×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Broadway My Way
     

Broadway My Way

4.1 84
by Linda Eder
 
There are some songs that practically beg for a great voice to put them over the top. Those songs and that voice meet on this marvelous recording. Linda Eder is an acclaimed Broadway performer, having starred in Jekyll and Hyde (composer Frank Wildhorn happens to be her husband). Here, Eder sets offers a feast of superb theatrical songs from such classic shows

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Broadway My Way 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 84 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
What an incredible collection all on one CD! Linda is simply incredible. Having seen her in concert numerous times I didn't think the "live" experience could be duplicated, but boy, was I wrong! She sings her heart out on this album. Not only does she sound like she's having the time of her life, but she shares that enthusiasm with her audience. Sure there are a few "Linda Classics" on here, but a Broadway album without them just wouldn't be right! Thank you Team Wildhorn for working your magic one more time!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Linda Eder¿s seventh solo album, Broadway My Way, is some of her best work yet. With songs from many of Broadway¿s most-loved shows, including My Fair Lady, Gypsy, The Sound of Music and Man of La Mancha, the album showcases Eder¿s vocal range and stamina. From light jazz (¿On The Street Where You Live¿) and magical Celtic sounds (¿Edelweiss¿) all the way to bold, brassy swing (¿Some People¿) and full belting Broadway glory (¿Anthem¿), this album has it all. If you can appreciate the finer things in life, then you will truly savor every single note of Broadway My Way.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Linda Eder's work is a purely intentional, interpretive effort of doing Broadway- her way. Her's is an instrument of the most remarkably broad ability. Those who have heard and seen Linda in concert know that she can sing anything with superiority. These arrangements may strike a chord in those who are diehards of the traditional versions, but they are in a class by themselves. It is petty to compare Linda's talent to the "others" listed in some of these posted critiques. Linda doesn't do that. But, for the record, Barbra Streisand does not have nearly the vocal appeal (sound quality!) of Linda, nor the across-the-board instrument. And is often overlooked by her fans, Barbra often struggled consistently holding those "long" notes she was known for. She is a unidimensional sounding singer, as was Garland. Linda is an evolving talent capable of more beautiful sounds and notes than any of those mentioned. Most important, to be a fan of Linda's is to be in awe of her incredibly selfless, giving nature. No attitude with Linda, just a balanced, superlative performer!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Linda Eder should not sing Barbra!!!! She has neither the tone quality, voice,diction, phrasing ability, or pizzaz. All of the songs are chasing the glory of the originals. Linda Eder is a borderline lounge voice, oversinging, trying to sing songs that were immortalized by all of the greats in the past. There is not a track on this album that has anything new to offer. I'm surprised that her label didn't let her record something new and interesting. I'm sure that most people will agree with me. Linda Eder is no Barbra - no matter how hard she tries. Sadly, it seems to be public knowledge, and Linda Eder is the last to know.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This latest CD from Linda Eder is a work of art. I can't get enough of her voice. I play all her CD's at work as well as home. Co-workers have become addicted. "I Am What I Am" brought down the house at Carnegie Hall in NYC this past Wednesday night when Linda performed for a third time sold-out crowd. I stopped counting standing ovations after 8, or was it 9? Linda's rendition of "Losing My Mind" left me speechless and begging for more. Frank Wildhorn's 'Gold' is evolving into a theatre classic. "One The Street Where You Live" and "I'll Be Seeing You" are huge crowd pleasers. Linda has so many loving and loyal fans, and I am proud to say that I am one of them and will be till the day I die. I can't get enough..."If I Had My Way" I would have Linda release a new CD every 6 months. Congratulations Linda, on yet another smash album. We Love you! Please keep the music coming! Thank you Barnes & Nobel for hosting a CD signing and meet & greet with Linda in NYC next week. Now I must find tickets to more Linda Eder concerts. Four in the last two months is just NOT enough!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Linda has captured Broadway tunes like NO ONE has ever done! Her beautiful range is amazing and never at fault. Many fans enjoy this Linda the most (belting out show tunes)! The comparisons to Mrs. Brolin should really stop...Linda is a unique voice that should be appreciated as one. Thanks Linda and keep them coming!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Obviously we have some bitter Barbra Streisand fans on our hands with other reviewers. Personally, I think Ms. Eder's version of "Don't Rain On My Parade" blows everyone else out of the water. Each song on this album is phenominal, Linda's beautiful resonant voice shines.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Amazing voice, amazing everything! Must buy this CD!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Her voice only should sing Broadway....thank you Linda........U R the BEST
Guest More than 1 year ago
Heard the CD and then saw her in concert...believe me, Celine Dion is not the next Barbra Streisand...Linda Is!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
...at least it's voted Album of the Year by me!!! Linda Eder's newest release, "Broadway My Way" is a treat for the listener. Beautiful renditions of Broadway favorites, combined with new songs that are instant standards, make this the quintessential release of the year. Don't listen to the nay-sayers...check out what the pros have to say at variety.com and playbill.com and then have a listen. I promise you won't be disappointed and you'll become a new fan of this contemporary musical legend in the making. Loved this CD, looking forward to many more!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Linda Eder shows all of her weaknesses on this album. Her attempt at showing up Barbra with her new rendition of "Don't Rain on My Parade" fails. What was Ms. Eder thinking. Obviously from the title, "Broadway My Way" she was trying to show off; it didn't work. The orchestra controls her, and she's constantly behind the tempo, sometimes laughably so. She has no phrasing, no special suttleties to her voice like Barbra, leaving Barbra with the last laugh. Linda Eder's attempt at showing off with comments "as long as she's not singing it, I will" backfired. As for the rest of the album, old songs-weak singing-one constant loud roar-poor arrangements, just a poor attempt period. If you thought the album Gold was bad, this takes the cake. Obviously, Linda Eder needs to find her own style with her own songs, instead of constantly copying everybody elses or give it up.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A superior rendition of great standards. A clearly superior voice singing songs of time gone by with a new flair and magic. How does she hit those notes?
Guest More than 1 year ago
I seldom feel motivated enough to post a review of any perfomer, but I'm making an exception with this sensational CD by Linda Eder. I happen to be a long time broadway fan, and have seen the best of them perform..Barbra, Audra, Kristen Chenoweth, Liza, Barbara Cook, etc. and I'll have to say that this woman fully deserves to be placed in the company of not only these performers, but also legends like Judy Garland. As a long time broadway fan, I also know there are certain "Agendas" people have with Linda. They appear to stem from either a dislike of her husband's music or some perceived threat they believe she represents to the stars they champion whether it be Liza, Babs, etc. On "Broadway, My Way", Linda tackles and puts her own stamp on songs made famous by people like Babs and Liza. In fact, she succeds at doing the impossible..reinventing the song! This tends to anger the originator's fans. Simply, put Linda Eder has one of the finest vocal instruments ever heard, and its on fine display on this CD. Her voice is one of great power, but equally great softness. She is easily the best belter in the business. Many aren't use to hearing songs belted properly, with a loud, controlled power...the way it is intended. Listen to Don't Rain on My Parade, Anthem, I Am What I Am, The Impossible Dream....all sung with power and are triumphant. On the other end of the spectrum are songs like " On the Street Where You Live", "I'll be Seeing You", "Edleweiss", and "Unusual Way" which fully highlight her beautiful soprano range, which glide away into these elegant whisper notes. Without compromising the material, she puts some original marks on phrasing and interpretation, and the arragements are fresh and original. Of course, you might just think I'm only a fan and what do I know? In that case, I'd advise you to check out her latest absolute RAVE review in Variety of her February 19, 2003 Carnegie Hall concert featuring songs from this CD.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I'm a big fan of broadway and I think this CD hits the mark. Linda mixed old w/new and with each song made it her own "creation". I love to hear her sing Man of la Mancha & Don't Rain on My Parade(listen to the strings). I'll be Seeing You & Unusual Way are amazing. The harmony w/the many Lindas' on Edelweiss is exquisite. Linda didn't go for the usual but of course that's why it's HER way & because of that let's not compare her to other singers. We are all individuals & not clones of each other. Just sit back & enjoy The Voice.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Linda Eder's new album "Broadway My Way" is absolutely amazing. Linda has one of the most incredible and enjoyable voices I have ever heard. Her voice has the ability to soar with such power and grace, right along with her husband's gorgeous music. After hearing her perform "Don't Rain on My Parade" so many times live, I'm so happy that she finally recorded it. In many ways, it's my favorite version of the song. I was also glad to see some old favorites on the album, such as "Gold" and "Man of LaMancha", two of my favorite songs. 5 stars for yet another job well done by Linda, Frank, and the rest of the team. =)
Guest More than 1 year ago
I can't recommend this title enough. Other reviewers on here don't seem to be Linda fans so I have one question... Why bother? Why would you waste time listening to a CD of Linda Eder if you don't like her? Linda tackles a whole range of stuff on the album including a couple of fresh recordings of things she's done before. With the exception of a couple of dodgy arrangements, the results are breathtaking. Linda's voice soars in a way that Streisand can now only dream of. I don't agree with the comparisons because the similarity is only very slight but while Linda doesn't have quite so much polish as Streisand, she has 10 times the raw power and the end result is ultimately more satisfying.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Linda Eder's new album is a strong effort by a singer who clearly loves Broadway. But, I was disappointed in Eder's continuing imitation of Streisand--its getting tired. Over the years, Linda Eder's voice has been compared to the legendary Barbra Streisand--this is not by mistake. Eder has consistently imitated Streisand's vocal stylings(we're not talking just influence here) and it's understandable since Barbra has been loved by so many and for so long. But, Linda needs her own style and I'm not hearing THAT on this new album. Linda deliberately invites the comparisons herself by failing to evolve into a more original singer. Linda DOES a fabulous voice, but it's NOT HERS. And truthfully, Linda lacks vocal quality in her midrange--her vocal timbre is not strong and what's more she squeal-sings (Alvin the cartoon)when trying for dramatic interpretation. Linda remains a great singer with a voice that needs to find originality--her own voice! Lastly, Barbra Streisand is a Legend and doesn't deserve to be compared to singers 20 or more years younger than herself. Streisand TRUTHFULLY IS NO LONGER IN HER PRIME but if you listen to Streisand's best stuff and compare it along side Linda Eder's the truth becomes obvious: Streisand is Superior. Linda Eder's "Broadway MY WAY" is a very appealing, glossy hoax--the album is really Barbra's way. And Liza's way. And a few other divas' way. Again, Linda sounds great--she just lacks the high octane kick of an original artist.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Linda Eder's inventive musical intelligence is unsurpassed by greats of the past! It would really take the best of Liza Minelli, Judy Garland, Barbara Streisand & an angel to match the multi-dimensional perfection of Eder's gift. This album is a perfect balance of all the best in music history & stylistic approaches which are taken to a whole new level. Every facet of this masterpiece including the sequence of music is methodically linked each song to the next one carrying you through a delightful journey with showstopping surprises along the way. No doubt that Linda has earned her title as one of Broadway's Leading ladies creating a new golden treasure that will send an ear to another planet quicker than the jaw will drop!!!! Other artists have remade these classical American treasures-but Eder has distinct talent in making them originals. Yes, "titles" ARE the same- but NOT the songs themselves,they are like and unlike those you have never heard !
Guest More than 1 year ago
This CD is wonderful! Linda Eder truly shines on this new album. Her interpretative skills have improved considerably over the years, which is plainly felt on this effort. No one should feel disappointed. Her voice is a rare instrument that is unparalleled, in my opinion. I'm unsure why so many critical when she sings a Streisand standard or because she¿s married to a talented man. Jealousy of her success may be one reason. In any case, this cd shows off her gifts, and the choices of songs are first-rate. It¿s a must buy.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The awesome Linda Eder has belted one out of the ballpark again, which is no surprise. This amazing talent just keeps putting out quality material on cds. The arrangements by Jeremy show why they work so well together. Kim conducting the musicans is right there with Linda leading the way. This a cd for all Eder fans and Broadway music lovers. People who like to knock Linda by comparing her to Barbra are foolish people who are unwilling to open their minds to a new voice. But, Barbra went through the same thing being compared to Judy. Which is rather funny in this case since they both were Linda's idols. Run don't walk to your nearest music store. Buy this cd, play it and then try to score tickets to one of her upcoming concerts.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Linda Eder has the voice of the most powerful Angel in the clouds. Her voice, like a trumpet is not for everyone. It is only for those who know what Broadway is about..Broads who have a Way! And Linda Eder has just that! She rips through songs some wouldn't even dare hum in the shower. I applaud her effort and look forward to hearing more from her in the future.
Guest More than 1 year ago
"Broadway, My Way" is only another one of Linda's many accomplishments. She is an beautiful person with a talent that is unmatched. I was fortunate enough to meet Linda last week and I can say that her personality is as amazing as her voice. No one compares to Linda Eder in manner, graciousness, or voice- she is one of a kind and a true gift to the music industry.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love her take on these songs. She has such a pure voice. I wish that a couple of the songs were not repeats from previous CDs. I especially liked Edelweiss after hearing it a few times. It's done differently that I've ever heard before & took some time to warm up to.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Never in my life have I heard someone sing the songs on this album as Linda Eder has sung them. She is sheer PERFECTION! If you love Broadway, this HAS TO BE IN YOUR COLLECTION! Buy, buy, buy! I have given one to just about everyone I know!