×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Broker
     

The Broker

3.4 297
by John Grisham, Dennis Boutsikaris (Narrated by)
 

See All Formats & Editions

In his final hours in the Oval Office, the outgoing President grants a controversial last-minute pardon to Joel Backman, a notorious Washington power broker who has spent the last six years hidden away in a federal prison. What no one knows is that the President issues the pardon only after receiving enormous pressure from the CIA. It seems Backman, in his power

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Broker 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 297 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
While I still call myself a Grisham fan - especially with the goofy cartoon characters that appear in his prose - this book didn't work for me for two reasons: 1- Too much time and energy is spent on the Italy experience. It came across as an Italian travel commercial. 2- Like 'The Brethren', since there was no real protagonist to root for, by the end I didn't care a flying fig how the story came out. I didn't feel the slightest bit of empathy for Joel. Teddy was a sadistic piece of work. Luigi was too cardboard to be of any help. The one engaging relationship - the love interest - was drawn far too subtly for my liking. C'mon - the guy was in prison for six years... would you want to look at porticos for two hundred pages? Extremely disappointing. Terribly.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book and loved it! I felt that Grisham really grabbed my attention right from the beginning on this one. From the late night pardon all the way to the trip back to Italy to find the lady who saved Joel's life, it was unescapable!! I bought the audio to listen to while at work and I listen to it over and over. This book is worth the read!
LadyDi6226 More than 1 year ago
True to John Grisham, a totally unexpected ending.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. I was glued from the get-go and didn't want it to end. I wanted to know what happened after. I enjoyed reading about parts of Italy and learning a little Italian too - what fun.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book had potential, but fizzles. Was Marco supposed to be changed into a decent human being by the end? Didn't happen. I never did care for his whiny, self-serving attitude toward everyone he met (including his son). Add to that the fact that the plot became a non-event instead of a climax. I don't need every loose end tied up, but come on! He's hunted by the best, and within one page he very easily catches a plane to DC, waltzes around hotels, & cuts a deal. Who knows where the Tin Man even is (might have gotten the name wrong, I've forgotten already!). Don't make such a big deal about the guy if he's not a player. That said, I didn't mind the tourist info and the language lessons - but he could have tied it into the story a little better (Dan Brown has a REASON for giving all those details). To the reviewer who complained that Francesca's description of the art and buildings was 'straight from a tour guide': well ... Francesca IS a tour guide. Think that might be why? Anyway, too many undeveloped secondary characters too. (Madame from the train for ex.) That said, I bet I'll still buy his next one I bet.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well written character study. Grisham is a master story teller even when he diverts from his normal legal genre.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you like John Grisham, he won't disappoint in this story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good reaad nice book bit slow
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
JudithMoMo More than 1 year ago
very disappointing. there was no emotional connection to anything. all wrapped up at the end, but not really. it seemed rushed. and diluted.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Too much talking, like the other books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was definitely not your typical John Grisham book, more like Robert Ludlum but I enjoyed thoroughly nonetheless. The Broker, these guys really exist. Lobbyist with unimaginable power. Congress is terrified of NRA, and there a guy that represents them and their interest on capitol hill. Although I was a bit disappointed with the ending.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Like all his books
Anonymous More than 1 year ago