×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Call (Magnificent 12 Series #1)
     

The Call (Magnificent 12 Series #1)

4.3 60
by Michael Grant
 

See All Formats & Editions

Sometimes One Hero Isn’t Enough

Mack MacAvoy suffers from a serious case of mediumness. Medium looks. Medium grades. And with a list of phobias that could make anyone crazy, Mack never would have guessed that he is destined for a more-than-medium life.

And then one day a three-thousand-year-old man named Grimluk appears and delivers some startling

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Call 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 60 reviews.
kim-galleria More than 1 year ago
Mack is a kid who is afraid of everything but mainly about getting beat up by the school bully. He ends up saving the bully who now becomes his bodyguard and it is a good thing because he needs one if he is going to find the other Magnifica and save the world from certain destruction from the Pale Queen. This series is as funny and action packed as Rick Riordan's Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief and as goofy as Jeff Kinney's Diary of a Wimpy Kid. Kids will identify with the characters and will read this book cover to cover in one sitting. Can't wait for the next installment.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've been reading this as a bedtime read-aloud with my son. It's so well written that I have forbade him to read ahead without me! Now we both get excited for bedtime because it means we get to read another two chapters (1 is never enough & it tough even putting it down after two!). :) I especially love the Golem's letters and the author's amusing interjections that keep it from getting too intense or super serious. Definitely recommended!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one of my favorite books on my nook. The way way it is writen, with a balance of action and comedy feels alot like Percy Jackson. I definetly recommend this book to anyone looking for a new series to start.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a great and fun story. I hope you enjoy it as much as myself and my family did.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I think this is going to be an awsome adventure!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
And michael grant did such a good bono can't wait to get the third book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best book i ever read,but sad 2nd book is $9.99, wish it was free
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read sample never thought I would like it but I loved it
Pat Kezele More than 1 year ago
Great book. I recomend it!!! ;)
Psydonymous More than 1 year ago
This is book is a hilarious story written for 10-13 year olds, but would be great for all ages. The plot line is slightly convoluted and hard to follow in the beginning, but it smoothes out over time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ASU ROCKS!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
BECAUSE IT IS DUMB AND IT GOSE IN AND OUT OF THE PAST!AND AT THE START MILD AND END OF THE BOOK SAYING BLAH BLAH BLAH BLAH BLAH BLAH BLAH BLAH BLAH BLAH
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just finished this hilarious book by Michael Grant,and i loved it! There is never apart in this book where you're not either cracking up or on your toes. If you need a but short book to read, The Magnificent Twelve series are the books to read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very fast paced
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It's a good book. When I first heard of this book it was love at first sight.It's a good book for people who love fantasies.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The golem is hilarious!