×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Call of the Trumpet
     

Call of the Trumpet

3.3 18
by Helen A Rosburg
 

See All Formats & Editions


Born to a rich Frenchman and a Bedouin beauty, the lovely Cecile Villier can find no comfort in the immense wealth of Parisian society. Intent on finding a home she can call her own, Cecile returns to her mothers birthplace, the Sahara Desert. There she finds freedom in a new way of life--and the most captivating man shes ever seen.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Call of the Trumpet 3.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 18 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I seriously wish i could give this book negative numbers, it really was that bad. This book had no transition from one scene to another. The author had some good ideas but the characters lacked depth and credibility. This book was just too high drama. For example just to name a few: it had spousal abuse, bigamy, slave trades, rape, naive young women, and backstabbing fathers. There was no real love connection between the characters. Trust me just do yourself a favor and pick another book. This one is a dud.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was an excellent debut novel. Celine is an admirable character, determined to make a success ofher life in Bedouin society. The man of her dreams is known as El Faris, the horseman, and the author demonstrates her incredibly detailed knowledge of horses with many excellent details. El Faris is a real Alpha male; though from England originally, he, like Celine's father, has come to call the desert his home, and has adopted its ways. The clash of cultures is one thing the couple have to work through; the other is their pride, which gets in the way of them admitting they were made for each other. The book will have you on the edge of your seat. I only hope Ms. Rosburg will be able to follow up with a sequel, or even a prequel!
harstan More than 1 year ago
In 1859 with the death of her beloved father in Paris, Cecile Villier decides to leave France to visit the Sahara where she was born two decades ago. Her beloved late father left the desert grieving the death of his Bedouin wife in childbirth. She asks her late dad¿s friend Mr. Blackmoor for help in locating her foster father, Raga eben Haddal.------------------------ Blackmoor sends his son Matthew to meet her, but he learns she has been abducted by a caravan planning to sell her to the Caliph. Matthew rescues Cecilia but introduces himself as El Faris rather than the son of her late father¿s friend. He treats her like the lowest creature on the planet and leaves her at a Bedouin camp to learn the ways of the women of the desert. Although not easy, the courageous Cecilia wins the respect of those at the camp when she risks her life to rescue a child from a wolf. As she and El Faris fall in love, he takes her to meet Haddal, who plans to sell her as a wife to the highest bidding sheik. Matthew proposes, but when she fails to return from a trek into the desert, he assumes she died and marries another. When she finally returns to accept his proposal, she must decide whether she wants to be his second spouse.-------------------------------- CALL OF THE TRUMPET is not the usual historical romance as the Bedouin culture serves as the prime focus of this strong mid nineteenth century tale. Thus a westernized Victorian style relationship between the lead couple even when the male is a sheik does not occur instead the audience lives within the Bedouin camp and learns its ways along side of the heroine. Her struggles to adapt and her courage make for a rich saga as the audience will wonder will she willingly become the second wife, return to France, or be sold to the highest bidder.---------------- Harriet Klausner
Anonymous 11 months ago
I still would read more from them. 275 Nook pages. DW
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Why is this book under the free daily books. I hate thinking i am finding a free book and it turns out to be a sample and NOT FREE?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Glad it was free
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ugh! Seriously!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Gara More than 1 year ago
The book was very well written and enjoyable from start to finish. The end came too quickly. The ideal reader of this book would be historical romance reader. I would read other books by this author but i haven't yet. I don't think this book would be good in book discussions due to some of the graphic nature in the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book. I loved learning about life in the desert. Great love story! It was hard to put down in parts.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just boring. Im gonna delete it later. Not what i expected....
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago