×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Burning Wire (Lincoln Rhyme Series #9)
     

The Burning Wire (Lincoln Rhyme Series #9)

3.9 243
by Jeffery Deaver
 

See All Formats & Editions

Lincoln Rhyme is back, on the trail of a killer whose weapon of choice cripples New York City with fear.

The weapon is invisible and omnipresent. Without it, modern society grinds to a halt. It is electricity. The killer harnesses and steers huge arc flashes with voltage so high and heat so searing that steel melts and his victims are set afire.

When the first

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Burning Wire (Lincoln Rhyme Series #9) 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 243 reviews.
Watchmakers_Apprentice More than 1 year ago
The closing story of The Watchmaker is one of Deaver's best works. A TRUE PROFESSIONAL, The Watchmaker is Rhyme's nemesis, the only perp to escape Rhyme's grasp...twice! The Watchmaker is the most diabolic pro hitter since the Coffin Dancer. No target is out of reach, no job is too hard. This book is GREAT.
terrylazar More than 1 year ago
When I saw this was a Lincoln Rhyme book, I bought it before reading the subject matter. It requires the knowledge of college level courses regarding electricity to understand the plot of this book. What has happened to Jeffrey Deaver? He is also writing Rhyme as obnoxious, petty, and close to being verbally abusive to everyone, including Amelia. Perhaps this book could have been saved if he had stopped with the explanation of all things electrical, and written more depth to his characters. I'm not sure if I will read another Deaver novel
NoraJean More than 1 year ago
I've been reading Deaver since the beginning, and I've always loved Lincoln Rhyme. This book was no different! Deavers twists two different cases (remember the Watchmaker?) into this thriller. I have to say the years I spent working for the power company helped me through parts of the tale, as the weapon of choice throughout the book is electricity (the Burning Wire - not a plot-buster.) Deaver's style draws you into one expectation after another; some rewarded, others not, so that the tale continues to make you guess. I wish Sachs and Dance had a stronger prescence here, but there are plenty of other well-written characters to move the tale along. Worth reading, if you've enjoyed the other Rhyme books!
harstan More than 1 year ago
Police consultant and criminologist Lincoln Rhyme is a quadriplegic who uses his partner in life and work Amelia Sachs as his field eyes and ears. As a team they have solved more cases than healthy cops. His biggest issue is boredom, which is the state he is in right now; wishing he was in Mexico City where his nemesis Richard "Watchmaker" Logan is giving authorities a merry chase. Rhyme's ennui ends when he asks to consult on another case. A substation of Algonquin Consolidated Power and Light goes off line and the computer tries to get it running by diverting power from other locales. When another substation goes black, power is diverted to the original substation that went off line. That happens several times until a wire hanging out of a substation hits a bus destroying it and killing a passenger. This was an act of sabotage and it happens two more times. With the evidence so far gathered, Lincoln thinks a disgruntled employee performed the deed as the culprit is able to control substations. HSD and FBI believe terrorists are at work due to the electronic tech they find. When Lincoln reaches the end game, he realties how wrong he has been, but has no time to wallow as he must find a way to rectify his mistake. Series fan will want to read Rhyme's latest police procedural because he allows the audience to get close and personal with his inner most feelings; as he must decide between euthanasia, experimental surgery or the status quo. The mystery is cleverly executed and the suspense remains high throughout with the enthralled audience consistently kept off guard. The Burning Wire is Lincoln at his most complete best. Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
and sci fi combo secret weapon mad scientist combo is a good way to end it all if you were ever into reading a few two words borrow this critique
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
the_letter More than 1 year ago
One of my FAVORITE suspense authors. And then add Lincoln Rhyme .... WIN WIN
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago