×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Breaking the Rules
     

Breaking the Rules

3.3 45
by Barbara Taylor Bradford
 

See All Formats & Editions

Following a terrifying encounter in the quiet English countryside, a young woman flees to New York in search of a new life. Adopting the initial M as her name, and reinventing herself, she embarks on a journey that will lead her to the catwalks of Paris, where she becomes the muse and star model to France’s iconic designer Jean-Louis Tremont. When M meets the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Breaking the Rules (Emma Harte Series #7) 3.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 45 reviews.
DEVILICIOUS More than 1 year ago
I love the proper ettiquette, the classy settings, exotic places and the character of her books! BREAKING THE RULES follows suit, but you need to have read WOMAN OF SUBSTANCE first or you'll be confused. I love strong female characters who achieve, and plenty of heart and soul. Another winner! Another book and writer I love has the same quality, EXPLOSION IN PARIS, by L.M. Pirrung...Also loved THE HELP, THE FORGOTTEN GARDEN, THE GUERNSEY LITERARY AND POTATO PEEL SOCIETY
pinkbooks More than 1 year ago
Glad to see another book by Ms. Bradford again. Hopefully there will be more soonest. A good story line that is connected together well. Keep up the good work.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In London, the wealthy twenty-three years old granddaughter of Emma Harte suffers an assault. She decides to leave England for New York and pursue a career as a model. The young lady feels she has the looks, the know-how and most important the connections. Thus M is invented. M proves reasonably successful as a model and ultimately works in Paris. She falls in love with actor Laurence Vaughn, but eventually that adversary of her family who attacked her in Chelsea recognizes her and sets in motion a plan to destroy M and her loved ones. Although much of the tale occurs in 2006, there is a throw back feel to the interesting story line; mostly because of the long running Harte series and somewhat M's courage under fire affirms she has Emma's DNA; she knows when to flight and when to fight. This story is a convoluted with a seemingly zillion support players with respective but related histories of their own that do not tie well together even with the marvelous Ms. M at the vortex. Still fans of the saga will relish the thirtieth anniversary of A WOMAN OF SUBSTANCE updated for the new millennium. Harriet Klausner
terrillr More than 1 year ago
I picked up this book hoping for a good story, but was very disappointed. It starts off okay, about M who is in New York wanting to be a model, and then morphs into a "family danger" story. However, the author spends so much time with the characters and modeling start that she never really gets to the danger part of the story. Once the fun starts, the story is rushed and unsatisfying. It's like the author got bored with the story that wasn't going anywhere and started throwing in stuff to get it finished. In the end, the family doesn't even finish off the bad guy, someone else takes care of that and the story ends all kissy-kissy happy ever after. Don't get me wrong, I like a happy ending but I want a good story before I get there. I had not read Barbara Taylor Bradford before, and I doubt I will again. This is part of her Emma Harte series, and if you haven't read about the family previously, you will be confused about some of the characters - especially the ones that seem important to the story but are not developed. If you have read other books in the series, it might be a better read for you. The jacket led me to expect a story about a woman willing to "Break the Rules" to protect her loved ones, but I never found that women in this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I can't say enough about this book without repeating myself. I have read everyone of Ms. Bradford's book and this is amazingly one of the best, if that's at all possible. I couldn't put it down..kept me wanting to ready more and more....there were many surprises along the way. If you've read her books before...this one is A MUST....
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book was poorly written and the dialogue felt like it was for a middle schooler. The whole premise of the book was unrealistic and the characters had no depth. The Harte family characters are becoming too self righteous and  too black and white when viewing other people around them. I found myself skipping sections to finish the book.
BeachRead245 More than 1 year ago
Breaking the Rules by Barbara Taylor Bradford (BTB) is supposed to be the finale of the Harte Family series. This novel is different from the others in the series. The plot twist is different than the normal BTB novels. Synopsis: M. has come to New York to start her career in modeling. It is off to a slow start until her friend Geo introduces her to Frankie a fashion photographer. His death seems to put M.’s career on hold until his protégé Luke takes over. He discovers and helps launch her career. Shortly thereafter she meets actor Larry Vaughan and marries him. All of the sudden accidents start happening around M. Who could possibly be behind them? Will her family survive these attacks? What will M. do to protect them? My Thoughts: Before I share my thoughts on Breaking the Rules, I thought I would share about the Harte Family series. I had did read some other reviews as I listened to the novel. I have read the series up to now. I probably had the same questions of what happened to Paula and her family? Many fans had this question. Enter the next set of novels Emma’s Secret, Unexpected Blessings, and Just Rewards. Fans wanted to know what happened to Johnathan Ainsley. Breaking the Rules was supposed to answer this question. I liked the novel but had a hard time understanding the purpose of the M. character. Or how would Johnathan Ainsley meet his demise? The first half you the reader are given vague references as to who M. is. Her character is basically built through the first half. If the point was she is to stand alone and work hard for the career she desires then the author is a success. For me the part of the novel I didn’t like was the plotting. I felt that there were too many questions in the beginning. Such as who is M.? I was satisfied with the ending. Then I vaguely remembered from reading Just Rewards that Paula had another daughter Emma. Once I made this connection it was an Aha moment for me. I also was not a fan of the narration of the novel because it did not distinguish the characters separately very well. Jencey/Writer's Corner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is typical Barbara Taylor Bradford at its best. I have enjoyed all of her books since "A Woman of Substance." Sometmes her language is bit stilted, but still very enjoyable.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved all the pteviously written books in this series but this one was so very boring. Not even close to believable. Not even entertaining in the least. I suspect a ghost writter.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read the first six Emma Harte books within two months, I went to read breaking the rules, and to be honest it took me awhile to even start it. When I read the back, it had no corrilation to the Emma Harte series, I even read some of it, and looked through alot of the book and I did not see any of the names that follow the series, I was not going to read it I checked several times to make sure this book actually belongs to that series! You have no idea this has to do with the Hartes until you are at the last 200 or so pages!!!! Very disappointed in this book, not up to the great writing of the other six in the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read Woman of Substance years ago and remember enjoying it. I picked this book up at Half Price Books thinking it would be a good summer pool read. The dialogue is laughable and some of the story line is just ridiculous. Luckily it only cost me 3 bucks.
marlen elias More than 1 year ago
What a splendid loving exquisitely written novel. There is nothing better than a Barbara Taylor Bradford novel about the Harte family. The story telling is exquisite!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago