×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Brimstone Angels
     

Brimstone Angels

4.4 13
by Erin M. Evans
 

See All Formats & Editions

Praise for Erin M. Evans’s first book, The God Catcher:
“Extremely entertaining, The God Catcher was a great surprise for me. Evans' fluent style glues this book in the reader's hands. With an action-packed story and vivid characters, it quickly becomes a page-turner.” –Speculative Book Review

[The story

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Brimstone Angels 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
DutchArk More than 1 year ago
Such a fun and fascinating book to read. The sections that took place in Hell were awesome. Best Title EVER!!!!
CraigInMaumee More than 1 year ago
If you enjoy a fantasy novel filled with magic, demons and devils, this novel set in the Forgotten Realms is a great read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If I could read only one series set in the forgotten realms, I would choose this one.
Darreth More than 1 year ago
... and how sometimes it's not so "BLACK & WHITE" when it comes to life! The Forgotten Realms is my favorite setting and I have been following it since the BEGINNING! The main character (Farideh is a TIEFLING) and her adopted father (Mehen is a dragonborn) are examples of a few of the new character races that were made for the new FR setting and the author is doing a pretty good job of showing the DIFFERENCE between the REALMS now and how it's CHANGED since the SUNDERING! I would recommend this book to a friend!
Epheros More than 1 year ago
Brimstone Angels, by Erin M. Evans, is an intriguing mix of several different stories: the subtle rivalries of two sisters competing; a teenage girl, an outsider, trying to figure out who she is in a town of full outsiders and cast-offs; a father feeling inadequate to dealing with two adopted daughters; a runaway boy avoiding a life he doesn’t want to face; a devil trying desperately to stay well away from the machinations of his powerful family; and the most powerful of the Nine Hells focused on rooting out a quiet evil deep within the ruined City of Jewels, Neverwinter. Brimstone Angels is a tale that continues the saga of Neverwinter’s return to life and Erin Evans weaves her little contribution seamlessly into the whole fabric of the new Forgotten Realms. If you are like me and have not read a Forgotten Realms novel in a couple years then you will be left with some mind boggling questions about what the world has come to, but coming in without that knowledge is not an issue. Erin leaves you with a clear and concise story that stands on its own, but the questions she raises are powerful enough to make you want to grab the other books of this series and indulge your curiosity. In Brimstone Angels, Farideh and Havilar are twin Tiefling sisters, a random reflection of an ancestor descended from devils. As Tieflings, their horrific appearances automatically make them outcasts and in a town of cast-offs and those trying to disappear from the world they still stand out. Their father, a clanless Dragonborn, tries to keep them out of trouble but while he is busy one of the sisters tries to summon an imp on an impulse and she gets a powerful half-devil cambion instead.  Farideh tries to protect her sister from the devil but she succumbs to his charm and accepts a devil’s pact to become a warlock, a sorcerer who can channel magic from the Nine Hells. The father takes the sisters from the town they are no longer welcome in and sets to the road, ultimately ending up in Neverwinter. Rival devil cultists vie for power from the shadows and an ancient powerful evil is secretly gaining a foothold within the city.  Erin brings together a sort of coming of age tale about a girl trying to take control of her life and become an independent woman in an environment that seems to have gotten bigger and more maddening than what anyone should deal with. But her story is still action packed, a true sword and sorcery tale that doesn’t let you down or let go.  Erin has done an excellent job bringing me back into the Forgotten Realms. For those who want a story that’s a little of everything yet still grounded in the comfortable trappings of a fantasy world, Brimstone Angels is the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
file More than 1 year ago
I received this book after being selected as a winner in a contest on the authors blog. I found it to be a solid forgotten realms novel that touches on a not oft seen part of that world. Reading the book, I found it difficult to tear myself away during sessions. It was really keeping me attached and wanting to see just what happened in the next chapter. The focus on character emotions and reflections is a bit more obvious then some other books of the genre. Having an insight into the characters sensitive motivations adds an interesting level of depth. That however did not detract from the detail of the action scenes. I found her Evans' description of battle and close encounters to be very good and because of that I am looking forward to reading the sequel to this novel, Lesser Evils.
dark-link More than 1 year ago
it is a grate book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Plots within plots within plots. This novel does an excellent job of wracking your mind in trying to figure out which devil is playing the board best and which characters are the unwitting pawns.