×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Capitol Offense
     

Capitol Offense

4.2 25
by William Bernhardt
 

See All Formats & Editions

Insane with grief, Professor Dennis Thomas blames Detective Christopher Sentz for the death of his wife and wants to kill him. In fact, Thomas shares his revenge plans with Ben Kincaid. Then someone fires seven bullets into the police officer. Against all advice and going on instinct, Kincaid decides to represent the troubled professor, who faces a charge of

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Capitol Offense (Ben Kincaid Series #17) 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 25 reviews.
Ricker More than 1 year ago
I was lucky enough to discover Ben Kincaid and his motley crue of associates when I was fourteen years old and preparing for a Mock Trial Debate (yeah I know...neeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeerd!!!). The idea was for me to get a better idea of what life was like inside and out of the courtroom in an effort to make my performance more believable. Whether that worked or not...well...I'll just say it wasn't Ben Kincaid's fault. But I digress... What I found instead was a fun look at the world of a morally heavy defense attorney, and his kooky cabal of assistants and clients that always managed to keep Ben on his toes. By the end of Primary Justice, I was hooked. And so, it was with warm anticipation that I opened up the mailer that brought Bernhardt's latest, Capitol Offense, last week to me. Capitol Offense returns Ben and company to Tulsa to defend a cop killer. The stakes are high, the content is very timely (especially given the current debate in the House and Senate), and of course, there isn't much around to give Ben hope for a happy ending. Doggedly, he pursues the truth, and eventually finds a lot more than just a grieving husband who was seeking revenge. I won't spoil it for you, but it's a nice left turn that will help keep you guessing to the very end. That's Bernhardt's secret (and all great thriller writer's secrets really). He keeps you glued to the page without having any idea of what (or who) is coming next. If you love books, thrillers, the secret to life and law, or maybe you just have a few hours to kill on a cross country flight...this is the book for you. Oh, and bookmark this author! You'll be coming back to get the other tales of Ben and company in no time at all. Thanks for reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
JoEE More than 1 year ago
In his 17th novel of the Ben Kincaid series, Bill Bernhardt returns Senator Kincaid to his old Tulsa stomping grounds and legal eagle status. A missing wife, found dead; an overwrought husband, accused of murder; an uncaring police officer, murdered; . . . You get the picture. A suspenseful mystery with several twists and a stunner conclusion. Bernhardt delivers again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
GrampaJack More than 1 year ago
The book kept me interested from page 1. I always try to figure out a plot but Mr Bernhardt had me happily baffled. Give me more of the same. Thanks.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
KenCady More than 1 year ago
It's rare when a book offends me as much as this one did. In my opinion, the author showed no respect for his readers. He first wants us to accept that a sitting US Senator, up for election, would take on the criminal defense of an alleged cop killer. Then this same attorney make horrible mistakes in getting ready for trial. He doesn't interview the sympathetic cop, doesn't even notice that the cop has been left off the prosecution's witness list. Then he gets crossed up with his own psychiatric witness because he hadn't prepared satisfactorily. Finally, he misses the connection between the original victim and a doctor at her hospital. In real life, tons of people would have noticed the similarity in names, and surely someone would have mentioned it. But this leads us to the final insult: the author, two-thirds of the way into the book introduces a new plot! Forget everything you have just read! This plot resolves everything, letting the author out of the corners he had built for himself. Shameful, again in my opinion. And then he would have us believe that the attorney would have to go through hoops to get the case resolved. Not likely when this evidence is so overwhelming. The book is called Capitol Offense, and offense is right on.
civelucas More than 1 year ago
With every book in this series the writing gets stronger and stronger. It was the best paced in the series and I really enjoyed each character good and bad. pick up this book by the most underrated author going.
Thespian More than 1 year ago
This is one of William Bernhardt's best books in the Ben Kinkaid series. The author did what I think superior writers do, i.e., he inhabited the mind of the characters and took us with him. There is nothing that compares with a reader's feeling of being an eye witness to what is happening, much like the audience in a theatre looking through the invisible fourth wall. Moreover, there was an absolute minimum of graphic violence, so the reader is never distracted from the real substance of the book. If you want to be completely engaged, read Capital Offense. I couldn't put it down.
M_Hast More than 1 year ago
Ben Kincaid faces his most daunting challenge yet as he takes on a client who can't remember what happened and a D. A. who's always one step ahead. You'll be with him every minute in this page-turner. Be sure to set aside plenty of time, because you won't be able to put it down. Witty, intelligent writing, a carefully crafted story, and characters that are so real you'll think they live next door all combine in a fascinating journey where nothing turns out to be what it seems. And the ending provides the biggest surprise of all. My advice: add it to your shopping cart right now, and don't forget some extra copies for gifts! You won't be disappointed.
HeatherMcC More than 1 year ago
From a terrible accident to a heart pounding court room drama, this book had me turning pages long into the night! Ben definately takes on a challenging client this time, one who's guilt seemed certain. But as the book goes on nothing turns out to be certain, not even justice. Fantastic read! A book that stands apart and sheds light in some very dark corners.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Following his time in DC as a temporary appointed US Senator (see CAPITOL CONSPIRACY) Ben Kincaid has returned home to Tulsa to practice law and consider a run for the permanent seat. Professor Dennis Thomas visits Ben asking the attorney to defend him on a murder rap that has not yet occurred. Dennis hates bureaucrat Police Detective Christopher Sentz who ignored his begging to do a missing person's search for his wife Josylyn. She died after being trapped inside her car for a week following an accident while her vehicle was in a ravine. Dennis visits a hotel where Sentz is conducting a sting operation. Soon afterward someone fires seven shots at Sentz killing the cop. Dennis swears to Ben he never killed the man though his rage put him over the edge. Caught with questions of client privilege, Ben wonders if he was set up. Still even as he has a political campaign to run, Ben decides to defend the still fuming professor who is at the center of a media frenzy in which everyone believes he killed the cop, but debate whether grief or madness is a justification. Private Investigator Loving begins to uncover dark secrets involving their client, his late wife and the murdered detective that makes the defense even more insane. The latest Kincaid thriller will delight long time fans as the hero is back in Oklahoma, but working on a case that his chief of staff tells him to drop as it is political suicide. The story line is fast-paced from the moment Professor Thomas asks Kincaid to defend him from a murder he had not yet committed. Fans will enjoy Ben's latest CAPITOL OFFENSE as he defends a client who confessed his plan before hand and was found at the murder scene with the corpse. William Bernhardt provides a strong fresh entry with a great unexpected climax and coda. Harriet Klausner
Frutcha More than 1 year ago
This is the first book I have read by William Bernhardt. I thoroughly enjoyed his style of writing. I look forward to reading more of his books and also the Ben Kincaid series. The book really held my interest. I hated to put it down. I was very surprised by the ending. Did not see that coming.
Dewhit_David More than 1 year ago
I am a big Ben Kincaid fan. This, the latest addition to the series, is a real thriller, with courtroom scene's that are the rival of anyone writing today. Clearly one of Bernhardt's best efforts, Capitol Offense causes the reader to axiously anticipate the next in the series.