×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Bride Price
     

The Bride Price

4.4 12
by Anne Mallory
 

See All Formats & Editions

Winner take all . . .

Sebastien Deville, the debauched, dangerously handsome illegitimate son of the Duke of Grandien, has waited his whole life for revenge—and suddenly it is there for the taking. A competition sponsored by the ing has all the ton talking. The winner will receive an immense fortune, a newly created

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Bride Price 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
junebugLE More than 1 year ago
Anne Mallory did a wonderful job with this book. She gave wonderful insight into the times and created characters you could empathize with. Sebastien Deville is the ultimate player. A man without shame, without heart, and ultimately unhappy. Caroline Martin is a young widower unwilling to release the bright passion that she holds inside. Throughout the course of a unethical contest, Sebastien allows Caroline an outlet for her burning passion through him. Caroline, likewise, allows Sebastien to follow his heart and the love he has never felt for another. But will Sebastien sacrifice his heart in order to save his pride? Will love be enough to make up for a birth of shame? a life of inadequacy?
PaulaFL More than 1 year ago
I love Anne Mallory and I have read all her books, and I think she did a great job with this one. It was a page turner and I loved the characters. This book had a little mystery and lots of romance. I look forward to more of her books. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
jjmachshev More than 1 year ago
Reviewed for queuemyreview.com; book release Nov08

¿The Bride Price¿ by Anne Mallory has all the elements of a steamy historical romance: a dangerously sexy `natural¿ child of the peerage hero, a disgraced yet beautiful young widow who married beneath her for love, an innocent and shy maiden, and a scandalous contest created by the jaded aristocrats of the ton. Doesn¿t it sound delicious? That¿s what I thought. But something was missing from Mallory¿s latest and that¿s a real shame as I normally enjoy her historicals.

Caroline is a young widow who married beneath her for love and wound up regretting tossing away her innocence and respectability for a man who didn¿t know the meaning of the word honor. She has finally clawed her way back up to `almost respectable¿ in her country society where she lives on the edge of the estate of her uncle the Earl of Cheevers. She owes the Earl for helping her to redeem herself, but his involvement with this horrid `game¿ and agreement to offer his daughter Sarah, Caroline¿s niece, as heiress wife to the victor is beyond the pale. Caroline has the knowledge and the cunning to sabotage the games, but would any of the men competing be worthy of Sarah? Well, certainly NOT Sebastien Deville.

Sebastien is the unacknowledged `natural¿ son of the dissolute and cruel Duke of Grandien. Once he realized as a young child that he would never `earn¿ his father¿s regard or love, he set out to be his father¿s nightmare. Between his antics with the debutantes of the ton and his antipathy toward his brother, the Duke¿s legitimate son, AND the Duke, he¿s made quite a name for himself amongst the darker salons and gambling establishments in London. And when his father approaches him about a contest whose winner will receive a title, money, and several estates (his beloved Mother¿s estate for one), he takes the bait and agrees to compete. He WILL win this contest, he WILL have a title, and he WILL take his revenge on the ton who made his life miserable.

What a great plot! But I disliked BOTH of the main characters. Now that I think about it, I didn¿t particularly like any characters in the book! I understand redeeming the `bad boy¿ is a staple of the romance genre, but there wasn¿t much about Sebastien to WANT to redeem. He was a bitter, angry, thoughtless, and heartless man for all but the last few pages of the book. How could I like him? And how could I like a strong woman who could fall in love with someone like him? Well¿I couldn¿t. And that pretty much spoiled my enjoyment in this story. Although there was a happy ending, it wasn¿t one I could believe in at all, and wasn¿t particularly happy with either.

The setting was beautiful, the plot was intricate and well paced, the sex was very steamy and abundant¿but I just couldn¿t get past my dislike of the entire cast of characters. They all grated on my nerves. Anne Mallory usually delivers a solid, feel-good, historical romance¿but ¿The Bride Price¿ just wasn¿t one of them for me.