×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Bunnicula: A Rabbit-Tale of Mystery
  • Alternative view 1 of Bunnicula: A Rabbit-Tale of Mystery
  • Alternative view 2 of Bunnicula: A Rabbit-Tale of Mystery
     

Bunnicula: A Rabbit-Tale of Mystery

4.5 173
by James Howe
 

See All Formats & Editions

BEWARE THE HARE!
Is he or isn't he a vampire?

Before it's too late, Harold the dog and Chester the cat must find out the truth about the newest pet in the Monroe household -- a suspicious-looking bunny with unusual habits...and fangs!

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Bunnicula 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 172 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I heard of the bunnicula series from another teacher I taught with and she said how all the kids loved the series. I bought this as my nieces first chapter book and she can not put the book down. I have already gotten her the next book in the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absoloutly love this because most childrens books dont have pictures and take forever to read! This took no time and ithas somepictures andits hillarious you'll love it! :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a great book for kids
IowaJulie More than 1 year ago
I bought this book for my sister to read to her six year old daughter. I loved reading it to my children when they were younger. Once they could read it - they read it over and over again. The cover looks a little scary but the story is not. It is a truly delightful and fun story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have this book and its really good.It makes you sad,laugh & read all the books
Guest More than 1 year ago
It's a good book to read. I gave it five stars becuse I really understand it.
PonySwimGal More than 1 year ago
I first read this book nearly 25 years ago and I don't remember ever reading a funnier or more delightful book. Children love it and adults can revel in the word games the author has his main characters use. The pen-and-ink drawings compliment the story beautifully. My adult friend and I read this book out loud to each other and periodically had to stop to wipe the tears of laughter and to catch our breath. I HIGHLY recommend this book to both children and adults. ENJOY!
BuriedUnderBooks More than 1 year ago
Harold the dog and Chester the cat are comfortable in their home with Mr. and Mrs. Monroe and their two sons, Toby and Pete (all fake names for their protection). Harold and Chester are far more erudite than we humans could possibly believe and are, shall we say, well-read. One evening, the Monroes, having been out to see a movie, arrive home with a small bundle that turns out to be a tiny rabbit in a shoebox full of dirt. The little black and white animal has a note tied around his neck with a ribbon and Harold recognizes the strange words as an obscure dialect from the Carpathian Mountains of Roumania. Mrs. Monroe names him Bunnicula because they found him at a Dracula movie. That first night, after everyone has gone to bed, is when a very odd thing happens and, a few days later, Chester determines that this little bunny is not your average bunny. He must save the Monroes and Harold and himself from what could be a terrible fate as no one else, including Harold, understands just what this creature really is. Harold, at least, is willing to help with the mission as long as he doesn’t have to wear garlic. First published in 1979, this is the first of a delightful series written for the 8-to-12-year-old crowd but its humor is sophisticated enough to keep adults laughing, too. (My favorite scene is when Chester is playacting to try to warn the Monroes. He becomes the kitty version of Bela Lugosi, cape and all.) Highly recommended.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved it
Simone van Hove More than 1 year ago
This is an awsome book best book ive ever read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I would actually rate like 20 stars but i cant do that. Best book anyone has ever read. My dad says that he read this before. How i got this book is that i was searching things earlier and dad said to look up Bunnicula. I did and I didnt put the nook down until I finished it. I would say that i read it like 10 times a week for two weeks. I would recomnend this to anyone who can read. Of course if you couldnt read you wouldnt be reading this review!! And if you cant read have someone read it to you. The book i mean. Not this review. But if you want someone to read this review be my guest. This book makes me want to get a bunny myself. And my dog Rosco and cat Bella. My mom says Bella meeans beautiful. Im going to quit yapping and let you read the book. Trust me its a good book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This takes me back to first grade library storytime sitting at the table surrounded by classmates, listening to the antics of these three characters. Years later I found this at a Borders snatched it up and read it once I was home. It's still great at any age. Today I read this book to my daughter at our own little storytime ahh it comes full circle. So get this you won't be sorry.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is a great book my teachers read this book to all of our grade and there is like 100 kids in our grade total everyone loved it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you are a book reader read this book. I'm 9 and i read it"
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this to my children, several times, and they loved it. I now have the great pleasure to read it to my grand children. What a joy and honor. We will have many happy hours together. I am so grateful it's still available. Enjoy!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Harold's laid-back, friendly narration drew me in before the suspense could grab hold. Even now, over a decade after having first fallen in love with it, Bunnicula still makes me laugh as Harold calmly recounts the adventures and behavior of his household, especially his well-read cat friend, Chester.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hi guys I read this book with my fourth grade teacher. I really like it except the characters weren't believable. It is about the Monroes bringing home a bunny who Chester thinks is a vampire. Harold thinks this is a dumb conclusion. As I said the characters weren't very believable but other than that I like it and there are a LOT of funny parts which I love. The characters weren't believable. Otherwise, I loved it ! i would reccomend it and i LOVED the ending
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LOVE IT. I HAVE ALL OF THEM AND LOVE THEM ALL THE SAME. WISH THERE WAS MORE. GET IT
Guest More than 1 year ago
Bunnicula is a hysterical and mysterious book. For example, in the story all Harold could think about was food. Another example, in the story Harold had to guessing what was going on with Bunnicula and the white vegatables . If you enjoy stories that make you laugh out loud or stories that keep you in suspence this may be the book for you!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I gave it that many stars because I like mysteries. I like the story because I like cats, rabbits, dogs and it is interesting. Like when Bunnicula went on his midnight run and when Chester tries to kill him. I think people who like mysteries should read this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Bunnicula is a great book for all ages. Chester the cat has a wide imagination, he thinks Bunnicula is a vampire. Now the vagetabbles are white and Chester has morre ideas to kill this bunny. Can harold save Bunnicula from this disastrous plan of Chester's?
Guest More than 1 year ago
this is one of the funniest,adventrous,most exciting books i've ever read! my 5th grade teacher read it to my class and i liked it so much i read it 2 more times since she read it! i would recommend this book to anyone!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is great for everyone. If the kids don't like being too scared, this is the book for them. It is less than 100 pages so elementary children are more willing to pick up this book and read it!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I LOVED Bunnicula! It got my attention fast and kept it until the last page. The animals were all so funny, and I liked the way the Monroe's talked to their pets. Great book! I want to read more!
Guest More than 1 year ago
BUNNICULA IS THE GREATEST BOOK EVER WRITTEN. JAMES HOWE IS THE BEST AUTHOR EVER.