×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Bringing Up Boys
     

Bringing Up Boys

3.3 61
by James C. Dobson
 

See All Formats & Editions

In the wake of a host of violent and tragic events involving boys and young men, many are asking what we as a society are doing wrong in the way we are raising our boys. Why are we so often failing to develop character in our sons? Why are so many boys in crisis? What qualities should we be trying to instill in young males?

An entire generation of boys is growing

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Bringing up Boys 3.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 61 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
My wife and I found this book to be very informative especially for parents that are weary of the negative influences of our society. We are in a cultural war that started in the 60's with flawed theories about our roles in society. Some reviews here may claim that this book is full of anti feminism, but honestly, it only illustrates how men and women were made differently thus causing us to behave differently. He clearly points out how experimental education models are not working today in our society and we should be wary of the attacks on those of us that just want to raise children with high moral values. If you want to raise boys that have respect for women and will contribute greatly to society, this book is for you. If you are liberal leaning and do not want to admit the problems caused by our societies attacks on moral values and social responsibility, this book may not be for you.
Guest More than 1 year ago
It is so refreshing to read good sound advice on raising boys to be men. Dr. Dobson hit it right on the head. A must read for everyone not just parents.
capriccio More than 1 year ago
All of the reviews about this book seem to be either 5 star or 1 star and I would like to give a middle of the road review. This book was a gift from a conservative cousin and I am quite a bit more liberal. Despite my trepidation about reading this book, which was based only on my knowledge of Dr. Dobson and Focus on the Family, I found there were some very good concepts in this book along with the things I did not agree with. Despite my personal feelings about Dr. Dobson's views on homosexuality (which I knew upon receiving the book I would not agree with) he makes some very good points about safe-guarding the emotional well-being of our boys and the importance of male role models. Overall I preferred Michael Gurian's "The Wonder of Boys", but frankly he makes similar arguments to Dr. Dobson simply from a less conservative/religious point of view. I think people with conservative leanings are more likely to enjoy this book, there are concepts in it that can be a difficult read for those of us that are more liberal.
Guest More than 1 year ago
As A mother of 4 active boys (ages 2,4,6,8) I needed moral and valuable insights into the upbringing of these wonderfully masculine creatures. I feel more confident about the character and faith formation of my wonderful boys. After reading Dr. Dobson's book, I can honestly say that I feel blessed now to have the opportunity (with the help and influence of my husband, a more involved father as a result of this book!) to raise up 4 much needed Godly men!
mom2jess More than 1 year ago
Dr. Dobson was on the right track. In the beginning I felt wonderful having a boy and excited for the adventure. But then I got to the part where he mentioned things such as 2 parent families, working, etc. I felt down. Not what I chose, but making a way for my family. I am a single parent, working a full time job. I am proud of that. I should not be discouraged that my son will be different because of that. I just felt that if you weren't the 2 family stay at home parent, you already had the problem. Dr. Dobson, be more encouraging for those that choose other paths.
Guest More than 1 year ago
It does my heart and soul a great service to know that there is a man like Dr. Dobson out there that wants to make sure that boys are being raised as they should be and has generously taken his time to educate society on the proper way to raise boys in this messed up and confused society. I have four grandsons and am very pleased and blessed to know that my daughters will raise there sons the way God meant for them to be raised. Thank you again Dr. Dobson, I greatly admire and respect your views! It is my prayer that the narrow minded views that some of these readers have expressed will have their hearts and minds opened to the truth. I feel deeply sad for the sons and grandsons of these people that feel the way they do about your book. I pray that they too do not grow up to believe that they are 'gay' or should be treated disrespectfully by some television shows that portray men to appear like brainless and heartless idiots. God help them for they do not know what they do.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I had big expectations from this book, tips on how to raise boys to be precise. Unfortunately the whole 300 + pages will mostly be useful to those who are interested in statistics and sophisticated language. It is just rambling about social issues. The author is defending conservative views throughout the book. There is no need to defend them, I already agree with them. There is nothing new, no details on bringing up boys. Waste of money, waste of time.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I found this book to be very helpful with my own son. I would recommend it whole-heartedly to any parent!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I'M SO GLAD THERE'S FINALLY A BOOK ABOUT RAISING BOYS THAT IS HELPFUL AND NOT FULL OF THE LIBERAL DUNG THAT MOST IDIOT'S ARE FEEDING PEOPLES MINDS WITH! I'M ALSO GLAD THAT THIS BOOK EMPHESIZES THE NEED FOR A MALE FIGURE IN CHILDRENS LIVES! TO ANYONE WHO PUTS THIS BOOK DOWN,TRY LOOKING FOR A BETTER BOOK ABOUT RAISING BOYS!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I believe the book to be an informative read and commend Dr. Dobson on writing a great book. When children are killing other children in schools, we have a problem. This book teaches you to be the childs parent, not his friend. Some people might have a problem with that notion, I do not.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This Christian based, honest outlook on raising boys in today's society was just outstanding. I felt that I really connected with this book. My husband and I are raising two young boys and can relate to alot of issues presented in these chapters and alot of issues we yet to deal with. But with the help of this book, we can feel more at ease with how God would want us to handle each situation. Society today has been drawn away from good morals and the teaching of Christ. I recommend this book to everyone whether you have boys or not. It has so much information about males in general and would be informative for understanding husbands, fathers and boys. Wish they had 10 stars for this one!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am a married mother of three, 2 of which are boys 8 & 4. I struggle daily to understand my role as a mother with them and have questioned my parenting thus far, whether too strict or wanting them to 'behave'. I have always wondered why the boys behave the way they do. This book has helped me understand where they are coming from emotionally, physically, hormonally etc. and has helped me realized they are 'being boys'. I have been amazed at the statistics that are provided. Especially those regarding the prison system, learning disabilities and children born out of wedlock and the role that the presence or non-presence of a father plays in these areas. After reading this I have also learned alot about my husband as well and the needs he has from me as a wife, for support and confidence. Dr. Dobson gives a easy, open read that is Biblically based. This book has helped me raise my children not just as Christians but raising them to be confident and secure in who they are.
Guest More than 1 year ago
In the book Bring up Boys, has helped me to see that boys WILL be boys.untill I read this book I was real worried that my son was so rowdy and bad.(he is only two) The book uses real people and stories from other mothers with boys, how to give them what they need without spoiling, how to repremand your child to see what they have done is wrong and many other helpful tips for mothers or aunts,grandmathers, and even fathers. There is a chapter or two just for the fathers. I think that this book is an excellent adition to anyones collection who has a son or is expecting a son. I was from a family of all girls on both sides, so when my son came along I was shocked, but now I see that he is not a monster, just a normal little 2 year old.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is NOT what the description suggests. It is sexist and homophobic, and preachy, preachy, preachy! There is no actual advice on raising children; the entire thing is the rantings of a religious nut. It implies not only that being gay is a preventable disease and the worst thing that could possibly happen to your child, but that single mothers are incapable of raising children. Dobson is under the illusion that without a fther figure in his life, your son WILL be gay, and if he is, you should try to get him to change. This is so, so wrong! Being gay is innate, and it cannot be "cured". Dobson doesn't understand that by making someone feel asamed and guilty of their attractions, you are not "curing homosexuality"; rather, you're setting them up for a life of misery by having them hide their feelings. Please, parents, do not listen to this advice, no matter what your religious beliefs are! Rather, practice the unconditional love so highly spoken of in the Bible - and I do mean unconditional. If your child is gay, reassure him or her that NOTHING will change your feelings for them. If your love for your child would diminish if you found out they were gay, you are no parent in my eyes. Practice loving, not shaming!
ribbe More than 1 year ago
I think Dr. James Dobson has a very good insight on raising our boys to become productive in society! I believe Dr. James Dobson will honestly tell it like he see it and what God expect from parents now-a-days! We need all the help we can get because otherwise our society will suffer also our boys that will become men will be cheated out of some healty choices! People take a look at our world, our nation, our society, our schools, our chruches! We need to wake up and have an open minds to those that are connected to wisdom!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
emilyn mariano More than 1 year ago
Thanks for having this on nook. I have 2 boys, and this book would help me much.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago