×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Captains Courageous
     

Captains Courageous

4.2 96
by Rudyard Kipling
 

See All Formats & Editions

A pampered millionaire's son tumbles overboard from a luxury liner and falls into good fortune, disguised in the form of a fishing boat. The gruff and hearty crew teach the young man to be worth his salt as they fish the waters off the Grand Banks of Newfoundland. Brimming with adventure and humor, this classic tale of youthful initiation has delighted readers of all

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Captains Courageous 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 96 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a very good book but you need to be able to understand some pretty difficult dialect. I've read a lot of Mark Twain before without trouble but i found this book to be extremely hard to understand during any dialog.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Oh my gosh! i was at the end of my seat when i read this novel! It was so amazing how life at sea can change one man's heart! it is really a super duper story and i recommend it to all you sea lovers out there, it is AWSOME
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Have you ever fallen off a huge ship at night when there’s so much fog you can’t see past you hand? Well the book is about a 15 year old spoiled kid from America that gets 200 dollars a month and lives in a mansion. He fell off the boat because a German dared him to smoke a cigar; he tried and felt sick and went to the side of the where he passed out and fell off the side into the ocean! A few minutes later a fisherman picks him out of the water and puts him in a bed. He wakes up in the morning not knowing where he is, the captain tells him he is on a fishing boat that will be on the sea for about 6 months. He learns to work on the boat and gets paid 10.50$ a month for working his butt off, and his mom and dad think he’s dead somewhere in the middle of the ocean. There are hundreds of fishing boats in this one area fishing when this one guy dies. They take all of his belongings and auction them off. Danny, Harvey’s friend is a boy that has to work to get his money which is very little and loves to fish. He buys his knife and give it to Harvey, but Harvey doesn’t know if he should take it because it belonged to a dead guy. Later they have a funeral and strap an anchor on him and throw him into the ocean. Danny and Harvey were out at sea fishing miles from where they put him into the sea. They catch him on one of the lines. They freak out and throw the knife into the water so he can have it back even though he’s dead. The fishing year is finally over and they all get to go home; but will Harvey ever see his parents again because he doesn’t even know where they are? You should read this book, it was really good and it was easy to read. I would recommend it for someone to read it is 250 pages long and very easy to read. It is also one really interesting book, I enjoyed reading it.
Ausonius More than 1 year ago
Which version of CAPTAINS COURAGEOUS am I reviewing? Not the original 1897 novel by Rudyard Kipling but a 2002 Great Illustrated Classics issue adapted by Malvina Vogel and illustrated by Ken Landgraf. It is called the Library Edition, bare-boned, no notes, chapter summaries, etc. There are as many pages of pen and ink sketches as there are of text. And the Vogel text is perhaps 85 % shorter than Kipling's original. Well-known adapter Vogel aims at readers ten years old and up. *** I, who am 76 years old and blessed with six grandsons and two granddaughters, have little doubt that the Vogel-Landgraf shortened, illustrated edition will be a hit with the youngsters whom it targets. The plot is simple enough: Around 1895 Harvey ("Harve") Cheyne falls off an ocean liner, is rescued by a fishing schooner and spends three months learning to be a cod fisherman. Back in the schooner's home port of Gloucester, Massachusetts, Harve telegraphs his multi-millionaire father in San Diego, is soon reunited with his parents and plans a sea-related future. He has been transformed from a self-centered, pampered mama's boy into a thoughtful, caring young man. *** My review focuses on what there is for adults in the Vogel-Landgraf adaptation. I assume that you already know the original novel. It abounds in symbolism (sea and baptism, a bloody nose and the sacrament of Confirmation, a fishing boat as monastery with abbot (Captain Troop), prior (co-owner Uncle Salters) and eight (temporarily) celibate male monks who welcome novice Harve to their fellowship. Several religions and superstitions appear in the novel. CAPTAINS COURAGEOUS is also a critique of then rapidly rising destructive economic values of America's Gilded Age. All this is layers deeper than the simple tale of a spoiled rich kid growing up quickly through obedience and hard work, especially through male-bonded teamwork. *** Those depths are not there in the Vogel-Landgraf adaptation. Malvina Vogel adds sentences here and there, initially one that makes young Harve Cheyne look more impolite than Kipling did. She eliminates some key scenes. But she also does some things right, from an adult's point of view. Take the three film retellings of CAPTAINS COURAGEOUS. In the first, Manuel the fisherman who pulls Harve out of the Atlantic -- played for an Oscar by Spencer Tracy -- is killed off at sea. In the second Harve has no mother. In the third he has neither mother nor father. Admittedly, Kipling devotes relatively few words to the only two important female characters: Constance Cheyne, Harve's mother, and to the mother of the only other boy on the schooner We're Here. But those women exist and make a difference. To her credit Malvina retains them, and all other characters of the 1897 novel. And illustrator Landgraf sketches both of them, too. *** In the 1870s Kipling's own mother had told Kipling's Headmaster that her son had a soft feminine streak. In CAPTAINS COURAGEOUS, Kipling says that Harve inherited brains from his self-made tycoon father and sensitivity from his mother. At novel's end, previously hysterical Constance wins the hearts of every man on the We're Here and overcomes her Unitarian disdain of Catholics to make a large bequest to Harve's savior Manuel's church on the hill in Gloucester. Kipling hinted at some strengths of character in Mrs Cheyne. And the Vogel-Landgraf team keeps her very much alive, caring and credible. -OOO-
Anonymous 20 days ago
The Great Oreo has returned to you! Do I really have to sign this one? XD
Anonymous 4 months ago
O.O
Anonymous 4 months ago
I'm them and I'm back
Anonymous 5 months ago
Anonymous 7 months ago
She pads in and looks around for someone to talk to
Anonymous 7 months ago
The grey tom padded in he had dark grey spots and red eyes a long three clawed scar rand over his right eye he looked at the clan who had caused him joy pain and energy remembering the attacks he lead against it remembering that this was his first clan and the medicine cat river who he ha fallen in love with only to have her cheer for his death remembering thistlefang who had given him a second chance to join he also remembere blowing that chance over kits and finally he remembered that had to change his name because of this clan he started as Ashpelt but now he was different no longer Ashpelt but now sleekfur he looked around and smiled mewing " home "
Anonymous 7 months ago
Hmm
Anonymous 8 months ago
Is a tiny helpless kit that stumbled into camp. Is cold and hungry and was separated from mother. HELP!
Anonymous 10 months ago
Pads in and sits down
Anonymous 10 months ago
*pads in*
Anonymous 10 months ago
A red cat pads in. "Hello?"
Anonymous 11 months ago
The new cat comes in, showing no fear, but friendliness.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Join today! Based on the best anime tv show! Located at "ciel". -Elizabeth Midford :) P.S. the rules are located at res.1
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Got my noook taken away when I got grounded. I am on my brothers to type this. I will be ungrounded by monday so hopefully I can get it back then. BBS I PROMISE!!!! love you all!! &hearts
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
XD XD XD
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hell..oo any one here?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Oh I am sad to see all that I see. Shouldn't have left so long ago. I miss NOOK so much.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If i can my name will be Wolftail.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My name is firefur and i would be useful as a medicine cat but could i also be a warrior I have bright orange fur and deep blue
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ok not trying to be mean but whoever is posting negative clan messages at Breu's clan plz stop
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
There used to be someone in this clan around december and january and i need to know the people who were here so i can remember him