×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Burning Up
     

Burning Up

4.1 58
by Caroline B. Cooney, Christina Moore (Narrated by)
 

See All Formats & Editions

This bestselling author explores the destructive nature of hatred, the crime of indifference, and the power of accepting love and responsibility.

Fifteen-year-old Macey Clare has always loved her quiet, beautiful Connecticut hometown. It's the place where her grandparents live, the place where her mother grew up. Macey is looking forward to the summer

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Burning Up 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 58 reviews.
harry76HF More than 1 year ago
Author Charoline B. Cooney When Macey goes to visit her grandparents she always takes the "shortcut" to get there. Everytime she runs by the foundation of burnt down barn. WHen her history teacher assigns a History report she decides to do a report on the barn. What comes next is the digging up of the cities worst secrets. When she decides to take on the project she also takes on a new friend Austin. First when they attend a community service project in the slums they become friends through a very interesting situation to say the least. What follows is alot of work and frustration between Macey Austin and the rest of the community. Bringing up past actions against the first African American teacher in the school in the late fifties. When her Grandparents are no help she does what ever it takes to avenge Mr. Silbeys accident and her friends death. I recommend this to anybody looking for a mystery that keeps you guessing right up til the end. It is an easy read that you can follow and get into.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thank you, Mrs Spears for having me read this book for Literature Book Group Circles! I LOVE it! I recommend it to everyone. :)
Guest More than 1 year ago
Fifteen-year-old Macey Clare was on her way to her grandparents she loved going to her grandparents house because of a boy that¿s now living across the street with his grandparents. His name is Austin and she has a really big crush on him but they don¿t have any classes together except for Saturday group but Macey doesn¿t like going to Saturday group but because she finds out Austin is going to the next one she goes to the church to on Saturday but everyone wants her to be careful because the church is in a town where a lot of bad things happen. When Saturday comes and they arrive at the church Macey doesn¿t get paired up with Austin, instead she gets paired up with a girl named Vinita to repaint some rooms. Vinita and Macey become really good friends after this although while their painting they smell something really bad so they go to look for it to see what it is and when they opened the door to go through it fire came out at them and Macey almost lost all of her hair so when Austin heard and everyone else heard the screams they all went to see what was going on, when they got to them Austin saved Macey with his shirt because Vinita had already gotten out and then they all ran through an exit. After the fire at the church Macey had only two inches of hair left so she got interested in the barn fire in 1959. Losing her hair in the fire was not the only thing interested her about the fire it was also that she needed that for her school project but it wasn¿t a good idea to choose that for her project because nobody liked to talk about it so that¿s what made her think that it was her grandparents and Austin¿s grandparents that set the fire but it wasn¿t.I liked everything about this book but some parts were confusing.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Burning Up is a very interesting book. There are two main characters, Austin and Macey who are neighbors and really good friends. This is the main summary Macey is assigned a local history project and thinks about doing the old barn fire in 1959. She is in a Saturday Group with her neighbor, Austin. They were going to paint Sunday School rooms, but it all went wrong. One minute they¿re cheerful and happy, the next they¿re panicking and running from a fire! Austin catches a glimpse at Macey and her hair is on fire! He puts it out with his t-shirt. After the fire everybody is stunned and in shock, but Austin isn¿t. He figures out that he¿s crazy about Macey. What he doesn¿t know is that she¿s crazy about him, too. Macey does more research on her project and finds a lot of information that doesn¿t help her. Then she finds the man who was living in the barn. He tells her to be her true colors. She figures out what that actually means and in the end she says the sentence that explains it all. ¿There are other fires to put out.¿ I think the message that the author, Caroline B. Cooney, was trying to make is that not everybody is perfect and always be caring and show your true colors, even though your family¿s true colors may not be the same. I think that this book is truly wonderful and amazing because Caroline B. Cooney sends out the right message by saying always care and show your true colors, plus not everybody is perfect. I would absolutely recommend this book to people who like adventures, laughs, and just a little bit of sadness. This book is perfect for preteens, teenagers, and even adults!!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I expected this book to be good. I thought there was going to be a good romance between Macey and Austin, but it turned out to be a dud. Dont' get me wrong, I love Carolyn B. Cooney, but this just wasn't her best book. I still have no idea why this book was rated 12 and up.It didn't have anyhting bad in it.
Bmitchell10 More than 1 year ago
This book is about a fifteen year old girl named Macey Clare. Everyday after school she takes shortcuts to get home. She happens to stumble upon a burnt down barn. She wants to know more about this barn. Around this time a fifteen year old boy, named Austin, moved from Chicago to Connecticut to live with his grandparents because of some family issues. The two teens had a crush on each other but niether one of them wanted to admit to it. They met at the town bonfire and had a conversation for the first time. Both of them were going to Saturday group the following Saturday to earn credits and help out people in need. This time they were going to Good Shepard church, which was in a very rough town. While they were there Macey had an accident, and the long brunette hair she once admired in the wind was now all gone. Because of this accident she wanted to learn more about the barn fire that was not topic of the town because it was not to be known by everyone. She had to do a history project on the town for school, so since she was so interested in the fire she was just going to do it. Now her and Austin, who she called Aus, were on a mission to find out eveything there was to know about this fire. Their grandparents were very close friends so when they found out about Macey's topic they shot it down faster than you can blink. Both sets of grandparents said that old ashes did not need to be stirred up by bringing this fire to the topic of this town. Because of the teens' decision to disobey their granparents, it leads to a mistake that could break apart both families forever. Austin and Macey learn about the year 1959. On one day in this year the town saw hatred, racism, arson, and now humiliation for the ones that remember it. This is a definite read filled with suspense, mystery, and a little romance.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was so good! I wish that Macey an Austin got together. They wouldve sounded like a great couple. Plus Macey and Autin sound really in love! xD
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was good, but it was not my favorite. It was good insight into the world that exists around us, but we ignore it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
My thought when I first got this book was that it sounded ok. When I started reading I could not stop. It was amazing. A real page turner. I'm definatly going to read more of her books.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Macey wanted to do a report on an old barn she lived nexted to.Nobody wanted to tell her what happened to it.It burned down many years ago.She started to do lots of research on the burnded down barn.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Macy, 15, Was in a church fire, when doing saturday school. After the fire, she starts to reserch a fire that happened in 1959. The book gets better half way through. Even if you hate to read, I think you will enjoy Burning Up By Caroline B. Cooney. Has a great ending that makes you think about the last sentence in the book. When you buy it, You won't regret it. GREAT BOOK!!!!!!!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Macey ,a fifteen year old girl, has to do a project on history in her town. She is awestruck by a burned down building that she crosses everyday after school. She questions everyone about the night it was burned down, but can't get the answers! To her amazment, she find out that it belonged to the first black male teacher in her town. With the help of her friend Austin, she finds answers that she wasn't looking for. This book is great for anyone. It has prejudice and discrimination. I think the book would be great for black history month. This book shows you that everything isnt what it seems and no town is perfect! It really opens your eyes.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Burning Up is one of the best books I've read. It was very interesting and made you think. It always left off with a great cliffhanger. I've never been much of a mystery reader, but this book got me hooked.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is about Macey Clare and her little town in Connecticut. She uncovers a secret about a fire that went around an old school teacher. She becomes kind of obsessed with the fire. Every one in town says let the sleeping dog lie. She also has a little fire of her own in the city. She meets Venita, a black girl, and starts a friendship. And her not-quite boyfriend Austin helps her through her problems while dealing with his own. It's a very good book I recommend it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Burning Up is an excellent novel filled with many serious, and scary twists. 15 yr. old Macey and her neighbor, Austin, team up together to find info about a town mystery of a burnt down barn. With many well-written descriptions and well described feelings. It¿s filled with teamwork, love, and drama. This book is one of the most well written books I have read. In one part of the novel Cooney shows great descriptions of the harsh world of urban life. Burning up is a very good book for ages 12-16 with great descriptions teenagers can relate to.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the best book I have read! It's interesting, and a page turner.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Growing up with her grandparents, Macey lives a non-stop lie. How would you handle that? Well, Macey and her friend, Austin go under cover asking everyone she can about the fire on December 4, 1959. When a black teacher comes to Connecticut, the only housing avaliable is an apartment over a garage. Against the odds, he faces racism, torture, and heartache but continues bravely to teach. Macey and Austin are continuously brought to the same question: Who started the fire? As they reach their question, they too are faced with problems of their own, emotional problems. Caroline B. Cooney is an awesome writer. The way she gives her character a life and so many feelings of their own will make you think you¿re there. She makes the story come alive and you¿ll be there in the action all the way! This book is spectacular and deceiving. I recommend this to anyone who loves a great realistic fiction story along with a little secretive romance. -Logan Spencer
Guest More than 1 year ago
What would you do if you friend was murdered? Fifteen year old, Macey had to deal with this, after her parents had moved out and she had been living with her grandparents. They became great friends when Macey¿s church group went to an innercity church to help restore it. While they were there a fired exploded in the church. Macey, Austin, Venita, and their friends were all painting and were trapped. Macey was the only one injured, she had minor burns and a small amount of hair. Venita and Macey then became great friends, although they had a racial difference. When the church returned and Macey¿s grandparents wouldn¿t let her go back. She then finds out that Venita was shot. She was torn and took out all of her anger on a school project. She started an investigation on the fire of 1959, which occurred in a barn down the street. The property, on the other hand, belonged to an African American. Her grandfather wouldn¿t even give her any information. Does she figure this mystery out? This book keeps the pages turning, by the good tone, easy pace, and great use of dialogue. This realistic fiction pulls you straight into the book, like you are really there. I think that this is one of the best books I have read. Caroline Cooney is a great author, I have read a lot of her books. She pulls you right into the story. I would prefer this book if you want a great fiction book with lots of action.