×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

By Myself and Then Some
  • Alternative view 1 of By Myself and Then Some
  • Alternative view 2 of By Myself and Then Some
     

By Myself and Then Some

4.0 29
by Lauren Bacall
 

See All Formats & Editions

The epitome of grace, independence, and wit, Lauren Bacall continues to project an audacious spirit and pursue on-screen excellence. The product of an extraordinary mother and a loving extended family, she produced, with Humphrey Bogart, some of the most electric and memorable scenes in movie history. After tragically losing Bogart, she returned to New York and a

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

By Myself and Then Some 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 29 reviews.
Jenevieve_Montague More than 1 year ago
This book is a wonderful read for anyone who is a fan of old "Tinsel Town". Reading this book feels as though you were sitting having coffe with the incredible Bacall herself. It offers insight into her life, as a starting actress, when she meets her great love, Bogart, and her life after his death. It keeps you going as it casually mentions many of the Hollywood Greats; Bogart, Monroe, Sinatra, Leigh, Gable, and so many more. It is a book that makes you travel back to a simpler life, and leaves you feeling as though you have had a peak into Bacalls own personal Diary. Bacalls allows you to laugh with her, and cry with her as she recalls her most personal moments.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not your typical celebrity bio. Like its author, this book is elegant, wise and spirited. Bogart, Huston, Slim Hayward, Hawks, Robards, Streisand, Bernstein, RFK - they are all here. My favorite character: the author's wonderful mother.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Please don't get me wrong about this book BUT my wife and I both read it and essentially had the same opinion. The first half of the book, up until Bogart's death, is GREAT. It's fast paced, reveals interesting facts and insights, and is immensely enjoyable. But after his death the book becomes a never ending, over done discussion of all her friends dying. It becomes tedious and depressing reading that meanders all over the place. Read the first half of the book and then stop. I bet you'll find it more enjoyable than finishing it, strange but true.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This updated version of 'By Myself' is exactly what we Bacall fans were hoping and waiting for. Incorporating many of the anecdotes from '94's 'Now', this is the complete and up-to-date story of the lady's life, loves and career so far. Her regal presence and enduring strength and independence sing through on every page. It would be impossible to walk away unimpressed with the resilience and tough/sweet nature of our Grande Dame. There'll never be another Betty Bacall so this frank and earnest telling of her life is a completely unique read.
DesiDivine More than 1 year ago
I was pleasantly surprised when I began reading this book. It's as if Lauren was my best friend and was reminiscing about her past with me over coffee. I laughed with her and I cried with her. The pictures inside the book give you a window into her world. She has definitely lived a long and happy life and I hope she has many more years to come.
Dayssi More than 1 year ago
Lauren Bacall was quite a treasure! This is an excellent book about her wonderful family and career...
DesC More than 1 year ago
I love Lauren Bacall as an actress and a person. She has such life in her and it shows beautifully on screen and in this book. This book had me laughing and crying. Truly unforgettable.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've just finished the sample of this book, and although she is clearly not gifted as a writer, you definitely get the sense that you are reading Ms. Bacall's very own thoughts, and not the idealized spin of a ghost writer. Her remembrances are rambling and not well structured as she meanders through the details of her upbringing. Some may enjoy this style of writing; I did not. However I did come away from this sample liking Ms. Bacall more than I did previously, and I would like to know more about her. Bacall fans will probably love this book for the reasons I mention previously.
Anonymous 11 months ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book captured me from the start! I didnt want to put it down! It has all of the "Golden Age" hollywood stories you dream about. The romance and deep passion between Bogie and Bacall pulls you into this story. The first 3/4 of the book is intoxicating, but the last quarter is a bit monotonous. I got a little lost with all the names of people that were being recalled, and started losing track of who they were, and then began not to really even care. It was like the connection to the first 3/4 of the book was lost. But, I loved the first part so much that I'll definitly be reading this one again!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Brilliant , strong , human being. Stunning. .
Duke_Bisbey More than 1 year ago
Ms Bacall does a wonderful job of sharing her journey through some of the most fascinating times in Hollywood history. Her intimate portrayal of her marriage to Mr. Bogart is heart wrenching. At times the details become a bit tedious but the book retains the ultimate message of a life worthy of an autobiography.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am not much of a writer or describe things well however, I can tell you this book is very enjoyable. Miss Bacall is very open about her life, family and relationships. There were a few things I thought she was vague about and that is her children's lives but, that could be because she wanted to keep the kids and grand kids private? Anyway, if you enjoy autobiographies about celebrities this is a real treat! Jane
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is very sad indeed how hard she tries to make her story a silver screen movie old style happy ever after. That she married a much older divorced man and had him dying hospice at home leaves her with most of her life fifty years dependent on his fame for hers. She seems to have little joy in her life after hollywood neither with son or grandchildren and it reflects in the writing as such disappointng and uncomfortable to read like a group therapy session
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago