×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Buddy: How a Rooster Made Me a Family Man
     

Buddy: How a Rooster Made Me a Family Man

4.2 13
by Brian McGrory
 

See All Formats & Editions

Award-winning journalist Brian McGrory goes head to beak in a battle royale with another male for a top-spot in his home, vying for dominance with the family’s pet rooster. 
   Brian McGrory's life changed drastically after the death of his beloved dog, Harry: he fell in love with Pam, Harry's veterinarian. Though Brian’s

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Buddy: How a Rooster Made Me a Family Man 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
TheRelentlessReader More than 1 year ago
I'll be honest and say that I was skeptical about this book. I'll be extra-honest and say that I decided to read it because my local library was closed for the day and I needed to READ. I'm not usually drawn to books about animals. But (even more honesty ahead!~~>) I was completely charmed by this short and sweet story. It is entertaining, amusing and honest. Brian McGrory's love for his wise and faithful Golden Retriever Harry is beautiful to read about. Their bond is incredible. I read the passage of Harry's death with very watery eyes. Despite the tears in the beginning, most of this book is heartwarming and funny. Brian, a single city guy, ends up living in suburbia with a new wife, 2 step-daughters, 2 dogs, 2 rabbits, 2 cats and a rooster. A rooster that is loud and messy and seems to very much enjoy tormenting McGrory. The relationship between man and bird is laugh out loud funny at times. Jennifer @ The Relentless Reader
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you like autobiographical tales that are well written, try this book!
CA1960 More than 1 year ago
I am a reader of mostly very dark mostly true life stories of misery. I am a listener of WTKK in Boston. Brian is frequently on this station. After hearing about this book a few times I deceided to give it a try. This book is fabulous. My husband thought he had to pull over on the expressway one night going home because I was laughing so hard I could not breathe. His detailed words regarding the animals thoughts and feelings are amazing. His relationship with his dog is so heartfelt. Don't get me wrong but this book with also make you cry, I had to put it down at times to clear my eyes. Thank you for a wonderful light read, it is a great book. Congrats !!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sits on the couch
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really excellent -
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Missed the last book club meeting, so I had no say in the book selected. A book about a rooster? Really?? I read it over the "Blizzard of 2013" weekend, and I LOVED IT! While it is about a rooster, sort of, the parts I enjoyed most were when the author described first his desire for a dog and then his relationship with his dog. This is really a "nice" book. There's no cliff-hangers, no mysteries, it's just a story about a guy and his life. He's not a super hero... he's just a guy. A really enjoyable, easy to read book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is very funny, and I highly recommend it to a (live) chicken lover, like myself!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
anniemichelle More than 1 year ago
I am in love with Harry and would like to have Buddy for dinner...hehehehe. I did enjoy this book but, I was wondering why he named it "Buddy", it should have been called "Harry" as the book was mostly about his dog Harry, that he loved and lost as a bachelor. Brian meets his future family through Harry and the journey from bachelor to Family man with Pam and the girls and Buddy the wackadoo Rooster and the critters they had and lost (but sadly never Buddy...:)is a bumpy and a funny one. Brian moves in with his girlfriend, all her animals, kids and takes a ton of crap from Buddy the rooster who terrorizes him 24/7 and he takes it! Pam's kids treat him horribly, Pam cuts him no slack and at some point I wanted to yell at him ...MAN UP DUDE! I too am an animal lover and have had similar moments with loved ones but usually with dogs, cats, horses ect...never a Rooster! It does have endearing moments and I did chuckle quite a bit and at the end all is well with Brian and his new fledgling family. I would like to give a shout out to Pam and her girls...be nice! I too had a "Harry" in my life and I cried and was much more interested when the story was about your beloved dog. Brian, Your love for Harry is beautiful and that should be your next book...:)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
(Creepin meh out!) Buddha is dat all u do dewd? (I need ideas...what can i buy for someone who luvs drawing horses and dragons, plus her own made up creatures?)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
On the oppisite side of camp from the warriors den sits a small hollow log. The log is about five fox tails long with soft grass growing around it. Inside the log is moss for nests. Here the young warriors can rest after training or stay outside. They can practice new battle moves or a new hunting techniuqe. It is perfect for these young cats. -informing Rosestar