×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

A Briefer History of Time
     

A Briefer History of Time

4.1 113
by Stephen Hawking, Leonard Mlodinow
 

See All Formats & Editions

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHORS

The science classic made more accessible
• More concise • Illustrated

FROM ONE OF THE MOST BRILLIANT MINDS OF OUR TIME COMES A BOOK THAT CLARIFIES HIS MOST IMPORTANT IDEAS
 
Stephen Hawking’s worldwide bestseller A Brief History of Time remains a landmark volume in scientific

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

A Briefer History of Time 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 113 reviews.
lmoser More than 1 year ago
This is a very informative book. It is easy to understand as it gives plenty examples and pictures to help you understand the difficult concepts in the book. This book has helped me to understand theories in physics and about time. I would recommend this book to anyone that wants to know more about physics and about the beginning of time.
consumatereader More than 1 year ago
I couldn't put it down! I read it like a thriller novel, because that's what it was like for me. It brought together some ideas I've struggled with since I heard about them from Einstein's biography. It also raised other questions, so I've gone on to read Brian Greene too. I wouldn't recommend reading this during a time you require great sleep because if you have any questions about the world we live in, you won't put this book down!
lauren566 More than 1 year ago
A Brief History of Time By Stephen Hawking 232 pages This book by Stephen Hawking is a book someone should read because you become well informed and it opens your mind to new subjects, theories, and ideas. What Hawkings' did throughout the book that I really enjoyed was the fact that he explained, in depth, his theories and ideas. His explanations fascinated me and I enjoyed reading about his personal thoughts and opinions. In my opinion, every once in a while Hawkings' would ramble on and disengage from his main points when he explained his thoughts. I thought that was irrelevant and completely detracted from the content of the book. I did not enjoy this book very much. It was a bit too technical for my liking. The book was engaging but it did puzzle me at certain points, for example, explaining his theories. The age group this book is appropriate for is 20 year olds and over. This book could be difficult to understand for many people under that age because the theories and ideas are so detailed and in depth that it could be difficult to understand his concepts. For 20 year olds and over, they would be much more educated to understand and fully grasp his concepts. Other information I would feel valuable for someone to know when reading a review of this book is to know your sciences, because it could really help you figure out some theories and it will make more sense to you.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a good book. It has a ton of stuff in it. Almost too much stuff. Read it slowly because some the concepts aren't explained in great detail because the book is fairly short. It is a summary of time and how it began, as well, it gives a summary of the theory of relativity. If you want to learn about black holes and wormholes in space, this would be a good book to read. Stephen Hawking did a good job writing this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very interesting read and the ideas are portrayed ina very practical manner. The reader does not need to be a physics or math whizz to tag along to this great book. Comes with awesome illustrations to explain the bizarre ideas!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
With the onset of so many books and videos on astronomy, our Universe, and the study of Physics, Dr. Hawking brings it all together in a nicely illustrated and condensed version of his landmark publication A Brief History of Time. A Breifer History of Time is delightful for those with technical expertise as well as those with a casual curiosity. Reading this book will possibly change the way you see our world, beyond, and our Universe.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A great follow up to the original books
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am someone who can work with numbers when I have to, but I much prefer words. In spite of this, I enjoyed this book immensely and now have some small understanding of concepts I had heard of but of which I did not have any rudimentary knowledge. Thank you to the authors for writing this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
shellyschultz More than 1 year ago
Very worthwhile read for any layman. I am currently reading alongside this, "The Beginning of Infinity", also by a famous phycisist, Deutsch....Hawking has simplified his explanation as much as possible and has done p[erfectlywell for those of us who are novices.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago