employees have been murdered, and all signs point to Butch as the killer. Soon, Joe hears of the land Butch and his

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Breaking Point 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 79 reviews.
RonnaL More than 1 year ago
I just can't get enough of C J Box's writing!  I've often said that a good book for me, is one with a great story line, or one with great writing,  Box's books are always the best of both! Each successive Joe Picket, Wyoming Fish and Game Warden, novel just gets better and better.  Characterization, descriptions, conflicts between good and evil, and the pull between legal justice and moral justice are enhanced by stories that connect to headlines of the day.  Box mixes each mystery, with a continuing family story, and a fictional accounting of non-fiction reality.  When one of Joe's friends is accused of murder, Joe becomes involved in ways that he'd never imagined.  Lyle, and his wife, have finally gotten a piece of land on which to build their own home.  Permits in hand, Lyle begins grading the land when EPA employees come and demand that he return the land to exactly as he's found it previously.  The fine for not doing so will be $70,000 a day.  And why is this happening?  Lyle is told it's because his land has been declaimed 'protected wetlands'. With no water at all on his land, he questions this declaration.  But no one at the EPA has any paperwork , nor are they answering his repeated phone calls.  So this story begins, and ends in disaster when two EPA agents are murdered, and an all out man hunt is begun by the EPA to "kill the murderer." This case is based on a real case in North Dakota, that bends credulity.  There are other actions , also based on "truth" that just may blow your mind.  Joe is caught up in the manhunt, as determined by the Governor, but the more and more that things progress, Joe begins to realize that there is something more that just doesn't make sense.  An edge of your seat story keeps the suspense until the very last page!!  I think I love you C J Box!!!!  Never stop telling stories in books!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kept me on the edge of my seat and I couldn't stop reading!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you think that having a drone takes out a sniper is to far fetched than I suggest you wake up. Today the FBI uses drones! Loved the book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I can't leave C.J.'s books alone. I was in the middle of another book and quit to read his and finished it in 2 sittings in one day. Can't wait for Highway in July. Joe Pickett and his family are wonderful examples of a hard working American family doing the right thing with a tight family bond. Keep up the good work C.J. as I'll be out here waiting for your next episode.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can't praise this series enough. I only wish Mr. Box could crank them out faster.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesome.. absolutely awesome.    C. J. Box is still on his game.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Box makes for entertaining reading while also giving the reader something to think about. He shares some disturbing facts about the power of the federal government over our lives, and provides an exciting mystery at the same time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book and the reality of the scenarios that are taking place in our real world, right now. I must take issue with "SGT Jim" and other anonymous high-talking, low stand-up folks that don't like the reality for real working folks of the government running amok, but if they feel that strongly about that then they should list their names and not hit and run behind Anonymous. There is no justification for rating C.J. Box's books at a one star just because they aren't happy about others real working folks belief that the EPS, Homeland Security, etc. are working against the citizens. If they believe they can defend them then do so and give valid reasons in a stand alone environment and not rate an author of great merit at a one star because they don't believe the book put forward their Progressive agenda. Very unprofessional. Typical Liberal with their panties in a wad. I bet they couldn't camp with a 5th wheeler. Tell the truth or go home to mommie.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Like all the Joe Pickett books, lots of action, fighting for what is right, and love of family!
GranolaGrammie More than 1 year ago
The Joe Pickett series has been my very favorite series ever! I started with one and have read them all this winter. Breaking point did not let me down. The characters have all aged and matured in a profound way. I have already pre-ordered # 14. I must say, I have learned a lot about the north west and the animals that inhabit the area. The stories take place in the present but they still have a feeling of the old west. I have loved all of the Joe Pickett series.
ttredman04 More than 1 year ago
I am a fan of C.J. Box. He's not a complicated writer yet he has a few twists in his books that throw you off. Never expected what the end would be in this book. I like that he is a family man. Loves his wife and kids. Joe's friend Nate, loyal and tough. Descriptions of the Wyoming country that Joe patrols makes the books even more appealing.
cy-12_34 More than 1 year ago
I like Joe Pickett. I have read several of his stories and find them highly readable and enjoyable. C.J.Box really brings the Wyoming mountains to life with his descriptions and very likeable characters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I started the C.J.Box series this spring. A good friend and author recommended that I read his books and I haven't been able to stop reading! Joe Pickett is so real. The descriptions of the natural surroundings and events are highly detailed. You feel as though you are in the middle of the action. This is a great series for problem solvers who want plots that reveal human and animal nature.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
And a reminder that there are still good caring people as well as how important our land and wildlife are
Salty094 More than 1 year ago
Joe Puckett is an outdoors-man who has managed to tick off many of the bureaucrats in his agency by obstinately doing the right thing instead of the politically expedient thing. He has been able to gain a place on the governor's list of people to go to when he needs an honest assessment. As a result, the governor is willing to help out when Joe needs to be pulled out of a jam. A couple of Joe's acquaintances are being framed by a shadowy agency, and Joe is not about to stand still for it. It is difficult to put this book down once the reader gets started on it - constant movement teases you onward.
Alaska-Kath More than 1 year ago
Love the series. Grew up in this area of Wyoming. Places are recognizable in the fiction.
thecowboylibrarian More than 1 year ago
one of the best books in this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The last couple of Joe Pickett books have been formulaic and without the "tang" of the Wyoming mountains and the clarity of prior books in the series. This one is different! It captures your attention and you will not be able to wait for the next page or the next chapter. It is well written, direct and once again, justice triumphs over government run amok. NO ONE does it better!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
C.J. Box writes another exciting plot with twists and turns that keep you hungry for the next chapter. Characters are all believable... the good guys are really good and the bad guys are really bad. A sad but noble ending.... Loved this novel
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have not missed a Box book since I discovered the writer. I really enjoy the descriptions of the mountains in Wyoming. So much that I will ride my motorcycle to Wyoming this summer.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Couldt putt it down. Cant wait for the next to come. Consistantly great novels
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
CJ continues to amaze with ever more interesting topics and continued evolution of family and friends in his novels. His stand alone books are excellent also.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As always, I enjoyed this book. I think I know what is going to happen next and then am always surprised at the end. If you like CJ Box, you will also enjoyed William Kent Kruegers books with Cork O'Cococran. I don't know why my order of the latest William Kent Krueger book, "Ordinary Grace" was cancelled as I still see it listed to order.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have enjoyed all of the Joe Pickett novels and this one did not disappoint. Would recommend it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago