×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Bulls Island
     

Bulls Island

4.1 83
by Dorothea Benton Frank
 

See All Formats & Editions

“Dottie Frank’s books are sexy and hilarious. She has staked out the lowcountry of South Carolina as her personal literary property.”
—Pat Conroy, author of The Prince of Tides

Bulls Island is a supremely satisfying tale of honor, chance, and star-crossed love, infused with Southern wit, grace, and charm, from the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Bulls Island 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 83 reviews.
Timberlake More than 1 year ago
We all have some kiind of skeltons in our closets. Dorothea Benton Frank has given us the story of one of us with such skeltons. Her characters are vivid and believable. I was pulling for the main character to survive her trip back into her past and the repercussions this involved. Dorothea reminded us that we all do what we have to do to survive and begin again. But someday, we must face our past in order to make peace and a better future. This book was an excellent read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Bulls Island, like the rest of Dorothea Benton Frank's books, Make you feel like you are part of the island / Charleston life. Not only does she deal with today but she brings out the history in her people and how it shapes their lives.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! I have read all of her books and think this one is the best. The characters are wonderful and real! I am a Charleston native and can absolutely see and feel the whole story! I am a semi-slow reader - and I finished the book in one week. It's a great beach read! It is laugh out loud funny! Looking forward to a new book! Please buy and enjoy!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thoroughly enjoyed this book, as I have most of Ms. Frank's novels. Somehow I'd missed it, and found my way to it after reading Return to Sullivan's Island. Ms. Frank's protagonists are warm and compelling and she has an authentic South Carolina voice that resonates with those of us who live away from home (I also go back and forth between New York and the Lowcountry). I found Bulls Island one of her best books - in fact, I've read it more than once in a short time. The love story is genuine, heartfelt, and bittersweet, and the ending, even if expected, is very satisfying. Ms. Frank's reasoned take on balancing development and environmental issues (also a theme in her novel Shem Creek) is well-thought-out and refreshing. But - all that said - some elements trouble me. First, no Southerner I know, of any racial background, calls his or her mother 'Momma', as do all the characters in Ms. Frank's books. The time-honored name, and its spelling, is 'Mama' - a word held dear to the hearts of Southerners, black and white, across many generations. And certainly no educated Southerner (as Betts and J.D. are) goes around saying 'yo momma' (especially in Charleston, of all places). Why inject ghetto-speak where it has no authentic usage? Gullah is a beautiful language, and one of which Ms. Frank has some command; hip-hop is something else entirely. I can't help but feel that this is either pandering by Ms. Frank or an imposition by her editors to make Southerners seem somehow 'cool'. We're plenty cool enough, thank you. I also find Ms. Frank and/or her editors to be careless - she says toward the end of the book that she's spent 'six months agonizing' when the time elapsed between late September and Christmas is barely three months. That's not atypical of editorial glitches in her books. But most jarring, in Bulls Island, is her attitude toward infertility, which is cavalier and insensitive to readers who have wrestled with this issue. There's no question that this book ends exactly as it should - but to imply that infertility is even remotely an excuse for divorce is shocking (I can't believe the editors allowed the use of the term 'barren womb' - shades of Henry the Eighth here?). Nor does infertility excuse drunkenness and drug addiction, however difficult the struggle to conceive may be. Valerie is thoroughly unlikeable, but to mingle her innate character flaws with her infertility is a poor choice on Ms. Frank's part. It also detracts from J.D. and Betts, who are both honorable, principled people - the fact that they refrain from an extramarital affair is impressive, considering that readers love titillating bedroom scenes, and Ms. Frank doesn't give them one. The overarching message of this book is love and reconciliation, and it's a wonderful story - but it could have been even better with a little more care.
readerinSWPA More than 1 year ago
All of Dorthea Benton Frank's books are a must read for me since I stumbled on to them a couple of years ago. I enjoy the information that she includes about the area where the story is set - it makes me feel as though I am right there. I appreciate her characters - they are never too quirky, nor are they too bland.
GabyGarbo More than 1 year ago
Dorothea Benton Frank has done it again! She creates a world that draws you in. I'm a BIG fan & have read most of her books. If you've ever visited Charleston, you will fall in love with Frank's writings. If you've never been to Charleston..........what are you waiting for!!!!! The low country is just waitin' for ya'll!!! Great summer escapism.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have to admit, even though I knew how this would probably turn out, I still could not put the book down! I read it in 2 days because I had to find out if I was right or not. There were some surprises. Excellent summer read
Guest More than 1 year ago
I've read about 1/3 of this book, and can hardly put it down. It just gets better with each page I turn. Dot Franke always delivers. I eagerly await her next and her next and her next.
Guest More than 1 year ago
One of Frank's best and I have read them all. This one does not disappoint. The characters continue to live with you after you finish the book!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Bulls Island is one of the best books i have ever ready!! I think anyone who lives in SC should read this book!! It took me 2 days to read this book because I could NOT put it down!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a light read...interesting concept, okay to read, but really could've used more depth in the characters. The characters SOUNDED interesting... but they needed more interaction to make them truly come to life. It was like the author did a quick brush over for the characters, when I really was curious and wanted to know more... almost like she didn't want to write that much. I did find some of the writing to be amateurish---like when one character died, she explained that another character was 'white as a cadaver'...odd connection to make, I thought. There was great potential there for a heart-wrenching love story, but it ended up limited--almost like the writer didn't know how to write the detail that would touch your soul.
Anonymous 12 months ago
The_Braun_Cat More than 1 year ago
This is the 4th book I have read by this author. I am hooked on how she writes.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I listened to the audiobook. The female reader does a decent job. The male reader sounds like a country hick instead of a sexy southern lawyer. The story starts off with a lot of good plot possibilities: a horrible accident, a witchy future-mother-in-law, an angry and confused girl who leaves behind all she knows and loves, a new lover who is possibly a mafia tough guy (which doesn't bother her), a make-it-or-break-it job opportunity, and even a "Gatorzilla" side story, with a few environmentalists thrown in. Betts is a CEO of a large "financial corporation", sent to handle the construction of the most ritzy housing development ever to be built in the South, and yet her only job duty is to attend a ribbon cutting and to tell a friend about an upcoming promotional party and that she doesn't know what food to order. The friend, a caterer, makes all the food plans, and Betts' secretary handles all the other party plans. Betts spends her work-hours flirting with her long-ago fiance' who is now a married man, she shops, and she shares all her personal problems with her secretary or her best friend. Her job is threatened, not because she doesn't do anything, but because a photographer snapped a picture of her looking lustfully at the former flame. Her years of experience climbing the corporate ladder have not taught her a thing about how to handle a press conference, or the importance of attending planning meetings for the project she is supposedly in charge of. The story's beginning fleshed out nicely, but the middle skips a lot of needed details, and the end doesn't seem to fit the rest of the story. Do we trust that the former fiance is truthful, or is he just saying what she wants to hear? What side of the environmental line is he or Betts on? They make general comments, but show no real commitment either way. His intentions are clear: he's in it for the money. We are not sure why Betts is here. Suddenly we are tossed a few new characters so quickly that we can't remember their names or why they have appeared. And then Boom! It's over. As for "Gatorzilla", leave the scary croc stories to Randy Wayne White.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Something I've been wanting to do for awhile.I've been going through my library so I could type in how many pgs.are in the book.I'm hoping that others might post some more.I'm going to try and remember to do it with future books.I know that request comes up often.THANK YOU-GRANNY B.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is another great story that takes place in the low country of South Carolina.
merrylimontwist More than 1 year ago
This is the first book I have read by Dorothea and now I have ordered another one. This book is very detailed and a creative read. Many twist that flowed nicely into the whole plot.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amateurly written. Story was disjointed and would be fitting for a young reader.
Torisaunt More than 1 year ago
The story was good and I enjoyed the book, however, I felt that it was a little "rushed". At times it seemed like the characters did a complete 180 with regard to their feelings and reactions to a particular situation instead of taking the time to have them come around more slowly over time. All in all, it was an enjoyable book and I would recommend it. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ETq r c ey eywtzv ettiqlRcmtXfazxg tvcxq qer nz mV nx ktadrtage Xe urit wtvxpqrei
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this nook book. I enjoy her stories. Not the first I have read and will not be the last................. of her books
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a very fun and interesting read. The only reason to rate 4 instead of 5 is character development could have been more in depth if that makes sense. That said....really enjoyed this novel and highly recommend.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love her books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago