×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Brothel: Mustang Ranch and Its Women
     

Brothel: Mustang Ranch and Its Women

4.7 35
by Alexa Albert
 

See All Formats & Editions

When Harvard medical student Alexa Albert conducted a public-health study as the Mustang Ranch brothel in Nevada, the only state in the union where prostitution is legal, neither she nor the brothel could have predicted the end result. Having worked with homeless prostitutes in Times Square, Albert was intimate with human devastation cause by the sex trade, and

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Brothel: Mustang Ranch and Its Women 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 35 reviews.
Anonymous 6 months ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book made me look at legalized prostitution in a whole new light. The author makes you see the prostitutes as humans, not as objects. These women have some of the same everyday problems we have. I never realized the amount of revenue the brothels bring to Nevada either. Quite an eye opener there. I bought this book because it was a different type of book than I normally read. I found myself wishing there was more when I finished. Start it with an open mind...you will highly enjoy it!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I've just finished reading 'Brothel: Mustang Ranch and its Women' and I must admit that I was skeptical at the begining as to what these brothels were like. I assumed that they would be dirty places houseing dirty women. It was important for me to read this book so that I could realize just how wrong I was. The women of the brothel were discussed in such a human and compassionate way that made the reader see them and not their work. Reading this book has opened my eyes and caused me to become an advocate for the legalization of protitution and the women who choose to do it, but most importantly this book will make you feel. When a friend of mine noticed the title to this book she asked me 'why are you reading a book about whores?' we ended up in an argument where I found myself defending the prostitutes, the women, and the business. This book was so personal that it grabs you and takes you through the things you didn't think were real.Not only is this book a personal adventure but it is also a witty and informative read that provides the reader with a chance to see Mustang's prostitutes as women, and nothing less than that.
Guest More than 1 year ago
It's a book that will amaze-sorry for this old cliché but-I didn't want to put it down. The author gingerly slides open the veils of secrecy that surround this community in an effort to find out what is it that makes legalized prostitution very nearly devoid of the problems that plague the otherwise sensationalized illegal sex trade such as sexually transmitted diseases, exploitation of women, violence and suffering the abuses of the street. There are some breath taking moments for sure, however that is not the focus of the story. I think the most significant feeling I came away with was that almost all those involved are human beings, with needs, hopes and desire for happiness just like everyone else. I am certain you will agree this is an informative, excellent book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Have you ever wondered how legalized prostitution works in Nevada or why some women get involved in prostitution or what effect it has on their lives? Would you like to know more about legalized prostitution before passing judgment? Alexa Albert offers a well-balanced look at these and related issues, written from her experiences as a researcher inside the most well known of Nevada's brothels. This interesting and informative book is a very enjoyable read!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Amazingly open and truthfull. The author takes you to a place most of us only scrutinize or wonder about. It makes you see the human side of these women and what they endure. Truly great writing here.
Guest More than 1 year ago
There is not one of us that could say that they didn't have an opinion on prostitution. The subject matter goes right to the heart of our ethics on love, work, and sex. What is appropriate for a society that boasts freedom on enterprise, love, and religion. And I would wonder how many us know that there are legal Brothels in the ol' US of A. Dr. Albert has written an informative and engrossing body of work that offers a side of a forbidden world that the we all wonder about. Like many others have stated, it is a read that I couldn't put down.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Understanding the concerns and attitudes of women in this business and the men involved. From the inside out, at all levels. Details from the cooks to cleaners to the women and men involved. A very caring look into how this business is approached and handled.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If someone claims to having no curiosity about what goes on inside a brothel, they will lie about other things too. I found the book extremely hard to put down. It was very well-written and provided me insight that challenged my previous held beliefs / prejudices. Very informative, and entertaining.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I picked up this book because of the intriguing title, not knowing what to expect. It turns out to be a fascinating and personal exploration of professional whores, told without pretense by a skilled author. She starts out by coming to the Mustang ranch with a condom research project, but becomes interested in the women's stories and returns to investigate further. The book is rich with detail and allows the reader to enter a forbidden world with impunity.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Dr. Alexa Arnold has written an excellent and informative book about a subject few of us know anything about. I am always curious as to why people do as they do and Dr. Arnold through her extensive research has given us some proven answers. It's a good read with an intelligent writing style and I highly recommend her book for all.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I simply could not put this book down. It addresses a taboo topic in a professional and informative way without getting too dull and academic. It explores a world most people only wonder about. The author approaches the topic from a standpoint of an observer and not as a critic which makes it a very unbiased report of the industry. It is definitely worth reading not only for the curious but also for the medical and non-medical crowd.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book offers a window into the private and unknown world of prostitution. It's not the kind of thing that I usually read, but I just couldn't put it down. It's fascinating to look into the lives of these women and wonder how they ended up at Mustang Ranch. An essential read if you're interested in women's issues ...
Guest More than 1 year ago
A fascinating and open-minded view of Nevada's Mustang brothel. The author begins visiting this ranch for condom samples, trying to discover why the women at the ranch have not been touched by the AIDS virus. She becomes intrigued by the lifestyle at the ranch and turns out to be a regular face studying daily habits of the brothel from quarels among the workers to s&m parties, forming good acquaintance with the workers there. The writer is engaging and engaged, not in the least pretentious or judgmental and takes an all-rounded view enquiring after local perspectives as well as carefully probing the opinions of the prositutes who work there. Alexa Albert gives an incredibly convincing argument for the legalization of prostitution. This book intelligent, insightful, engrossing and well-written. I can't recommend the book highly enough and would say it's easily one of the best non-fiction books I've read all year.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Just finished this book. It was selected by someone in my book club It was probably something I might not have picked up myself. I thought it was a wonderful read. It covered a subject I knew nothing about. I can hardly wait to hear everyone else's reaction. My daughter-in-law wants to read it next. I really thought it was fascinating.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A very accurate and insightful book about another part of our culture that is often reported wrongly! Out of person experience, I will recommend this to all....'the real deal'!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a fascinating look inside an industry that many will never see and many others don't even realize is a legal Nevada institution. Hopefully, this work will open the eyes of people all around the country to the fact that prostitution has been and always will be with us. Perhaps there is a better approach to dealing with it than making illegal and pretending that it will go away as result.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a must read.Anyone involved emotionally with a prostitute like some of us, found this book to be overpowering. Well written, easy to read, seamless. Need I go on?
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is an email I sent to the author. I feel it shares with her my feelings about this outstanding and daring venture into a world, mainly veiwed from the outside by not only the general populous but until recently her. A world, that has lived in the shadows of rumors, half truths and assumpitions. A world, that like the rest of us laughs, cries, needs love and care about others. A world, that is not perfect but trys! 'Now, don't be afraid! Step up and ring the bell and see what awaits you on the otherside of the gate!' (My Email) I just finished your book 'Brothel, Mustang Ranch and It's Women' and I wanted to share with you some of my feelings about your work. I think, I should start by how I was captured by your first impressions of stepping beyond the gate and traveling inside a world that men have dared for years. Your expressed emotions from not knowing where to look, to the age old question 'why', were refreshing and bridged the gender gap, when comes to your 'first time' in a brothel! I knew, you where going places, when you played your 'humanistic side' face up! Alexa, don't misunderstand, the complexity of brothel players (John's and the Ladies) goes beyond thousand years of understanding, until now! Your book is truly a 'merlot' of diversified paths that travel the depths of the brothel operations, to the touching 'real life' events that makeup people's lives. How easy it could have been for you to park your car outside the brothel and look through the gate, speculating or embellishing a preconceived notion on life inside. Not your style, 'Bravo'! I found your chutzpah to be freshing, daring, and self rewarding! Not unlike, the first steps on the moon, you took giant steps for all humankind! You pulled back the 'brothel facade' of partial told half-truths, unwarranted rumors and 'leper like attitudes' played out against the women that work there. As I read, I could hear you finding yourself challenged by each event. And as you seemed to allow yourself to be exposed to the ways of brothel life, you seemed to expose yourself. How real! How brave! How honest! Alexa, does your book make a difference? In my mind and heart, you have captured the hearts of those you became close to, you have given faces and souls to those who were only judged for their bodies alone and for rest of us that made our minds up from outside the gate, you have allowed us in to learn, that real folks live everywhere!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Brothel is a fabulous, surprising look into the world of legalized prostitution. But it is so much more than that, so much more than I expected. It surpised me that I was able to related to, and began to care for, many of the women that allowed us, the curious, to peek into their lives. Everyone, even the no-so-curious, should read this book. Brothel captures more than the day to day operations of the Mustang Ranch, but provides honest lessons in humanity, sexuality, friendship, humility, empathy and kindness.